We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
Nearby Hotels
$108
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Hydros(Benalmadena)
$143
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Fonda(Benalmadena)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$84
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$155
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Playabonita Hotel(Benalmadena)
$118
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Best Triton(Benalmadena)
$133
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
MS Alay Apartments(Benalmadena)
$156
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (3,120)
Filter reviews
3,120 results
Traveler rating
796
1,224
700
241
159
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
796
1,224
700
241
159
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscardiac hillbar staffsunny viewdirty dancinghalf boardentertainment teamcrispy baconplenty of choicestar hotelmed playasea viewbonanza squarespanish pensionersmain barfussy eatergreat holidayself catering
Filter
Updating list...
1,805 - 1,810 of 3,120 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

After staying here September 2011 for my husbands 50th and having a fantastic holiday decided to return April 2012 for my 50th. I am not saying we didn't have a lovely time because we did and I wouldn't hesitate to return. However you get very different guests staying in April compared to our last visit the were dozens of stag do's. I am quite broad minded but didn't think it was appropriate to see naked men romping about on their balconies lol. Especially when this is a family hotel I don't think these parties and families mix very well. One night two or three sets of stags were fighting each other. But on a brighter note the staff were once again fantastic and they remembered us from our last visit. The food is hit and miss nothing to write home about but most of it is edible I only ate the evening meal on two occasions we dined out the majority of the holiday but we had such a bargain we can not complain at all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DianeandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear DianeandRob,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Bali. We are happy to hear you decided to return to our hotel and celebrate your birthday. This hotel is a place to enjoy holidays with family, friends in a friendly, cheerful and relaxed ambience.

Thank you again for your stay and your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel Bali again in the near future.

Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in block C. As a couple we were fortunate to have been upgraded to an apartment room with cooker, fridge,KETTLE!! and settee in living area. Mattress hard but not a problem to us. Although we had booked a "partial sea-view" the aspect from the balcony was open, looking over the pool and a full view of the sea, albeit to one side. The hotel is up a short sharp hill of about 200m in length - but the town is built on a hillside. Easy access to promenade and beach. Food has a Spanish flavour but all good. The sald bar was always fresh. The hotel was certainly under occupied as one would expect in January but the restaurant staff attentive and kept the place clean. The pool bar was not open on the first day - but after a courteous request opened the next. There were shows every night in the spacious bar/lounge. We did not attend - but this was out of choice not because we thought them poor. Two thoughtS (10 Why can't I get British bacon for breakfast in Europe? and (2) other reviews complain about a "dirty" restaurant - yet in this hotel every guest (albeit over 50"s) kept their table and the serving areas clean with the staff clearing dirty pots - perhaps at other times the guests are the problem - not the hotel!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KMICHAEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was my second time to Benalmadena, and I will be returning again! Bali Hotel and Studios was a lot more than what we were expecting with evening entertainment, friendly and welcoming staff, day time activities, and spotless rooms! We had everything we needed to cook our own food and the rooms were large and spacious. We thoroughly enjoyed taking part in the water polo and evening entertainment. We did have one problem with our safe but the staff were more than helpful and arranged an alternative arrangement for our valuables. On our last day we were even allowed to leave our baggage in a secure area as our flight wasn't til the evening and we didn't want late checkout. We didn't go all inclusive but wish we did, we like what was on offer and ended up buying meals there anyway. The views from our balcony were outstanding especially with the sea. The location of this hotel was perfect for us (4 Girls) we liked to visit the local bars which was minutes up the road and we went to the marina a lot which was literally down the steps. The best thing for us was having the beach a minutes walk away! The bus stop is even at the bottom of the hill making it easy to go to other towns and attractions. There's two shops literally opposite the hotel which allowed us to get what we needed and we walked to Mercadona which was about 15 minutes away but got a taxi back for only 5 euros for all 4 of us. The hill didn't cause any problems for us even when it was hotter it took about 30 seconds to get down and up and we were even in heels ourselves. We will defiantly be staying here again and have already reccomended it to our friends and family. We were actually rather upset leaving!

Room Tip: Studio rooms were large and had great views!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALauren16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is three star its basic clean with helpful staff. The pool area is in need of a good scrub. The food is good and always hot. a good selection of cold food and fruit. You do get what you pay for. The night life is ok for the time of year. We found some great entertainment when we went further up towards bonanza square. And there is a lovely park not far from the hotel .Also the Marina is just down hill if you want some where nice to eat.
I would not reccomend the bars on the beach as they are double the price a coffee brandy cost 9 euros there and in Bonaza Square the same coffee brandy can be bought for 4 euros

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cool_Gran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Nothing wrong with hotel for price paid, would certainly recommend it if you like Benalmadena however location wasn't for me. As for cardiac Hill if this causes you a problem then clearly you are too fat and unfit and should do something about it! Worst case scenario there is a pool and a bar in hotel.... Obviously for mature holiday makers then you may want to think twice about this place due to hill.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Speightsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Speightsnz,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Bali as your holiday accommodation and for taking the time to review this place. We are pleased to read your comment and we very much appreciate each comment that makes us realize guest expectations.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews