We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smashing hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Playabonita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playabonita Hotel
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
lancashire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Smashing hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

just arrived back from this hotel.And it was fabbbbbulas,great food,clean rooms spotlessly clean hotel beach great loads of sunbeds.only got one negative.and that the price of the beds on the beach.4.50 euros a day,if your there a week its mounts up.but overall we would defo go back,there`s a bus stop outside the hotel will take you all over for 1,55.ha when it arrived on time..love th avaiy of love birds in the doorway.the hotel sits on a hill, and theres only a bar and a shop down the hill.its a bit out of the way,but if you don't like hustle and bustle playabonita is great the train station is about 200 mtrs away ,this will take you to terromolinos,malaga.ect.so easy,better organised than our trains,RUSSIANS.yes there are some,and there were lots of scotch,irish aswell.Oh loads of storage in the rooms.bit dated but very clean.any question,feel free o message me...thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ganders101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate the confidence placed in our hotel and the time dedicated to write your comments. We will continue working on the same line to the satisfaction of our guests. Thank you and happy to see you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Abel Garcia
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    466
    249
    69
    60
See reviews for
724
228
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have just come back from a lovel stay at his hotel.we have been to benalmadena many times and have always stayedd quite central.the playabonita is a little way about about 1 hour walk,but with bus stop outside and for 3 euros for two of you, save your legs.this is by far one of the most picturesque little cove that this hotel sits in.the hotel staff are so friendly,absolutely spotlessly clean and the food was wonderful.we were very pleased that although allinclusive lots of branded spirits were included.
If you visit here be sure to get on a bus to Mijas it is a beautiful village with horse and carriages and lots of quality leather goods.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad to have passed such a pleasant stay with us and that they liked the hotel. Our staff will be delighted to read your positive comments.

Yours sincerely

Abel Garcia
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Totally agree with Zoe B. and Julie T. Hotel located on the beach which was lovley but everything else was poor, food over cooked or raw and the same every day, staff rude and unhelpful and as for our supreme room , no coat hangers, no drink making facility and our room was on the first floor so our view was of "The bar roof." They cater mainley for spanish so it was hard work for someone who doesnt read or speak spanish. This is not a 4 star hotel and we shall not be going back.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guest

Thanks for your comment. Unfortunately there is no one hundred percent satisfied stayed at our hotel, of course we will take note of the points indicates for improvements. Hopefully us a second chance.

Yours sincerely

Abel Garcia
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have never written a review before but feel that for other travellers that are considering staying at this this hotel need to hear our experience.

Male 63 & Female 51. 14 Nights, 29th August to 12th September 2013.

Day 1. Arrived at the hotel and after stepping off the shuttle bus thought... mmm.. o.k. all the reviews I had read were wrong - outside needs a little lick of paint but looked fine. At reception our check in experience was good - they had acknowledged the fact that we requested a high floor.

Day 2. Rang reception to say that there was no information booklet in our room (normal for any 4* hotel) - they said they didn't provide any but my husband asked what time were the buses, meal times, checking out times etc. They were very forthcoming with the information - they also said that you get a discount on the beach sunbeds (instead of 4.50 euro's it's 3.00 per bed per day). We went on the sunbeds the next day and paid the lady who collected the money - she said we had to pay 4.50 euro each as we didn't have a ticket - "ticket we said" - yes, you get them from reception.... then the fun began - cutting a long story short, the receptionist told us that we shouldn't argue and it was our mistake we must have misheard her about needing a ticket for the discount. When we then asked if we needed to get them on a daily basis - she literally threw several tickets across the reception and they flew everywhere. After no sleep for the last 2 nights, I had to hold my husband back at this point. THEY DO NOT MENTION ABOUT THE DISCOUNT SO YOU MUST ASK. I told everyone that I could. People who had stayed their before didn't know.

We've had no sleep for 14 nights. We were on the 11th floor (top floor) but directly below on the ground floor was the entertainment - if you can call it that (everything in Spanish). Someone please tell me why they have a quiz night that's all in Spanish ??? How can any English / Russian / Norwegian or any nationality join in.

When the music stopped (midnight), the all inclusive crowd drank downstairs till 2:30am (ish) and we could hear their every word - the kids were screaming and lager louts shouting. They then decided to wake everyone up by letting their kids play / run up and down the corridors whilst chatting to others. No consideration at all.

They say in the brochures about a kids club. They don't cater for the Brits at all. They have a dedicated Russian kids' club and a Spanish one - nothing for any other nationalities.

Pool - well... I love to swim every morning before I go to work - no such luck. Not only did the pool not open till 10am, the Russians and Spanish were queuing from 9:30am to get a sunbed. We saw Russians wait till people went to the bar then swapped their beds coz the others were better.

At breakfast, if the Russians wanted to sit in the seat you were sitting, they would move your orange juice / coffee and put it on another table whilst you were getting your breakfast. How rude??

If you are intending to stay there, please remember that the walls are paper thin. We had a young couple one side that were bonking for England and the other side were 2 old Russians that were deaf as doorposts so the tv was on 10 decibels louder that it should have been and were on their balcony moving the furniture about till 3am in the morning - great joy. We slept probably 3 hours a night and are so glad to be home. I went to sleep with my ipod in my ears and my hubby used my swimming ear plugs. Other Brits we met took sleeping tablets.

The only positive side is it is very clean, you can't wish for a better sea view. Be careful not to get stung in the sea.

A must is the old town - Pueblo, 8 euros in a taxi - I've never seen so many bars and restaurants within such a beautiful setting - white washed streets with flowers almost on every balcony - fabulous.

Just down the hill next to the little supermarket is a great bar - Juan Palomo (the Happy Pig as the locals call it). Margarita, Amy and Bussey made our holiday they go out of their way to accommodate you.

Not quite sure where the hotel gets the 4 stars from. There were people walking around the hotel just in their bikini's or swimming trunks. That's fine for the pool bar but shouldn't occur in any hotel - in my opinion.

Day 14: We wanted to know what time to be at the bus stop for our pick up. The Jet 2 Rep didn't know and said reception would... reception didn't know either so they had to email Jet 2 for a pick up time - good service - I think not... Hardly any Brits in the hotel and the ones we spoke too had had a crap time also.

In my opinion, have the entertainment till 11am and make people come inside to carry on drinking. I'm sure this will fall on deaf ears as the Spanish like to party till all hours and after all it is their country.

Suggestion to the hotel: Make the solarium and indoor pool for Adults only... that's where you should be able to relax not listen to kids jumping into the pool screaming whilst trying to chill.

The brochure said - perfect for a relaxing holiday - WRONG !! Definitely wouldn't go back there.

Room Tip: Can't comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

You requested the reception off because he was not applied at the time, give you the ticket and you paid for 3 euros of renting hammocks, by the external service hotel.
The animation is done on the first floor (the room on the 11th floor, very quiet) in the area of the beach club, until 00:00 pm, taking various actions Magician, Flamenco, Show Reptiles (in different languages including the English) , Soloist (sings in several languages) and games by the animation team, which are presented in German, English and Spanish (Raquel cheerleader is bilingual in English and Italian)
The AI is deactivated at 01:00 to September 08 and from eta date ends at 00:00 , so it is impossible that at 02:30 there was anyone in the area and in summer at 02:00 is closed and access to the beach from the bars close 09/08/13 at 01:00.
Of course, you consider the British children's entertainment, in fact as I mentioned above we have a cheerleader bilingual in Spanish. And all activities are explained in at least 3 languages.
The outdoor pool hours are 10:00 to 20:00, and remains closed to prevent deck reservation.
As stated in the mail, the receipt sent an email to jet to find the departure time, and I give.
Regarding the use of bikini, if it is true that women tend to go with your bikini and a sarong or long camisoles with impeccable decorum.
We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Abel Garcia
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back in UK from a 4 day break here, very surprised to see the negative comments made earlier, me and partner found this hotel to be great value for money, lovely location with a few small friendly local bars and tavernas, there was also a bus stop and taxi rank right outside the hotel 8-10 euro to centre or 1.55 euro on bus. We spent most of our days on the fabulous beach which cleaned and turned over every morning. The hotel itself was dated but spotlessly clean rooms cleaned every day. The views from room were fab, staff were helpful enough and pleasant, would definatley choose this hotel again if visiting benalmedna.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guest,

It is our pleasure to receive your comments, surely words like yours help us to continue working hard so that our guests' experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We hope to see you again in our hotel or any other of our chain. Yours sincerely.

Best regards

Abel Garcia
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Just cum bck frm here would never go bck to that place again loads ov bad things about this place the entertainment was all Spanish an same every nite same music over again ! food was bad all meat was raw eggs was not cooked ! the staff was so rude if I was stood there in a que waitin to be seen they would just speak to the next Spanish person behind me which I found very rude ! we went all inclusive got there fri midnight an was told t be out ov room by 12 midday the following fri tried to get a room for the day but said was fully bookt which was hard as I have 2 kids 1 which is disabled an has to hav medication 4 times a day which needs to be kept in the fridge but that didn't matter to them so had to put it in cups with ice in it ! got a meal ticket for dinner with 1 drink each but charged me for the drinks so had t complain about it ! cos we didn't leave till 7 that nite had to pay for drinks all that day which is not cheep for a family ov 5 ! The pool was two small for the amount ov people there ! other than that the hotel was nice an clean lovely view frm rooms an nice beech ! but defo would not recommend for any English family to go here with young kids ! we only met 1 English family here in the whole week couldn't wait to get home worst holiday I hav ever had !!!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Abel Garcia
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Mamede de Infesta, Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Playabonita is a excellent hotel in front of the beach and for so ideal for families.

The hotel has two beach zones and to get there you just has to go out the hotel and cross a small street.
The hotel is clean and the rooms very nice with a terrace over looking the sea.

If you travel with kids and want to go mostly to the beach and to the swimming pool I suggest an 'all inclusive' package.

The hotel is quite isolated from Benalmadeña but there is a very good bus service to Benalmadina (also to Fuengirola once the hotel is between these two locations) and taxis with a reasonable price (€10 a trip Hotel/Benalmadina & the same for come back to the hotel)

The food in, generally, very good, there are excellent selections for both breakfast and dinner. Always fish and meat grilled by cookers.T

Overall I'm really satisfied with this hotel and I would recommend it to anyone going with kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joaquim Manuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guest

We appreciate the confidence placed in our hotel and the time dedicated to write your comments. We will continue working on the same line to the satisfaction of our guests. Thank you and happy to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards

Abel Garcia
Gerene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
2.6 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playabonita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playabonita Hotel

Property: Playabonita Hotel
Address: Crta. N-340 Km. 217 - Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29639, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#13 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Playabonita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playabonita Hotel enjoys a beachfront location, next to the pedestrianised seafront and 600 metres from Benalmadena train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Playabonita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playabonita Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Hotel Playabonita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing