We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short break”
Review of Playabonita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playabonita Hotel
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just arrived back in UK from a 4 day break here, very surprised to see the negative comments made earlier, me and partner found this hotel to be great value for money, lovely location with a few small friendly local bars and tavernas, there was also a bus stop and taxi rank right outside the hotel 8-10 euro to centre or 1.55 euro on bus. We spent most of our days on the fabulous beach which cleaned and turned over every morning. The hotel itself was dated but spotlessly clean rooms cleaned every day. The views from room were fab, staff were helpful enough and pleasant, would definatley choose this hotel again if visiting benalmedna.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andreetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear guest,

It is our pleasure to receive your comments, surely words like yours help us to continue working hard so that our guests' experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We hope to see you again in our hotel or any other of our chain. Yours sincerely.

Best regards

Abel Garcia
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,264)
There are newer reviews for Playabonita Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just cum bck frm here would never go bck to that place again loads ov bad things about this place the entertainment was all Spanish an same every nite same music over again ! food was bad all meat was raw eggs was not cooked ! the staff was so rude if I was stood there in a que waitin to be seen they would just speak to the next Spanish person behind me which I found very rude ! we went all inclusive got there fri midnight an was told t be out ov room by 12 midday the following fri tried to get a room for the day but said was fully bookt which was hard as I have 2 kids 1 which is disabled an has to hav medication 4 times a day which needs to be kept in the fridge but that didn't matter to them so had to put it in cups with ice in it ! got a meal ticket for dinner with 1 drink each but charged me for the drinks so had t complain about it ! cos we didn't leave till 7 that nite had to pay for drinks all that day which is not cheep for a family ov 5 ! The pool was two small for the amount ov people there ! other than that the hotel was nice an clean lovely view frm rooms an nice beech ! but defo would not recommend for any English family to go here with young kids ! we only met 1 English family here in the whole week couldn't wait to get home worst holiday I hav ever had !!!!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Abel Garcia
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Playabonita is a excellent hotel in front of the beach and for so ideal for families.

The hotel has two beach zones and to get there you just has to go out the hotel and cross a small street.
The hotel is clean and the rooms very nice with a terrace over looking the sea.

If you travel with kids and want to go mostly to the beach and to the swimming pool I suggest an 'all inclusive' package.

The hotel is quite isolated from Benalmadeña but there is a very good bus service to Benalmadina (also to Fuengirola once the hotel is between these two locations) and taxis with a reasonable price (€10 a trip Hotel/Benalmadina & the same for come back to the hotel)

The food in, generally, very good, there are excellent selections for both breakfast and dinner. Always fish and meat grilled by cookers.T

Overall I'm really satisfied with this hotel and I would recommend it to anyone going with kids.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joaquim Manuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear guest

We appreciate the confidence placed in our hotel and the time dedicated to write your comments. We will continue working on the same line to the satisfaction of our guests. Thank you and happy to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards

Abel Garcia
Gerene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is on the outskirts of Benalmadena in a too quiet location!, It is on the beach and our room had a great view.

The hotel itself is looking a bit tired and dated, very small elevators, dirty and hot!

Also we had a standard rooms, which had 2 (135 cm large) beds, which doesn’t leave any room to move around! We took the one week internet card for 20 euro, which worked very well (only one hour daily is included per room and only in the reception aera).

We were happy to have only booked the room with breakfast, because the food was very poor quality and really tasteless, ham was white, often we came across dishes and glasses that were dirty.

The worse was the gym, no window, no air-conditioned, a lot of empty bottles were lying around and the machines were at least 30 year old! You need a special key to go there, which mean no one use it!

There were some animation in the evening but the place looks so rundown, (old plastic tables and chairs) that it is not inviting at all.

At the reception there was a desk for a “concierge” but we never saw anybody there, so no information for day trip available.

Too bad we had booked 6 nights; I would never go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocelyne38428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all thank you have taken a few minutes to make his criticism. We would have loved to have communicated their problems with reception room so have tried to remedy the problem. Anyway very willingly and take note of his words to try to improve the things that were not a hundred percent satisfied. We'd love to give us a chance again.

Best regards,

Abel Garcia
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

On arriving with other families there was only one receptionist on the desk so it took quite a while to get checked in, with lots of people trying to push in but I'm glad to say the receptionist wasn't having any of that! When we got down to our room it was very small for 4 people and very basic, I tried to upgrade but unfortunately the hotel was full. The food was AMAZING although the waiting staff always looked stressed and didn't always understand what we were asking for. (not sure how many English stay here)
The location is very quiet and out of the way, to get to the main resort you need to get a taxi or a bus, it is too far for a walk out after dinner:(
Although the animation team seemed to work very hard everything that they did was never translated into English, so we only went down to the beach bar once. The kids club was very busy with Spanish teens and the hotel also had a Russian kids club (no English club).
I was very upset the night before we came home, we were down at the pool bar and it was getting ready to close, a little boy was standing in line and lots of people were pushing past him so I went to help him, to have the waiter behind the bar say "finish, closed" I told him about everyone pushing in past the little boy but he just said "I don't understand English!!" Then a Spanish lady came up and he served her!! I asked him again to serve the little boy - he only wanted some crisps!!! The pool security man came up towards the bar and I asked him if he saw/heard all that? to which he nodded.
We work hard all year to save for our holiday and I feel disappointed and unwelcomed.

Room Tip: Try and upgrade or get a higher floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perky505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for your comment. Unfortunately there is no one hundred percent satisfied stayed at our hotel, of course we will take note of the points indicates for improvements. Hopefully us a second chance.

Yours sincerely

Abel Garcia
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Playabonita is a nice hotel situated within meters of the beach and so ideal for families. The beach is divided in to 2 small coves and therefore safe, however, it is advisable to wear shoes as in some areas there are sharp rocks and sea anemones. The beaches are sandy and even at the height of the season not too busy, however, there is very little shade. The Spanish come to the beach equipped with tents and parasols.
The pool area has more shade as there are palm trees and sun bed with umbrellas, but to get a place you need to be there before 10.00. However, it is less busy from around 14.00 onwards.
The hotel is clean and the rooms a reasonable size and all have a terrace over looking the sea, however, the air conditioning doesn't work very well, instead there is a ceiling fan that is reasonably effective as long as the door to the terrace is open, which is fine during the day, but from early evening until midnight the entertainment is so loud that it is impossible to even attempt sleep unless all the windows and doors are closed.
Other useful information includes the following:
Unless you have an 'all inclusive' package you have to pay for all drinks, including water, at dinner.
The hour free wifi in the reception area doesn't work well. Wifi is available in rooms at a cost of €6 for 24hrs or €30 per week.
Trips can be organised from the hotel reception, surrounding cities, Gibraltar and Tangiers, and are reasonably priced, but must be paid in cash and there is no ATM in the hotel.
There are very few shops within walking distance of the hotel, however, there is a very good bus service to both Fuengirola and Benalmadina, and taxis are also a reasonable price. €10 from Benalmadina back to the hotel

The overall standard of food in the hotel is very good, there are excellent selections for both breakfast and dinner and you would have to be incredibly fussy not to find anything that you liked. The service in the dinning area is also very good, a little tip though; if you are going for a late breakfast or dinner it will be very busy as the Spanish tend to eat very late for both meals.

Overall we all really enjoyed our holiday at this hotel and I would recommend it to anyone going with a family or older couples, it is not for the 18-30 revellers, which I am more than happy with.

Room Tip: If you want to travel about there are two bus stops outside the hotel, go out of the main entrance a...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hoff1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear guest,

It is our pleasure to receive your comments, surely words like yours help us to continue working hard so that our guests' experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We hope to see you again in our hotel or any other of our chain. Yours sincerely.

Yours sincerely

Abel Garcia
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We are coming from Belgium and this for de second time this year - once in juin and now in august 2013 because we find this a fantastic hotel. There was no problem with the air conditioning. We had a little dog with us and we asked to clean the room at about 10 o'clock and every day it was cleaned up as proposed. The staff as well at the reception, the cleaning staff, entertainment staff, restaurant were very helpfull en gentell. We shorely come back in the next years.

Room Tip: we stayed at the 9e floor - it was very quiet no problem for sleeping - every room has seasight
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions,

Yours sincerely

Abel Garcia
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,814 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#19 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,545 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#14 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,921 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
2.5 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playabonita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playabonita Hotel

Address: Crta. N-340 Km. 217 - Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29639, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#14 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: $78 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playabonita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playabonita Hotel enjoys a beachfront location, next to the pedestrianised seafront and 600 metres from Benalmadena train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Playabonita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playabonita Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Hotel Playabonita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing