We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap n cheerful good for Girly weekend just booked again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cheap n cheerful good for Girly weekend just booked again”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Good location for nightlife, rooms absolutely fine, hotel nice and clean.

Friendly staff, pools ok, could do with a bit of a jet wash/spruce up around the pool/garden area

Food -shockingly bad :-0) we lived on toasted sandwiches but that was fine for us.

For the money a good value hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ambyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    1,129
    644
    217
    149
See reviews for
1,115
1,071
71
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel stands at the top of 'cardiac hill' directly from the sea. The hotel itself is a little dated and the decor in the rooms is 'tired' but, our room was quite spacious with a really sunny balcony and wonderful view of the sea. We were in the hotel over Christmas and New Year. The food was really good and nutritous. Plenty of fresh fruit. Typically a buffet, but the hot food was plentiful and really hot. The cold food was supremely fresh and served at a perfect temperature.
It was strange to have to go to an empty table and having to collect our own cutlery,napkins, glasses, wine and water, but once used to the hotels methods everything worked out really well.
Staff were friendly and helpful, spoke many different languages. Overall we had a wonderful experince at the Bali and feel this is really a 3 star hotel trying very hard to earn a 4! One down fall, new years eve we were placed on a table with two perfect strangers - it worked out reasonably well for us as we have a grasp of the Spanish language - but could be quite a problem for some people so we have to knock off points for this!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

This is the type of hotel you get if you want a cheap holiday. The rooms seem to be pot luck, some guests get good rooms some guests get tatty smelly rooms. My room was small, dirty & had not been used in months ( the smell from the toilet could be smelt outside).
The staff were fine, especially the animation staff who were very proactive.
The balconies are pretty much unusable due to the amount of pigeons using them as toilets.
The area is fine as a base but nearly every shop/bar nearby had closed down & you have to go to the lovely marina for a decent meal.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you can get a very cheap deal & don't mind taking a chance on which room you get.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanGatwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen Lancs
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great all inclusive Holiday resort, ideal location and easy to get around , the food was top the kids loved it we all loved it , only downside was sometimes it was hard to get a drink the staff seemed to switch off, and the house wine isnt good but then again if your all inclusive you can buy all the top wines at half price,
the rooms were spot on and the pools and grounds very clean.
First time in Benalmadena, But wont be the last its a grand big resort in easy reach of the rest of the costa even though we wre all inclusive we went out eating and drinking becouse it was so cheap and friendly

Room Tip: bali 2 ,high floors have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LeeDarwenLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our room (3604) was absolutely filthy! Towels were changed once in the whole week, room was cleaned once, there was bird droppings stuck to the balcony floor, the cutlery looked as if it hadn't been washed in about 10 years, kettle had the interior wiring exposed, the safe was broke and staff didn't want to know about this. Hotel is run down and is in serious need of refurbishment!

We will never return to this hotel however would return to benalmadena as the resort can't be faulted.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Zoe H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback on your recent holiday at the hotel Bali. We are sorry to hear that there are some aspects of your holiday which caused you disappointment.
Our staff does the best to provide an efficient service. Please be assured that your comments have been addressed to the management to get their due attention.
We apologize for any inconveniences caused and we hope to have the opportunity to restore your trust in our hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Loved every minute of our stay here - all ages - 80s, 70s, 40s, and teenagers.
Special mention to Marek and Tina - excellent entertainment staff who really made our holiday!! :)
Free wifi in the reception areas.

Room Tip: Cardiac Hill really isn't that bad at all - I mean if my father-in-law in his 80s can do then so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Mooster,

Thank you for providing us with your thoughtful review about your holiday at the Medplaya Hotel Bali. We are happy to hear you enjoyed every moment at the hotel. We very much appreciate all the comments which make us realize and understand customer expectations and keep improving our services and make your holidays enjoyable.

Thank you again for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you again to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards and Happy New Year!

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here 23- 30 dec in room 3308. Nightmare of a time. Room filthy with fridge full of water which had been defrosted and not cleaned . walls were all dirty with scuff marks. We opened the balcony door to find the entire balcony area full of congealed bird droppings!! There were broken bulbs in most fittings . I had to ring down to get someone to clean the room, and then a handy man to repair faults. It was a Sunday when we arrived, and by Wednesday we had not had a cleaner in or a change of towels. I was told at reception that the rooms dont get cleaned untill the Friday! And that they had informed Thomsons. Well It was not passed on to me from them.
So had to stay in a uncleaned room for 5 days! Would never go back there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank valdoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Valdoff,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the hotel Bali. We are sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Regarding the room type you stayed in, the studios and the apartments are not cleaned on a daily basis however the hotel offers the cleaning service on request.
Our staff staff daily strives to offer the best service possible and to meet customer expectations.

Thank you again for your feedback and we wish you a Happy New Year 2013!

Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
603 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Fermin
Hotel San Fermin
#26 of 45 in Benalmadena
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Bali

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Bali
Address: Avda Telefonica 7, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bali is a three-star hotel located on the Costa del Sol, made up of three attached buildings that form a modern and welcoming vacation complex ideal for families and couples of all ages. It is located in Benalmadena-Costa, only 250 meters from the beach and close to the famous Puerto Marina, the Tivoli amusement park and the 'La Paloma' park. All Inclusive The All Inclusive, from Medplaya Hotels offers family fun whilst at the same time making your holiday money go further. The hotel has rooms, studios, apartments and studio-apartments. The accommodations are all outward-facing with balconies, air conditioning and heating.There are two swimming pools for adults with lawn areas, bar service and large terraces with sun-loungers and sunshades. There is also a lawn area and a playground for children. The buffet-style restaurant offers a wide variety of national and international dishes as well as thematic dinners that provide the most outstanding service to the guests. We offer a complete range of board options to suit our customers' tastes and pocket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hotel And Studios
Hotel Bali Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Costa Del Sol
MedPlaya Hotel Bali Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing