We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel - Food needs to vary” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Apartamentos Vistamar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Apartamentos Vistamar
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Food needs to vary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

A group of us stayed here for a week in October. The reception staff are probably the most helpful I've ever encountered in Spain and couldn't do enough to assist.

The rooms were fine, kept clean and pretty spacious.

The only fault I had with the hotel was the lack of variety in the evening meal. I think 5 out of 7 nights it was turkey, pork or fish as the main courses. Whilst that's fine, it would have been better to add a bit of variety into the menu as it felt samey every night.

Overall the hotel is clean, tidy and the staff are great. Perfect hotel for families, although it's at the south side of the resort and a fair walk to the centre or marina.

Would happily stay at Vistamar again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    254
    117
    49
    38
See reviews for
216
224
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oban
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent 10 days in October. The studio apartment was more than adequate but was quite dark, and had a less than functional balcony that you could not see over other than into the adjacent apartment. Fully air conditioned which was good. We stayed B & B. Meals are buffet style. The breakfast was good though little variety from day to day. We had 2 evening meals here, and although the food was good, it was a bit uninspiring and I would not like to have stayed there full board. The bar was somewhat dark, drab and unattractive, consequently no-one seemed to go there and it was always pretty empty, except for the 3 nights when they had entertainment, which was not enough, and which started too late. The bar meals were excellent and I thought better value than the buffet dinner. Pool was good though they could have upgraded the sunloungers.
Overall, the stay was fine. The real plus sides were that the hotel was spotlessly clean, romms cleaned daily and towels replaced daily. All the staff were excellent, hard working, polite, friendly and helpful. There was a fully working lift.

Room Tip: Special offers may well be worth snapping up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

we were looking for somewhere to grab a late summer week of sun at a reasonable cost whilst keeping the in laws happy as well who would probably not stay at some of the cheaper options. our room was a one bedroomed with a sea view which was very large in comparison to some hotels i have stayed in. we had a fridge freezer, hob, microwave and flat screen tv whcih showed itv 1,2,3 and 4 if you like to watch tv and cook on holiday which i don't.

the beds were very firm which i like so comfortable and the air con was in working order. everything in the room works on infra red sensors so when you are sleeping and motionless for a period the air con switches off until you move which woke me up a couple of times. all the staff in the hotel were cheery and helpful. the bar area is fine out on the terrace for a drink beofre heading out into town.

there was entertainment friday, saturday and wednesday which i never saw. the hotel and grounds are spotless and the pool was very clean. plenty of loungers but this might be an issure in peak season as the pool area is not the biggest but if you like the beach it is a two minute walk across the road and there is hundreds of loungers there with big matresses on them for 9 euros a day for two with a parasol.

you will have read about the dreaded hill and i agree that yes it is quite a steep hill but only about 250 metres long and my in laws managed it every night with no problems and they are both 60. anyone who is frail though or finds walking difficult this would not be a suitbale walk so get a taxi. also at the bottom of the hill on the left hand side as you tunr the corner you will see the very steep bit at the bottom has special pink bumpy tiles which i can only assume are there to help avoid slipping. i would like to point out that my other half slipped on these and was only lucky i was quick enough to catch her or she would have got a really nasty injury. i also slipped and would advise you walk around these especially if wearing flip flops as they are like walking on ice.

the hotel itself is at the opposite end from the marina and if you are fit and healthy you can walk this in 30 minutes. a taxi is 6-8 euros depending on the time of night but this is the nicest place to eat with lovely restaurants. there are dozens of other good restaurants as well on the promenade and main street and they are all competing with each other for business so you will get a free bottle of wine if you look like you are thinking of trying somewhere else. if you want mental young and lively go to Times Square where you will find teeny boppers and middle aged golfers reliving their youth. not my scene anymore and my partner and i along with her sister lasted about an hour there one night only to promise we would not be returning. we paid just under four hundred for a week self catering and i would happily return to this hotel.

also be prepared to be pestered by the street sellers. at night they can become quite annoying although most will walk away if you givve them a polite no thanks. during the day they are all over the beach which i found very annoying.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view to the rear of the hotel as these rooms also get the sun from about 11am until it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elsamike9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

At the end of March, I needed a cheap single apartment not too far from the Sunset Beach in Benalmadena where I was attending a convention.

The Vistamar offered me the possibility of B&B for 3 nights at a total of about £110, something I found a little hard to believe - but I went for it.

All in all, I wasn't disappointed. The Vistamar apartment I got was spacious, clean and smart with decent studio & kitchen facilities (should I have needed them !). It has to be said that there was little natural light in the room, and certainly nothing that you could call a proper verandah or sea view but then I didn't really need it -- I spent all my time at the convention or outside elsewhere. The advantage of a darker room was, of course, a cooler one. In higher season, that would make it easier to sleep at night.

Breakfast was the typically pan-European conveyor-belt affair, catering for mixed tastes from France, Germany, Poland and so on. That suited me fine - I'm not a strict corn flakes plus sausage & eggs Brit - so I found plenty of fruit, pastries, ham, coffee and juice to keep me going.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the hotel's public areas were clean and well-kept, albeit I didn't use the pool area. If you have accessibility concerns, be aware that the hotel is built on a steep street. Its only a short climb, but quite a taxing one! However, there is an advantage in that the Vistamar is only a stone's throw from a handy local Spanish supermaket.

Would I stay again ? Yes, I think I would.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r00frack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

i recently stayed here with my friend and her son. the apartment was lovely. well equipped. very clean. quiet. pool area was immaculate. pool sizeable. baby pool adjacent. from the point of view of having kids, i would reccomend this hotel as it was easy to keep an eye on children. other complexes were packed and had more than one pool. looked pretty nightmarish to me... location great. lovely restaurants. look for the large park about 20 min walk and close to the seaworld. so many birds, bunnies, chickens roaming about. bike hire in the park. amazing plants and the lake and fantastic play area. only downside was that there was no supervision around the pool but on the whole, it was pretty civil. was not crazy about the fact outsiders were just arriving and taking up sunbeds however, leaving hotel customers without.... i would go back with my partner. i was well impressed. seemed to be a great mix of holidaymakers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have just returned from a 9 night self catering stay at The Vistamar hotel. We found the hotel to be lovely & clean, the staff were very friendly & helpful & spoke v good english. The pool is small but was ideal for our two daughters (aged 4 & 6). The location is good, as it is not right in the centre of Benalmadena so it is quiet, but is in easy walking distance to the beach, bars & shops. The rooms were very nice & had a hairdryer, microwave, air con & tv. We would definately stay at the Vistamar again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, Lancs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a week 4-11 th Aug . Reception staff helpful and friendly (Milton & Tamara) . Had 1 bed apartment which was spotless . Pool area and garden well kept and access not permitted before 10am so nobody reserving beds at the crack of dawn !! Okay there is a hill but it's really not as bad as some make out !! There are nice places to eat nearby recommend La Sirena on the prom and Bar 76 . Buses at bottom of road will get you to the marina no problem (110 or 120 bus) very cheap at €1.40 . Would recommend :-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.4 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
1.0 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Siroco
Best Siroco
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamentos Vistamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos Vistamar

Property: Hotel Apartamentos Vistamar
Address: Camino Gilabert s/n, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamentos Vistamar 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos Vistamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Vistamar Hotel Benalmadena
Vistamar Benalmadena
Hotel Apartamentos Vistamar Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing