We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Bali - very average and basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Northern England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Bali - very average and basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have just got back from a week at the Hotel Bali and unfortunately will not be going back. If you are wanting a cheap holiday with very average food and good views then this is the place for you. Without moaning too much there are a few points I would like to make:
1: On our first evening we had the room next door up arguing, fighting and swearing until 3am and with a 2 year old chhild it was not the best experience. We called reception and to be honest they said they sent up security and the rouble died down while they went back out but only to return to more shouting!! We complained the next day and got moved rooms eventually (after our holiday rep recommened we tried another night in the room!!). The new room was alot better, although still noisy from the side and above but we could live with this compared to the first evening. I suppose the hotel cannot be blamed for rude and inconsiderate people.
2: The staff were very helpful.
3: The pool area needed a good clean and upgrading.
4: The food was very average - very child orientated.
5: Basic small room - although the TV had English channels (bonus!)
6: It is on a steep hill although this posed no problem. There is a road next to the steep road that is not as bad.
7: Lovely views from our room of the sea and sunset/sunrise.
8: Great location for access to the beach and also Marina.

I would recommend this hotel for young families who dont want luxury.

Room Tip: We were told that Bali 3 apartments were the best rooms in size and amentities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Yorkie 284,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on your recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Bali. We appreciate your comment as it helps us to improve our services and understand customer expectations. Hotel Bali is a 3-star hotel which offers value for money accommodation for all ages. The hotel assures friendly and relaxed atmosphere, striving to provide the best service at all times.

Thank you again for your comment and we hope you had a good time in Benalmádena despite some negative aspects of the hotel.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    1,052
    606
    199
    136
See reviews for
1,024
996
65
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We decided to pay another visit to the Bali during October half term. We arrived after 10 pm on Friday 19th October - we knew we would miss dinner service but the staff had kindly provided a cold buffet slection for us. We were quickly checked in by the hotel staff and as we were all inclusive we knew we would be able to get a snack later on if necessary. This time we were in Bali 1 again - facing the Marina on the 6th Floor. We were allocated Room 1608 and the views of the Marina and the Mountains were fabulous. there were 6 of us traveling in the group and we had initially asked for an adjoining room for my teenage sons - however this wasnt possible as the hotel was full - there room was about 5 doors down from us but it wasnt a problem.

When I read reviews of this hotel by other travellers, I find it difficult to believe we are talking about the same hotel. We found the hotel to be very clean, especially in the dining room and public areas. We had no complaints about the room either - that was cleaned every day. As in previous we found the food at the Bali to be excellent - especially for a 3 star hotel. My partner and I travelled to a 4 star hotel in June this year and we found the food at the Bali to be better.

I think some of the people who stay at the Bali go with unrealistic expectations. It is a 3 star hotel - yes some of the decor may be a bit worn and tired but I think that adds to the charm of the place. At the end of the day - this hotel is aimed at families and you cant expect it to be immaculate with loads of kids running around. It has a lived in feel which I think is great.

I found all the staff to be very friendly, polite and helpful. We went out and about quite a lot while we were there and they helped up with details of buses, market days etc.

The entertainment was good - it isnt quite as good as when you go in the summer as it is all done outside wheras October is classed as winter season and entertainment is indoors. There is still a good variety of shows and bingo of course. I would like to also give a special mention to Marek and Tina from the Animacion team who work so hard and keep everyone entertained during the day as well as doing shows on an evening.

Wifi is available in the reception area and also in the bar area near the reception, They also have the internet cafe area where it costs 1 euro for 10 minutes.

I would also highly recommend visitors applying for an Amigo card - we got one last year and we had enough points to pay for a late check out room - we didnt leave the hotel until 7 pm but we could keep the room on until 6 pm.

I would highly recommend the Bali to anyone - it is really good for families and couples alike. I have visited 4 times now and love it more every time I go.

While you are there - i would recommend a visit to the Old Town - buses run regularly from outside the Hotel Triton and it cost us less than 6 euros each way (for 4 of us). very picturesque. Also dont miss a walk round the marina and a trip on the cable car. Try and time it to coincide with the bird of prey show at 1 pm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 6th Floor of Bali 1 - excellent views of Marina and Mountains. Also apply for an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank footiefan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Rooms very small but not in them much anyway hotel was very busy due to school holidays food ok weather not good but cant blame hotel for that overall i would reccomend for families with young children .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gillnpaul_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Gillnpaul 10,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Bali as your accomodation for your holidays in Benalmadena and for reviewing our hotel. We very much value all the comments which help us to improve our services and achieve customer satisfaction. Our staff makes all effort to offer the best services at all times.

Thank you again for your sincere feedback and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel needs a bit of renovation but is very clean we went on a cheap holiday and got a realy nice supprise the whole atmosphere was realy nice. The food was good the entertainment was excellent the beer was good not the watered down stuff you get in some ai places most of the staff where realy nice [ bar staff have to improve a bit ] but i found a tip at the end of the night improved there mood . I have to say thank you to marc and tina they kept my kids entertained and there was plenty to do if you wanted to stay in the hotel all day would go back .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

just back with my husband from hotel bali,where we spent 2 weeks all-inclusive,can't fault anything about the food ,staff, hotel or pool. We had the most enjoyable time,and the marina in benelmedena was stunning, loved it. Went a tour to gibralter and ronda, also boat trip to feugirola. Would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: i e-mailed hotel bali beforehand to ask for a sea view,and that is what we got, lovely view of sea a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel shows its age but some might see that as part of the charm. It certainly didn't stop my wife and me from enjoying our stay. Small room but a decent enough base of operations for the beach and for sightseeing along the Costa del Sol considering that I didn't go there to simply stay in my room watching the TV. No WiFi in the rooms but it is accessible on the ground floor. The bathroom was a nice size with an excellent shower and a bidet for those who like that sort of thing.

Our plan included breakfast every morning which was buffet style with hot options (eggs and different meats) as well as cereals, breads and a large assortment of fresh fruits. The coffee in the cafeteria was not great coming from a machine but it was potable. The bar area was spacious with more than enough seating, good prices for drinks and far better and fresher coffee than available for breakfast.

The hotel staff was excellent. Most spoke good or some English and were patient as I tried my Spanish. They were helpful in every possible way from front desk to bar to housekeeping and were friendly even with difficult people.

Certainly not a luxury hotel but certainly clean, comfortable and affordable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSFinch3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear RSFinch3,

Firstly, thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Bali as your holiday accommodation and for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your sincere feedback and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
Hotel Bali is a 3-star establishment which offers great value for money, friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Our staff puts all our efforts into meeting our clients' expectations as their satisfaction is our main priority.

Thank you again for staying in the hotel Bali and we hope we will be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

upon entering the hotel Bali it appears very nice - man on reception very helpful as flight was late and the resturant was shortly closing so he told us to put our luggage in the baggage store get some food and then check in - food that evening appeared bit rushed but put that down to the fact we were in there late (in at 9 and they closed at 9.30) - checked in went in the room - the smell of stale cigarettes hit us (that was with us for several days) - the room was actually ok with a good view it was just the smell - the air conditioning was really loud and did not work! just glad it was not the height of summer - apart from reception all public areas (including the pool) badly need a makeover - the all inclusive option i feel is bringing some guests into the hotel that are not helping its image - first two nights someone unconcious on the bottom floor, someone else trying to fight someone then preceeded to be sick - note these are not young people, in 50s or 60s!! Can appreciate bar staff were busy but treated all inclusive people like third class citizens and if you were paying treated just the same - late at night people wondering around with cones of crisps, cheap looking ham sandwiches, half pints of baileys, shorts, the most awful lager - this was to take back to their room!! (all inclusive) the local spirits and the lager was bearly drinkable. The food in the resturant is edible but didnt look forward to meal times. especially the deserts which were awful.

Wont be returning..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coves_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Siroco
Best Siroco
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.6 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Benalmadena
Best Benalmadena
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
#25 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Bali

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Bali
Address: Avda Telefonica 7, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bali is a three-star hotel located on the Costa del Sol, made up of three attached buildings that form a modern and welcoming vacation complex ideal for families and couples of all ages. It is located in Benalmadena-Costa, only 250 meters from the beach and close to the famous Puerto Marina, the Tivoli amusement park and the 'La Paloma' park. All Inclusive The All Inclusive, from Medplaya Hotels offers family fun whilst at the same time making your holiday money go further. The hotel has rooms, studios, apartments and studio-apartments. The accommodations are all outward-facing with balconies, air conditioning and heating.There are two swimming pools for adults with lawn areas, bar service and large terraces with sun-loungers and sunshades. There is also a lawn area and a playground for children. The buffet-style restaurant offers a wide variety of national and international dishes as well as thematic dinners that provide the most outstanding service to the guests. We offer a complete range of board options to suit our customers' tastes and pocket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hotel And Studios
Hotel Bali Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Costa Del Sol
MedPlaya Hotel Bali Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing