We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position for marina, but limited all inclusive”
Review of Hotel Palmasol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palmasol
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Attended the Palmasol hotel as part of a Jet 2.com all inclusive package......Must say in comparison to other airlines ive travelled with, Jet 2 outstripped them in comfort in seating and leg room.......
Upon arrival at the hotel we were given a room on the fourth floor which seemed fairly well furnished. However although having a safety deposit box, we found the room could not be locked from the balcony door as there was no lock to it at all.Access could be gained from other balconies despite the height if determined. .It was about 10 pm and on speaking to receptionist, he informed me there wasn't anything he could do and he would put it on the list for maintenance to attend to the next day. I then asked to be moved to another room that could be secured and he informed me there were none available as they were full........,I then asked for a complaint form and he informed me that he had none and i would have to wait till the following day as they had to be printed off the computer...I then queried that he couldn't fix the room door, move us or provide a complaints form... I then returned up the lift to our room.. upon reaching it the phone rang and the receptionist stated he had another room available.......... With this we were able to move and problem was solved.
The hotel is good location for the marina and main areas.....In general it is clean and tidy. It has a large Spanish clientele base as well as other nationalities and yes the sun beds get taken very early........towels are put out as soon as the pool area is cleaned in the morning but there are not enough sunbeds for residents in the hotel...........Re the two bars........ These are next to each other set away from the swimming pool.......One inside for the main hotel and a second that leads from the hotel onto a seated patio area.......This bar was where we found some of the staff to be extremely rude and i feel , they had forgotten they were there to provide a service and did this reluctantly....The main issue was that many drinks from this bar are for people by the pool which is a distance away and thus plastic disposable glasses are used............Very understandable.......However if u wanted to sit on the patio area and request a glass to drink from some staff would serve you and others would be rude refusing to do so ...........When pointed out it wasn't for the pool area and other staff do serve glasse,s the expression on one ladies face said it all as she spoke to other staff in her native language making a scene........and then reluctantly doing so........... Her arguement being there were children around........... How ironic that there were children all over the hotel area where drinks in glasses are served and also that the patio area is not near the pool area............Again the irony is also they have glass ash trays on the outside tables and serve coffee, tea etc in breakable cups .....I feel this particular lady was reluctant to clean glasses or bother collecting them...
Re the all inclusive aspect.............This was from 11 am to 11 pm afterwhich guests have to pay for drinks and all bars were shut by midnight .....We found this very restricting in that we were always missing using the facility if we had gone for a walk for the evening and although plenty of guests around they stopped the AI in my opinion too early and should also have been till midnight..............Most drinks are inclusive and.you can get snacks of burgers, sandwiches, crisps, nuts etc from the patio bar( unless a certain female staff member was working )............The food in the dining room was poor to average and buffet service. WE found ourselves eating out most days and missing meals completely..............You can get bottle of wine with meals if you do dine in there............At the time of our attending a safety deposit box is about 30 euros but you get 10 back on return of the key.............There is not free wi fi in the hotel but you can purchase a voucher which is about 21 euros for 7 days......So in a nutshell would i stay here again........... not really.......would i do all inclusive.. definitely not.............While i have highlighted the negatives i must compliment the two entertainment team members who looked after kiddywinks from different countries........ They did keep them entertained well especially at the tiny tots disco.......... Also the maitre d' in the dining room.... She was lovely and worked hard to keep people happy.........

Room Tip: The upper floors facing pool also give you a view of the sea over the tops of the palm trees...... S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laia G, Online Channel Manager at Hotel Palmasol, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Paul,

We regret that your stay at the Hotel wasn't of your total satisfaction. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, they help us to improve in the future. We would recommend you to contact our Head Receptionist or Director next time in order to solve any problem that you may have during your stay. We hope to take the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,212 of 1,675 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

the hotel rooms we were put in were not clean very dusty ,toilet & bathroom smelt of sewage,we eventualy got moved ,the new rooms smelt clean and were clean the curtains did not cover the windows properly so even at night it was light.no fridge in room so not able to have drink of cold water in room 1 elctric socket in bed room &1electric socket in bathroom .staff looked quite misrable most of the time we were @the hotel for 2 weeks did not notice any gala evenings as advertised ,,entertainment poor ,.crokery in the dining area was dirty. allinclusive drinks untill 11pm you had to sign for every drink even though you had wrist bands on . to rent a towell for pool area cost 3 euros +10 euro deposit .safe 3 euro per day &10 euro dep,wifi 4euros a day . allinclusive should meen allinclusive. i would not recomend this hotel to a family as it would cost a lot more money on top of what you have allready paide.the location of the hotel is good .we had our grandson with us who is 2 the high chairs were not cleaned we had to clean them or ask the staff to clean them. THE LIFTS AT THIS HOTEL A VERY VERY NARROW

Room Tip: ask for room on top floor then you have no chairs or persons making noise above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stevenfmellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laia G, Online Channel Manager at Hotel Palmasol, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Steven,

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns and we regret that your stay at the Hotel wasn't of your total satisfaction. Hotel Palmasol does not have fridge in the rooms but we rent them if you ask it at reception desk. We regret that you didn't know that we do spanish gala evening every Tuesday, mexican day every Thursday and shellfish dinner every Saturday during summer. We will try to advertise it more.

We hope to see you again if you decide to come back to Costa del Sol.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is excellent value for your money. What do these whingers expect, the Ritz? well go and pay the ritz costs then! The staff are lovely, the food is excellent, the only complaint I have is that there is not enough sun umbrellas for the amount of guests. There are only 10 umbrellas to 100 beds and approximately 1000 guests if they had more beds and parasols, there would be no need for the guests to book the beds with their towels on a morning

Stayed: July 2013
6  Thank Honest792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laia G, Online Channel Manager at Hotel Palmasol, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Alice,

We are grateful for your very positive comment about Hotel Palmasol.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just back from an amazing week in Palmasol.

what a great hotel, and the entertainment was great as well.
i'm gonna miss the loveley entertainers Cheima en Lydia, thank you girls!!!!!

nice rooms, great staff.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank scotnisseroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laia G, Online Channel Manager at Hotel Palmasol, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Client,

We really like to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us as you describe and especially for your kind comments of the staff.

See you soon !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Nice hotel spoiled by dirty crockery , cutlery and glassware.
Food was great but you had to clean all utensils before you could eat it.
Beds were abysmal, better off sleeping on the floor if you have back problems.
Stayed for a week at end of June 2013 , bed linen was not changed during stay and cleaning of room left a lot to be desired.
If you want a sun bed go to the beach as all the sad people reserve theirs, with towels ,against hotel so called rules, before 8am.
Don't pack long trousers , you wont need them, as hotel rules for long pants at dinner are not enforced, so sweaty shorts seem to be acceptable at dinner.
Would not return to this hotel again !!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laia G, Online Channel Manager at Hotel Palmasol, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Client,

First of all, we appreciate the time you took to post your comments about your experience at our hotel. We regret that your stay with us has not been fully satisfying in certain respects.

We would recommend you to contact our Head recepcionist or Director next time in order to solve any problem that you may have during your stay.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The day we arrived, we had the Icelandic teenagers (they come here every year) AND the footballers at the same time, but thankfully only for that one day. If it had been any longer I would have demanded a change of hotel.
On arrival, we were given a room overlooking the building site, despite having paid for a pool view, after finally convincing the reception staff that I had paid for a pool view, they did move us. The room was OK, but we were amazed to see only one electrical socket in the entire room, which the TV was plugged into, add to this no fridge, and asthmatic air con, and things were beginning to look less that great at this place.

The food was about average for a 3 star hotel, but, as many previous reviewers have stated, it was always cold, tepid at best, surely the management should have done something about this by now !!!!

As we were half board, drinks were not included, we went into the bar one night, and were horrified at the prices, so never went back.

The hotel seemed quite cheap when I booked it, and I can see why. Also, when you add the cost of wifi at 4euros a day, a safe at 3euros a day, and a fridge if you want to rent one (but god only knows where you will plug it in), you would be better off spending more and getting a better hotel to start with.

When I looked at reviews of this hotel prior to booking, it was mentioned that it was a favourite with the Spanish, I thought that would be a good thing, boy was I wrong!!! On a friday, the place is decended upon by a huge number of Spanish families, the children take over the pool & gardens, and suddenly, the jacuzzi contained approx 15 children, so everyone else could forget it. The parents seemed oblivious to their children running riot, and continued to eat drink & talk very loudly over each other whether by the pool, at breakfast & dinner, or even on their balconies until approx 4am. At dinner, the Spanish would push everyone else out of the way to get to the food first, when nice items like prawns were bought out, we saw them take the entire plateful to their table, so no-one else had any. The inability for them to talk at normal levels kept us awake every fri/sat/sun night, well into the early hours. We did complain to the management, who could not care less, and gave the impression that the Spanish came first.

I would never go back to this hotel again, I would rather pay more & go for fewer days to a better place (anywhere would be better than this).

Whilst there, my wife & I spoke to many couples who were equally as disgruntled as we were, all of whom had complained about the spanish visitors who were spoiling everyone elses holidays, but nothing was done.

The ONLY good thing about this place is the location, everything else was terrible, & I know that not all Spaniards are this bad, but they managed to ruin my holiday for me.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bobbob455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laia G, Online Channel Manager at Hotel Palmasol, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Client,

We regret that your stay wasn't of your total satisfaction. We have guests from many countries and we work hard to achieve the customer satisfaction and your opinions are always useful in helping us to do so.
We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns and we hope to take the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for a week all inclusive in a party of 12, June 2013. Hotel location excellent
just a 5 minute stroll to the Marina, shops, bars etc. Staff all very friendly.Booked a trip via reception to Gibralter, 39 Euros per person, well worth the money, tour guide throughout and plenty of time to roam the streets of Gibralter shopping lunch etc.and an afternoon tour of the rock, monkeys and cave. Bad points of hotel FOOD, yuk! Undercooked/raw meat sloppy veg, dirty glasses and cutlery. Only good meal was breakfast, cereal and yogurt, didnt chance anything cooked! Ate out most of time as struggled to eat a complete meal. Can't live on cake for a week:) The staff in the dining room were all very hard working helpful and friendly.
Had a great meal on the last night in the Steak House facing the hotel, good value and 5* food and service. Rooms were cleanish, had to wipe out the wardrobe before putting my clothes in as it was covered in dust. Sink was blocked first day but reported this and it was fixed by the time we returned to the room later in the day.Bathroom very small I could sit on the toilet and brush my teeth over the washbasin and I am only 5'2 "god help anyone taller you would have to sit sideways!
Pool area was clean if a bit crowded and water wasnt as cold as some which was great.
All in all we enjoyed the resort of Benalmedena, weather was great, I would revisit but would not stay at the Palmasol, only if if was the bargain of a lifetime and room only basis.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PATTY2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laia G, Online Channel Manager at Hotel Palmasol, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear client,

We regret that your stay at our hotel wasnt of your total satisfaction. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, they help us to improve in the future. We hope to take the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.5 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,976 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,307 reviews
0.1 mi away
MS Alay Apartments
MS Alay Apartments
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palmasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palmasol

Address: Avenida Mar 7, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range: $72 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palmasol 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Palmasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Palmasol Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Palmasol Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing