We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Playabonita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Playabonita Hotel
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just come back on Sunday with my husband I didn't really what to expect after reading reviews, well I must say that I was very pleased on arrival staff very helpfull and efficient when checking in.We were on the 11 th floor what an amazing view of the sea and the beach you could just sit there forever watching the people fish, I really cannot understand why people say that the food was awfull as it wasn't there is lots to choose from for breakfast we even had champagne just get the chef to cook you a nice fresh omelette the choice was endless also the evening meals were excellent mulitifull of choices and plenty for everybody just go to the griddle and get your steak cooked to your liking ,staff in the restraunt were so busy making sure that all the guests were catered for.Our room was spotlessly clean and the rooms were cleaned everyday .We also hired a car to go to Nerja for the day which the receptionist ordered that for us ,while you are there you must take a trip to Gibraltar what an amazing place just like England in the sun but very cheap.The Hotel may be a bit out of the way but you can just jump on the bus outside the Hotel to take you into the town where there are plenty of shops the prom is a lovely walk plenty of cafe bars and the beach is also lovely.Go and see the Marina where there are lots of boats and if you want to you can go on a boat trip to see the dolphins. All in all a great holiday and will return .

Room Tip: The 11th floor is the best we stayed in room 1102
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay again at our hotel, thanks to their own opinions as our staff try to strive daily and your comments are the best reward. Hope to see you soon again in our hotel!

Yours sincerely,

Abel Garcia
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    468
    249
    69
    60
See reviews for
725
230
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ESSEX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

After reading lots of different reviews for this hotel I thought I would take a chance and I am so glad I did, arrived last Sunday for a four day break, the hotel has a lovely reception with lots of places to sit and relax and all overlooking the sea. Our room was clean and had a lovely big bathroom. The rooms all face out onto the sea. The hotel beach was kept very clean and always saw someone picking up rubbish, also around the pool area. The food is what you expect for a large hotel catering for a lot of people, there was lots of choice, hot and cold, the staff were very efficient and work very hard. There is a bus outside the door which takes you into the main town and the Marina, they are very frequent and cheap. We had a lovely holiday here and would most differently go back,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAZZOEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

Hope to see you soon again in our hotel!

Yours sincerely
Abel Garcia
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Went to this hotel, on the 2nd of October, with my husband and two sons, aged 4 and 1. On arrival, there was only one member of staff, on reception ,so check in was a bit slow. we were given a room on the 11th floor,but we had to ask a German couple directions as there is no information as to the layout of the rooms,also the lifts are a joke, 2 adults, 2 kids and a buggy and that's the lot! ( there's a sign in the lift saying max 6 persons, well i would like to see them fit in x x ).there is also no porter to help with the luggage. Once in the room,i became freaked out,about the balcony doors,turn the handle down to lock, turn it up to open....... child's play(i am an over protective mother ). Well that's my winge over. The room was very spacious and exceptionally clean.Food and drink on the all inc great. Staff very polite and great with kids (Gabrielle).Pool and beach area very clean.Location, quiet but for 1.55 euros you can get to where you want to go. Overall, would we stay here again yes, but you need to cater more for the British (currently German and Russian) and get more leaflets on what to do ,out and about.

Room Tip: top floor is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Abel Garcia
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Only good point about this hotel is how close it is to the beach right on it.
I booked this hotel for our 18th wedding anniversary after seeing and reading reviews on tripadvisor i thought can not be that bad.
We got to the hotel on friday afternoon and at first we thought ok not to bad.
Room was ok nice view over looking the beach and great view of the coast.
The staff work very hard and also smiled or spoke when they were around.that is it for the good points it goes down hill after that.the food ican dont begin to say how bad this was only to say we eat out 5 nights out of 7 and belive me when i say i am not a fessy eater would i go back never in a millon years

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alunrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for your comment. Unfortunately there is no one hundred percent satisfied stayed at our hotel, of course we will take note of the points indicates for improvements. Hopefully us a second chance.

Yours sincerely,

Abel Garcia
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Drumquin, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We are a couple 49/54, we like a hotel that is 4*, with good pool area and fairly central. We stayed at Playabonitahotelcostadelsol for week at start october2013, it is defiantly not what I would call 4*, maybe 3*. It really really need updating, the views are stunning, but pool area very poor. Staff are friendly and polite, we had to taxi or use bus to get to any kind of life. Even the beach at hotel, you had to pay 9€ for use of sun bed. Too far from anywhere, if you like an isolated area where your happy to stay in hotel, it's fine but if not, I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all.

Room Tip: Views are excellent from all rooms, but need redecorating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fanchea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guests,
I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Abel Garcia
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just got back from this hotel. Beautiful hotel right on the beach with private area. The facilities in the hotel are excellent Gym, Indoor pool, Jacuzzi, crazy golf, childrens play area, pool and snooker table, table tennis, and internet facilities. The restaurant food was good and had a ggod choice but you have to remember you are abroad so the selection is not going to be all English. The hotel is immaculate. There was a early evening disco for kids then adult entertainment from 10.15pm. The hotel is a fair way from Benalmadena but theres a bus stop outside and taxi's are always outside which cost between 8-10 euros into the marina. I had a lovely break and can only speak as I found.

Room Tip: All rooms have seaviews just ask to be on floor 8 or above to avoid noise from bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words, customers like you make we try to improve day by day. Will convey to all the hotel staff commentary. Hope to see you again with us.

Yours sincerely

Abel Garcia
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent two weeks at the Playabonita and we had a lovely time. We went there with our two girls, aged 6 and 7. The food is very good if you're willing to accept that it is a Spanish hotel, therefore sea food and paella is often on the menu, but it's gorgeous. Fresh crepes at meal times, meat cooked to your liking by the chefs. My husband had steak three times and said it was fabulous. During the peak of the season the restaurant can get really busy but we found the staff really friendly, they loved it when we attempted to speak Spanish.

The downside is that, as English guests, we often felt that we weren't catered for. The entertainment on a night time was geared towards Spanish guests and the kids' club was full of Spanish and Russian kids therefore our two didn't bother with it. Having said that, they loved the pool which was large enough for them to have fun in but small enough for us to always know where they were.

Believe me when I say, not having to get up at stupid o'clock in the morning to put towels out was a huge bonus. The pool area is a bit of a walk from the hotel but it's locked until 10am in the morning so, as long as you get there for then, you'll get a decent sunbed.

Overall, we enjoyed it. We wouldn't go back but we like to try different places.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walshy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest,

We always like to receive rave reviews from our customers, but even more we are pleased that our customers appreciate the effort and try to make improvements year after year. Our sincere thanks and hope to surprise you next year also.

Yours sincerely,

Abel Garcia
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
2.6 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playabonita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playabonita Hotel

Property: Playabonita Hotel
Address: Crta. N-340 Km. 217 - Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29639, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#13 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Playabonita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playabonita Hotel enjoys a beachfront location, next to the pedestrianised seafront and 600 metres from Benalmadena train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Playabonita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playabonita Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Hotel Playabonita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing