We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed by stag/hen parties”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Just returned after a week. Been to the Bali many times over the last 17 years and always enjoyed it and did this time around. However i do feel the hotel is letting itself down by offering an all inclusive option that seems to attract stag/hen parties. This is the 1st time in all those years i've encountered such a problem. As we sat around the pool, we felt we had to move away from a group of lads who swore continuously, only to find ourselves next to a group of girls who let's say certainly weren't ladies. Don't mind anyone enjoying themselves but neither group had any consideration for anyone else. The stag/hen complaint seems to be a common theme on this forum. Please take note Vandha.
This was my only complaint with the hotel. Love the food, the friendly staff and happy with the upkeep of our room every time we visit. I've rated the hotel very good and will return but would rather share the hotel with less rowdy guests.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jdscott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,438 - 1,444 of 3,052 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

having stayed at the bali several times over the years after our recent trip ,28th march 2014,we wont go back .We always go with family and friends age ranging this time from 8 years old to 50,their were 12 of us,as the hotel is now offering all inclusive there are more and more stag and hen partys,not that i have anything against this but it is not for a family holiday ,one of our party had to move rooms due to an all night party next door to them ,we were also awoken several occasions due to partys noise etc we saw guys getting arrested in the hotel unless you want a rowdy stag or hen party then do not go .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Lorraine,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Bali as your holiday accommodation and for sharing your comment on your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel due to the cheerful group of guests we received. We are aware of the fact that they might be louder and so alter peaceful and relaxed atmosphere at the hotel, and rest assured that your comment will be forwarded to management as it is important for us to take care of our guests and make them enjoy their holidays with families.

Once again, thank you for staying at the Hotel Bali and we hope we will be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

stayed at bali late march food cold people having to use microwave to warm food gangs of lads t throwing items in the pool pouring beer over each around pool swearing the staff carried on serving them drinks from 9pm one night you could here them shouting from their balconies god help any one who had a room near to them don't go to this hotel with young familes or if you want a relaxjng holiday gangs of people running riot it will all end in tears

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mondao2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Having read the reviews before going I was a bit concerned - when will I ever learn to not do this, All I can say is go with an open mind. Yes the Bali is not the poshiest hotel, but look at it star rating. It is clean, the staff are very pleasant and helpful. I went with one of the fussiest eaters around and she managed to enjoy her meals - also the staff accomodated us with alternatives if we saw the menu had nothing she could eat (the menus are posted before the end of each evening so available in the morning to view).
The animation staff are brilliant - we were encouraged to join in everything, they weren't pushy if said no.
Didn't see much of the main evening entertainment as my friend and I prefered to go into the other salon favoured by the Spanish - we loved watching their effortless dancing and were encouraged to participate by Isaac. Lorena and the wonderful Eli. Thanks to them we can now do a basic dance without feeling like idiots.
We did watch a couple of shows - the Argentinian show was amazing and the Michael Jackson tribute was made wonderful by the Animantion team ( they didn't need the guest artist). And who will ever forget Isaac's birthday tribute for Viktor - fabulous
I would suggest that they reduce the number of Karoke sessions - it got a bit repetative listening to children attempting to sing, not a good way to end your evening,
The noise was a bit of a pain but there were several hen and stag do's - English speaking!!!

All in all my friend and I had a fabulous holiday at the Bali - and were very sorry to leave

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel-w0rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear travel-w0rn,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Bali and for sharing your comment with TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Bali and that you appreciated our nice staff, good food as well our spacious and clean rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We're not fussy eaters at all but the biggest complaint was that the food was luke warm and so unappetising!! Have stayed at the Med Players Rio Park Hotel in Benidorm before and for a 2 star hotel, could not fault the food at all! Such a shame as I had booked this break as a Birthday treat for my Fiance and left feeling very disappointed! I would go as far as to say that I'm not even sure that the food was served at the legal temperature requirement!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed in this hotel last week. Looked forward to a 5 night break with my wife, which in fact turned into one of the worst holidays we have ever had.
Arrived Monday afternoon, initial impression was that hotel was dated and dull. Reception staff were pleasant and efficient. Given a room on 1st floor, 2122, which we eventually found through a rabbit warren of corridors and stair well that resembled that of a factory or car park.
Room was ok, though decor was 30 years old. Small balcony overlooking pool area with view towards the sea.
Went for dinner 1st night where a buffet style arrangement is in operation. Very busy. Adequate choice of food....kebabs were being cooked as a queue built up. The guy cooking was obviously flustered and doing stuff as quick as he could. My wife waited in queue whilst I got something else.
On returning to our table, she took the chicken off the skewer and cut into it on her plate, only to find it was pink on the inside, nowhere near cooked! This affected her appetite somewhat !!
The other things we were unaware of were that the hotel offers all inclusive packages, and also welcomes large groups of both male and female, mainly British "guests "
That combination described above, resulted in the worst most embarrassing behaviour I have ever seen. Women, not young girls, sitting round the pool topless, allowing themselves to be mauled by drunken young lads, all in view of couples with young children. It made you ashamed to be British ! It's no wonder the Spanish can't be bothered with us when this is what they see.
We endured the worst 4 nights and days we have ever hadon holiday abroad and at night in our room, the noise outside could be described as what I would expect a prison riot to sound like.
In conclusion,I would advise anyone who wants to have a relaxing holiday to avoid this hotel at all costs. If they offered to pay me to go I would decline.
As I said,the hotel is In need of a makeover, the restaurant staff were courteous and efficient, but unfortunately it is the clientele this place attracts which made it a disaster for us. We were only there 5 nights, if it had been more I would have been asking for an early flight home.
Things about tge hotel can be upgraded and changed, unfortunately I don't think they can change the visitors.
Avoid at all costs. If u are a couple, pay the extra and book into the other med playa hotel nearer the beach , the Riviera. Exquisite in comparison.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graegil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

First impression of hotel, looked nice from pictures on Internet
And also good reviews.
First time in the resort of benalmadena, nice resort BUT!!!
the hotel was awful.
Food was horrible n not much of a choice as we payed half/board.
So after first day we ate out every day/night as there is some lovely places to eat with alot nicer food and very cheap/reasonable prices.
ROOMS WAS NICE!
BUT THATS ALL!!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank mhiggins1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Mhiggins 1972,

Thank you for proving us with your opinion on your recent stay at the Hotel Bali. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the hotel as much as you expected, sorry to found that the food was not to your liking. We will forward your comment to the management as we are committed to providing our guests with quality service.

Once again thanks for sharing your comment and we hope to be able to prove you our amendments the next time you choose to stay at the hotel Bali.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,382 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,042 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,911 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.6 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Bali

Address: Avda Telefonica 7, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range: $59 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has rooms, studios, apartments and studio-apartments. The accommodations are all outward-facing with balconies, air conditioning and heating.There are two swimming pools for adults with lawn areas, bar service and large terraces with sun-loungers and sunshades. There is also a lawn area and a playground for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hotel And Studios
Hotel Bali Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Costa Del Sol
MedPlaya Hotel Bali Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing