We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Smiling, attentive employees are hard to find...What a shame! The potential is there!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playabonita Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Playabonita Hotel
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Benalmadena
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Smiling, attentive employees are hard to find...What a shame! The potential is there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is my first review on tripadvisor.com ever and I would be more than happy to give the Playabonita Hotel five points in all categories. But I could´t. I have been to many resorts in Spain and Canaries in my childhood and despite the fact I kept in mind the treatment received as real guest, not as a "child guest". Staff, no matter in which department, was always smiling, welcoming with willingness to help you. Since then the Spanish people set the high hospitality standard for me, having something that cannot be taugh, what has to be a part of your personality, of your behavior... It looks like the times have changed there dramatically. I know - Spain has been hit hard by financial crisis, many people had lost their jobs and still must pay their bills. But that happened to many countries in Europe! This is just another excuse for me. Why they cannot serve the people with smile on the face? Effortlessly! If I am not mistaken, the guest brings you money all the time, regardless the hotel star rating and age. You NEED to serve them best as you can, to come to your hotel again and again. If there will be no guest...

I give you an example: I went to Puerto Deportivo de Benalmádena one day and coincidentally entered one of the *** aparthotels on my way. The lady at the reception there gave me sooo many attention and information, city maps of Málaga, coloured(!) map of Benalmádena, brochures etc. which I had never received during my stay at Playabonita hotel even when I asked. And I was not a guest there!!!

Nevertheless I have to add that not all of staff were having lack of customer orientation. Front desk manager and especially Virginia, long haired blond receptionist was very professional, ready to help you with a good local knowledge and command of foreign languages. And never seems to be bothered by you approaching the reception desk. So was her namesake.

The Food & Beverage department was quite a different story - the most friendly, attentive staff of this hotel. Starting from the F&B Manager, ending at the cook. Someone may find the food choice limited as I did, howewer the food was absoulutely delicious. Exactly what can you expect from seaside holiday destination. Not only tuna, salmon but also other seafood delicacies - don´t remember the names now :). And what a excellent service! Only one small issue: once they cleared dishes from the table with full beer glass by mistake, and was replaced promptly by a new one with sincere apology. Kudos for all of them!

Since I know the complaint is a second chance to improve services at any company, I would be glad to come to Playabonita Hotel next time to receive a warm, sincere service from all of the staff to create a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms close to the lifts - missing thresholds are causing a terrible noise in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank fe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.


Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    403
    231
    65
    54
See reviews for
656
192
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Felt I should stand up for the playa bonita hotel here, given some of the reviews. It is a nice hotel, right on it's own private beach with a nice poolby the sea front. It may well be a little dated in the style of the rooms but it is typical of a Spanish seaside hotel and it is clean and comfortable. The staff are lovely and I have always found them to be helpful and polite. The food is good and varied and I can't believe even the fussiest of eaters could go hungry here. It is not in the centre of town but buses are frequent and taxis cheap. If a beach holiday is what you are after, go for it because that is exactly what they are set up for. My only advice to the hotel...yes, in this day and age you should be investing in proper, free wifi for your customers.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgbairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions,

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lido de Jesolo italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just had a very nice week staying in this four star hotel. Great place to chill out. Ten minute bus ride to centre. Hotel has all amenities- paper, night entertainment, kids club, HAPPY HOUR- the best- 2 for one! Gorgeous location- we ate lunch in a taverna down the road- Juan Paloma- lovely little place run by two sisters- made us feel so at home- their chicken skewers with tomatoes washed down with local wine made for a great lunch- all for half nothing. Hotel has full buffet facilities which we tried but didn't really suit us- bit of a cavalry charge. Our room was on 6th floor and we had a great view plus we were not too far from reception area..
Also near taverna is a good fish restaurant for night time eating- bit slow-but who was rushing.Little local shop stayed open all day and was reasonably priced- rooms in hotel all have a fridge- we took room only and it was a good decision.

Room Tip: go for 6th floor up- dont go too far away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishgirlaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

On arrival at reception the staff were so busy chatting amongst themselves that you were left waiting, and the same occurred every time we visited reception. We paid extra for a sea view & superior room to find all the rooms were sea view ! and, would hate to see what the standard room was like. The rooms and decor was very dated, and very basic, and smelt old and musty. To be fair, the room and bathroom were clean, and the cleaning staff were very very polite. The restaurant was like a cattle market, and the staff very very unhelpful and frankly obnoxious. The poolside cafe staff were very varied, and virtually insisted you addressed them in Spanish. We had emailed the hotel for a special request, which was acknowledged, but never acted upon which was very disappointing. There is very little in walking distance around the vicinity of the hotel, and you are reliant upon taxi / buses to visit anywhere of any worth. This was a once off visit, and I certainly would bother returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelmpsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We thank you for your comments to which we will bear your impressions in mind, we will work in improving the marked points in order that in a next visit your perception of the products received is totally satisfactory.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Cumbria
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

No comfortable outdoor seating. Pool bar was like a park cafe. Poor value for all inclusive. No snacks after 7pm and only tapas available. Food in dining room very limited. 10 euro deposit for each pool towel and then an extra charge for fresh towels.. Entertainment low buget.. WIFI only free for 1 hour and not available in many areas.Hotel has nice surroundings and my daughter enjoyed the pool itself. The hotel is remote but on a good bus route. Could be a good place to stay if the all inclusive was improved to match other 4 star hotels. As the poolside bar is away from hotel it needs alot of improving.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.


Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A huge hotel full of your groups. Felt like I was on a cattle car. Antiquated internet service....... one hour free every day in lobby. Otherwise for a fee in your room. Understaffed at front desk, but will have to say they kept their composure under pressure from many customer requests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveWDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel is between Benalmadena and Fengurolia in Torremeulle. Its too far to walk anywhere but the bus stop is outside hotel and taxi rank also, having said that, the buses are not always on time and sometimes just don't turn up and taxis are not always at the rank.
The rooms are ok and the beds are a good size but only 2 news channels for English.
The hotel itself is looking a bit tired and dated and the bar seldom has any customers, maybe because there is no large screen TV or decent entertainment.
WIFI is available in rooms at a cost of 6 euros for 24hrs or you can choose 7 days for 20 euro or you can get 1hr free WIFI in reception area.
The 4 lifts worked on our stay but could do with more for the amount of rooms.
The shop shuts at 1330 for the day so you have to get your papers early.
The food is very poor and possibly this was the most disappointing part of our 'Half Board' stay.
You wont get both sausages and baked beans on the same day, food was cold from the buffet and meat not cooked through so ask for well done if using the show cooking area.
Drinks and food from the bar and vending machine are very expensive so find a decent supermarket on your travels into town.
Most of the staff were helpful but you will find it hard to be polite when they are not.
If you are English, find a hotel closer to the Marina because you will not like it here.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea so can get bit cool once the sun passes over
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookiecruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

Concerning your comments about the variety of food, we would like to inform you, that our menus have a 10-days cycle, in which the salads and fittings could be repeated but not the main plates. Also we include the “Show-Cooking”, where you can find different kind of fish, meat, vegetables, Crêpes, pasta, and the typicalSpanish“paella”.

While the hotel is not in the center of Benalmadena, which for many of our guests is an advantage for the tranquility that implies, have a great accessibility and transportation facilities, and we are a few meters from a stop bus, and just 600 meters from the local train station Torremuelle, where train can move both towards Malaga and towards Fuengirola.

We thank you for your comments to which we will bear your impressions in mind, we will work in improving the marked points in order that in a next visit your perception of the products received is totally satisfactory.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
1.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#4 of 46 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,333 reviews
2.0 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 46 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Benalmadena
Best Benalmadena
#16 of 46 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 stars 924 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#18 of 46 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 stars 2,061 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#8 of 46 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playabonita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playabonita Hotel

Property: Playabonita Hotel
Address: Crta. N-340 Km. 217 - Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29639, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#15 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Playabonita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playabonita Hotel enjoys a beachfront location, next to the pedestrianised seafront and 600 metres from Benalmadena train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Playabonita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playabonita Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Hotel Playabonita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing