We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing family holiday hotel”
Review of Playabonita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Playabonita Hotel
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed September 10, 2009

we found the playabonita a lovely hotel,very clean and not at all dated as some reviews have stated. the public area were spotless and the rooms cleaned daily to a very high standard.The bedrooms have 2 double beds,a bath and shower,and a balcony overlooking the sea.
the staff were all very pleasant and child friendly, especially the restaurant staff. they definately appreciate a few words of spanish,even if its only 'gracias'! no problem with the all inclusive service,yes you have to sign for each purchase but the waiters have a pen ready and its no trouble.
childrens club looked good-lots of different activities, but as the other children attending were all spanish, my son only attended a few times. the staff can all speak some english but he would have preferred to be able to talk to other children. parrot show and birds of prey show at lunchtime once a week which he enjoyed, and evening mini disco and entertainment was as good as you usually get but shows a bit late for our 5yr old, starting at 10.30.
food-huge choice and no problems with undercooked meat.we had one vegetarian in party and as he doesn't eat fish,there wasn't a huge choice but he managed to find something every day!
courtesy bus still runs a few times a day but local bus goes from directly outside hotel every half hour to fuengirola, torremolinos and benalmadena centre for just over 1 euro. very reliable service.
supermarket and a few bars within 5 mins walking distance but generally a quiet location - suited us fine.
recommend trip to fuengirola zoo-not huge but really well laid out. reception offer discounted tickets.
lots of different nationalities at hotel, no rowdiness at night, lovely family holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliottsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2009

we are just back from hotel playa bonita. couldnt find a single fault with the hotel itself,but we dont drive and the place is miles away from any kind of nitelife.we had to pay 15 euros up and back to benalmadena everyday in a taxi. the pool is seperate from the hotel and is small an gets very busy.this hotel caters for mostly spanish german an french people,we were the only english speaking couple there for the whole week, the restraunt is a bit chaotic at mealtimes and the food is ok if you are spanish or french or german,buut u wont starve.The rooms are very comfy and were cleaned evryday wit fresh towels and sheets, i dont think i will go back but only because of the distance to the nearest town also all of the entertainment is in sspanish so we felt we had no choice but go out in the evenings although the bar in the hotel does stay open till 1am.If its a nice very quiet break your looking for with little to do then go to this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishlady43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

Playabonita is a pretty dated hotel, but you can see the owners did a lot to improve the look of it.
The circulation areas and corridors have been recently refurbished, with a nice result.
The rooms had also been refurbished, but not as thoroughly as the latter. You can see it just by looking to the floor (outdated worn out hexagon tiles). Except for that, no problem.
The best of all in the rooms is the view, directly to the Mediterranian Sea. I didn't try it, but I'm sure if I've had thrown a stone from my room balcony, it would fall right into the sea, with no particular effort. It was one of the most relaxing experiences I've had, falling asleep to the gentle sound of the waves, reaching the shore.
Near the excellent beach, you have an also excellent pool, with water slides, that provide a lot of fun, specially for the younger ones... Plenty of sunbeds, among the palmtrees shadow.
The inner pool isn't so good as the outside one. Definitely, it wasn't made to swim in it. The water had a very high concentration of chloride, that can mess up with your eyes and nose...
The jacuzzi, with warm water, both inside and outside, is a must try. Excellent.
All the staff is very polite and helpful, specially the ones of the animation department, that maintained their incredible good mood at midnight, despite having been since 10 AM making sand castles with the little ones.
Now for the downside: the food. You would expect much more from a four star hotel. The variety and quality of the meals was far from the standards of an hotel with this category. I thought it was just my problem, but I heard frequent complaints from others guests. In certain periods, you have queues for everything, specially for the live cooking.
If you're a food lover, or if you are a little fussy about hotel meals, perhaps you should consider other alternatives.
If not, Playabonita is a great hotel, with an outstanding quiet location, close to the sea, and just a few quilometres from Fuengirola, Mijas, Torremolinos, and even Malaga. Having that food problem solved, it would be a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EgrojSneif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Just returned from 5 days at this hotel. We were there in November and a few changes since then.... no longer have courtesy bus to benalmadena and torremolinos; need to pay deposit for beach towels. main issue though, we reckoned the food was not as good as last time- quality poorer and also they seemed to stop cooking on grill very early each night.
Good things about this hotel is you can get the train to it and the hotel is good for chill out time.
Plus point was the weather was fab and hotel not too busy. We did a bit of walking and also got the cablecar in benalmadena- definately worth the money.
Would we go back?....probably not again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

I also cannot understand all the negative comments about this hotel. I thought the hotel had excellent standards. All the rooms faced the sea and were cleaned daily. In fact everything was cleaned daily and I was very impressed to see the morning routine of cleaning the pool area, hosing down the promenade, cleaning the playground, wiping the sand of the stairs by the beach, etc. The attention to detail was exceptional and the pride the workers had in their work was impressive. We travelled with 2 young children and we were made very welcome, the hotel even went to the trouble of providing food for us on the first night even though we did not arrive until 10.30pm. The room was comfortable with 2 double beds, air-conditioning a very modern bathroom and it also had a fridge and everything looked new. I found the food quality to be reasonably good and we never went hungry. The show cooking area was good and the chefs were working hard in the evenings cooking fresh meat and fresh fish at the same time as cooking pancakes. The hotel location suited us (we hired a car to get around), we wanted a relaxing experience, by the beach in a quiet location. I thought all the staff were helpful and attentive. I find it laughable that people are complaining about only having one English TV channel on the TV and the hotel was full of Spanish. Now correct me if i'm wrong but you don't go on holiday to watch TV and from my experience if the Spanish eat in a certain restaurant it is because it is good, surely the same must go for hotels?

We look forward to return in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tigger12Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

I booked this hotel at the last minute for a 5 night stay in October.
Not having arranged a transfer from Malaga airport, it was necessary to make my own way to the hotel, which proved surprisingly easy (and cheap) by taking the Fuengirola train from the airport, getting off at Torremuelle, and strolling down the hill for a few minutes before reaching the hotel.
The hotel had my arrival and departure dates wrong, but no matter, it was quickly sorted out and I found myself in a beautiful
bedroom overlooking the sea. The room had two enormous beds (I was travelling alone), bath, shower, silent air conditioning, fridge and a free safe, and I was extremely comfortable there throughout my stay.
Now for the bad news: the food! I was on half board, having declined the all-inclusive option, which turned out to be a good move. Buffet-style meals are no problem normally, but in this case the quality of the food was pretty low. This was particularly true in the case of the show cooking, the meats being invariably cooked to death, probably in an attempt to disguise their poor quality in the first place! Salad lovers were quite well catered for, but those of us who enjoy meat and potatoes were struggling with limited choice and inferior quality. Soups were usually dreadful and desserts were unappealing, although the latter were rescued to some extent by the provision of freshly-made crepes every evening.
Drinks were reasonably-priced by European standards, with a small beer coming in at 2.25 euros. Naturally, it's Eurofizz, but you can't have everything!
So I can only agree with other reviewers who have described the food as not being of 4-star standard. Neither in my view were the leisure facilities: the outdoor pool area would soon be oversubscribed in high season, and the indoor pool was neither large enough nor deep enough to swim in. There was no multi-sports court, no tennis, and the table-tennis table was a sad sight, located in a ridiculous place.
There was evening entertainment, but this did not start until 10.15pm, which is a bit late even by Spanish standards, so there was little to do in the evening.
The area surrounding the hotel is unattractive, with the busy coast road running past the hotel (fortunately, all rooms face the sea), and the nearby beaches were small, uninviting and in need of a good clean-up. Indeed, Benalmadena in general was a disappointment, with the splendid exception of the very smart marina area. This, incidentally, is a good two miles from the hotel---don't believe any claims that the hotel is conveniently-situated: it isn't!
Overall, not too bad, but I have stayed in other 4 star hotels that were far superior to this, and in areas that are far nicer.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paullally1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

We stayed at Playa Bonita hotel 27/09 to 04/10/08 3 adults late thirties and early forties........fab time had by all....food great huge choice.....hotel layout great...rooms everything you could need.....AI with premium brand drinks.........i dont understand all the complaints can people not just chill you are on holidays relax and except not everything is perfect .....by the way the quickest check out in the world .....would go there again and again and again

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank androsgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,894 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,988 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
THB Torrequebrada Hotel
THB Torrequebrada Hotel
#16 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,274 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
2.5 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playabonita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playabonita Hotel

Address: Crta. N-340 Km. 217 - Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29639, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#14 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: $60 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playabonita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playabonita Hotel enjoys a beachfront location, next to the pedestrianised seafront and 600 metres from Benalmadena train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Playabonita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playabonita Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Hotel Playabonita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing