We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful holiday - wish we were still there” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday - wish we were still there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Me and my partner and 2 sons have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Bali. We stayed there all inlcusive from 17 - 24 June and had a fantastic time. This is the 3rd year we have stayed here - previously we have gone half board but this time opted for all inclusive which we found to be very good value.

We arrived on the Friday at around 8.30 pm and although a lot of people arrived on the same coach we were quickly checked in. We were staying in Bali I this time - these rooms don't have a hair dryer included in them - not sure of the hotel hires them out - I didnt bother asking as it wasnt a problem. Although our room didnt have a view of the pool - we could still see the sea and marina and it was quiet - we didnt hear any noise on a night which was good. The hotel does seem to be a lot busier on a weekend and there were a lot of spanish children there - I think there was some sort of football tournament on - but it wasnt a problem for us. The kids were all enjoying themselves and were very polite and well behaved.

As in previous years, we have found the food choice to be excellent. Some people have criticised the food but you have to bear in mind that you are not ordering a la carte and the hotel is catering for a large amount of people so you can't please everyone. If you are looking for gourmet meals then you need to look at another hotel. The food here is lovely and we didnt have any complaints on that score.

The hotel entertainment team were fab - both my kids loved taking part in the games during the day and we all enjoyed the shows on a night time. All the hotel staff and dining room staff work very hard and long hours but always had a smile on their faces and were very friendly. I would like to give a special mention to Vania and Marta - the entertainment team - they were fab and my two loved them and didnt want to leave.

All in all we had a fabulous holiday and would recommend the Bali to anyone with families. It is not really a couples holiday destintation but it is very family orientated and we would definately go again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footiefan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    1,052
    606
    199
    136
See reviews for
1,024
996
65
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
donegal,
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

After staying in the Hotel half board in 2009 we returned all inclusive from 5-12th June 2011, and were really looking forward to it. Myself, Husband, son 5yrs and daughter 20months. check in was quick, we were in part3 of the Hotel so it was 3 minute walk and one lift from our room to the main hotel when we finally found it. Finding the room when we arrived took us approx 10 min going up lifts and getting out on floors. Level 0 in buliding 3 is level -2 in buliding 1.

The buliding is a little run down since the last time, but the family room we got was massive. we had a bedroom with large dble bed, living room with 2 couchs that converted to dble beds, fridge, cooker, kettle, cups, glasses etc, the fridge was great as my son ordered bottles of water everynight and we had milk for our daugher so this was all stored cool. There was 3 double wardrodes, with plenty hangers.

Good choice of food, fruit, salads and deserts. Even know we were allinclusive we ate out a few afternoons and 1 evening.

Entertainment was good at night, a lot of hard work was out into it. Bar staff were flat out, Most people seemed to be all inclusive while last time i would say it was less than 50% were all inclusive.

My problem.... Last time I would have discribed this hotel as Family and older couples, this time it was like that from Sunday to thrusday and than a couple of stag nights arrived and the place got louder, and a little uneasy. We spent our afternoons at the childrens round pool which my two loved, as it was all kids their own age and it was a nice enclosed area. My husband took a walk to the other children pool on the Thrusday and commented how a gang of guys had just landed and one of the guys was mouthing of and insulted a girl of approx 15.

On the Saturday we heard how guys were jumping into the pool with pints of beer. They all seem to leave the hotel at night after dinner.

I spoke to a number of families who were there for the same week as us and everybody seemed to be uneasy after the groups landed. I know trade is trade, but if stag nights and hen nights are going to stay security is needed that families still feel safe

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank proudparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear proudparents,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Med Playa Hotel Bali in Benalmadena.
We are very sorry to hear that your overall enjoyment of your stay was impacted by the behavior of other guests in the hotel. The Hotel Manager, Sr Jimenez and his staff do their utmost to ensure harmony between different customer groups and to ensure that all our guests behave in such a way as not to cause upset and disruption to others. This can at times be very difficult.
We are doing our utmost to avoid these sort of issues from arising, and for 2012 we have increased the minimum stay on All Inclusive to 5 nights in order to reduce the possibility of impact on other guests from this type of group.
We are very pleased that apart from the problem caused by other guests, you were very happy with other aspects of your holiday, and we sincerely hope that you will consider returning to our hotel, or one of the other 13 Med Playa Hotels in Mainland Spain in the future.

Kind regards
Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations, Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Having just come back from staying for a week at the Bali Hotel, I would say that it definitely offers great value for money.
We booked the hotel and flights separately through travel republic, this is also a thomson hotel, but the price is approximately 50% more to book through them, so I suggest you shop around online before booking.
When we arrived, the check in was very quick and efficient and we were given a useful information sheet about the meal times, and all inclusive snacks etc.
The room - I was initially a bit disappointed with the corridor to our room, the carpet had a big stain on it, and the walls were a lurid shade of orange, but when I thought about it, how much time do you spend in the hotel corridor?! The room itself was a decent size, we had 2 single beds pushed together, a double wardrobe with plenty of hangers (definitely more than most hotels supply) and a single wardrobe with plenty of shelves and the safe. We had a flat screen tv (if I'm honest I never switched it on once, but it looked quite new) a sofa and a desk. The bathroom was a decent size, with a bath with a shower over it and it was all very clean. We had a sea view (quite a lot of rooms seem to face the sea) which was lovely.
The restaurant - the food here was much better than I was expecting.They did some lovely salads and soups, there was always plenty of main courses to choose from, and every night there was lots of different things on the menu, so no danger of getting bored with the food. It was all very tasty and the waiters and waitresses worked very hard to keep the place clean and tidy up plates etc as you went up for each course. The only slight criticism I would make is that there were a group of 11 of us in total, and we were told off by the staff for putting two tables together so we could all sit together (the biggest table sat 8 people). After then, we had to sit on separate tables, but as it worked out, we didn't go for meals at the same time most of the time, so I guess it was okay, but I thought they could have been more accomodating if they wanted to.
The entertainment - was absolutely outstanding at this hotel. The animation team worked tirelessly and put on a great show every night. They have a 2 week programme, so if you are staying for 2 weeks you wouldn't see the same things on week 2, and I was actually disappointed that we were only staying for 1 week and didn't get to see what else they would do! I would say that the shows they put on at 10pm were brilliant and a lot of thought and effort was put into their production. We saw flamenco, grease, west end shows, we will rock you, a parrot show to name but a few.
The drinks - you are given a wrist band for all inclusive. You can get 2 alcoholic drinks at a time, and more if you are getting soft drinks. Again the staff seemed to work all hours of the day with a smile on their face, and were very friendly. As is usual abroad, the measures are very generous so make sure you take some water to bed, or expect to have a sore head in the morning!! All inclusive is served up until 12pm, and there was never a long wait to get served.
The pools - there were 2 big pools, and 2 children's paddling pools. We always managed to get sunloungers, even in the middle of the afternoon which was nice, and the hotel ensured that people didn't put towels on and then disappear all day. They were never too busy, and the main pool had music on in the day which I think is nice.
The resort - we went out and about quite a bit, and went to aqualand (I definitely recommend the mini golf there), a day trip to gibraltar (was a lovely day and we got to see the monkeys, but it took over 3 hours to get there on the coach and make sure you take your passport with you), we went to selwo dolphin marina which was great, and up the cable car. We had a nice surprise at the top of the cable car, as there was a falcon show at 1pm which was really good, and free to watch! We also went to the local park which has a great children's play area, a small lake with lots of ducks and turtles in (take some bread to feed them) and lots of chickens, peacocks, rabbits and a few ostriches.
The beach - the beach is lovely, the sand is sorching hot though, but the sea is quite calm and easy to swim in. The only thing is you are constantly pestered by the lucky lucky men, they even come into the bars and restaurants on the sea front and the owners don't stop them from coming around which I found strange. You can rent two sunloungers and a parasol for about 9 euro's for the day, but we didn't bother.
The hill - yes there is a reasonably steep hill up to the hotel, especially if you come up from the beach promenade, but its not the end of the world, and it certainly didn't put me off staying in this hotel. Lets face it, if you think you're going to go into cardiac arrest after climbing it, then its time you ate less cake and chocolate and starting doing more exercise!! I can see that it might be a problem for people with mobility difficulties, and I pushed my friends 2 year old up in a pushchair one day and was definitely a bit out of puff afterwards.
This hotel definitely exceeded my expectations and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jadetonkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayr
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

asked for room with sea view and high up, got room at the top with great views, room was very spacious in bali 2, and very clean, rooms in bali 1 much smaller, food was very good for a 3 star, all inclusive was very good option, great toasties at bar if you missed breackfast, staff very nice and always helpfull, the hill was not as steep as people say, i have an ankle injury and managed no problem.There was a couple of stag parties when we arrived, but they didnt cause us a problem. plenty of good entertainment outside hotel, would recommend bonanza bar for the tribute acts .

Room Tip: balli 2, 8th floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed here last week for one night and I was glad that it was only one night. The corrider to the room was very rundown and needed new carpet and walls needed painting. The room was very small. Two beds, sofa and wardrobes. You could not move about it the room with two people as it was so small. It was very dated and needed to be revamped. I have to say the room and bathroom was very clean though. The beds were comfortable and the pillows were very hard. We missed breakfast in the morning by 5 mins but the staff would not serve us. The reception staff were very nice and friendly. This hotel is very central to the beach and Bonanza Square. I would not stay at this hotel again unless the rooms were updated.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank donal5132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Nice 3 star hotel with friendly staff. Main courses in restrurant were disappointing but soups salads and deserts were very good. Good pool area with plenty of sun loungers. Good location near marina and beach but a very steep clime back to the hotel, would not suit everyone.

Good reasonably priced food and drinks at Rands and Fagans 75 meters down hill from hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_o_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

our holiday was spoiled by loud drunken teenagers unfortunately, and also the food provided was not the best...... all in all its ok if your on a budget!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Siroco
Best Siroco
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.6 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Benalmadena
Best Benalmadena
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
#25 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Bali

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Bali
Address: Avda Telefonica 7, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bali is a three-star hotel located on the Costa del Sol, made up of three attached buildings that form a modern and welcoming vacation complex ideal for families and couples of all ages. It is located in Benalmadena-Costa, only 250 meters from the beach and close to the famous Puerto Marina, the Tivoli amusement park and the 'La Paloma' park. All Inclusive The All Inclusive, from Medplaya Hotels offers family fun whilst at the same time making your holiday money go further. The hotel has rooms, studios, apartments and studio-apartments. The accommodations are all outward-facing with balconies, air conditioning and heating.There are two swimming pools for adults with lawn areas, bar service and large terraces with sun-loungers and sunshades. There is also a lawn area and a playground for children. The buffet-style restaurant offers a wide variety of national and international dishes as well as thematic dinners that provide the most outstanding service to the guests. We offer a complete range of board options to suit our customers' tastes and pocket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hotel And Studios
Hotel Bali Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Costa Del Sol
MedPlaya Hotel Bali Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing