We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Playabonita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playabonita Hotel
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Lido de Jesolo italy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just had a very nice week staying in this four star hotel. Great place to chill out. Ten minute bus ride to centre. Hotel has all amenities- paper, night entertainment, kids club, HAPPY HOUR- the best- 2 for one! Gorgeous location- we ate lunch in a taverna down the road- Juan Paloma- lovely little place run by two sisters- made us feel so at home- their chicken skewers with tomatoes washed down with local wine made for a great lunch- all for half nothing. Hotel has full buffet facilities which we tried but didn't really suit us- bit of a cavalry charge. Our room was on 6th floor and we had a great view plus we were not too far from reception area..
Also near taverna is a good fish restaurant for night time eating- bit slow-but who was rushing.Little local shop stayed open all day and was reasonably priced- rooms in hotel all have a fridge- we took room only and it was a good decision.

Room Tip: go for 6th floor up- dont go too far away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishgirlaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    466
    249
    69
    60
See reviews for
724
228
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

On arrival at reception the staff were so busy chatting amongst themselves that you were left waiting, and the same occurred every time we visited reception. We paid extra for a sea view & superior room to find all the rooms were sea view ! and, would hate to see what the standard room was like. The rooms and decor was very dated, and very basic, and smelt old and musty. To be fair, the room and bathroom were clean, and the cleaning staff were very very polite. The restaurant was like a cattle market, and the staff very very unhelpful and frankly obnoxious. The poolside cafe staff were very varied, and virtually insisted you addressed them in Spanish. We had emailed the hotel for a special request, which was acknowledged, but never acted upon which was very disappointing. There is very little in walking distance around the vicinity of the hotel, and you are reliant upon taxi / buses to visit anywhere of any worth. This was a once off visit, and I certainly would bother returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelmpsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We thank you for your comments to which we will bear your impressions in mind, we will work in improving the marked points in order that in a next visit your perception of the products received is totally satisfactory.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

No comfortable outdoor seating. Pool bar was like a park cafe. Poor value for all inclusive. No snacks after 7pm and only tapas available. Food in dining room very limited. 10 euro deposit for each pool towel and then an extra charge for fresh towels.. Entertainment low buget.. WIFI only free for 1 hour and not available in many areas.Hotel has nice surroundings and my daughter enjoyed the pool itself. The hotel is remote but on a good bus route. Could be a good place to stay if the all inclusive was improved to match other 4 star hotels. As the poolside bar is away from hotel it needs alot of improving.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.


Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A huge hotel full of your groups. Felt like I was on a cattle car. Antiquated internet service....... one hour free every day in lobby. Otherwise for a fee in your room. Understaffed at front desk, but will have to say they kept their composure under pressure from many customer requests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveWDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel is between Benalmadena and Fengurolia in Torremeulle. Its too far to walk anywhere but the bus stop is outside hotel and taxi rank also, having said that, the buses are not always on time and sometimes just don't turn up and taxis are not always at the rank.
The rooms are ok and the beds are a good size but only 2 news channels for English.
The hotel itself is looking a bit tired and dated and the bar seldom has any customers, maybe because there is no large screen TV or decent entertainment.
WIFI is available in rooms at a cost of 6 euros for 24hrs or you can choose 7 days for 20 euro or you can get 1hr free WIFI in reception area.
The 4 lifts worked on our stay but could do with more for the amount of rooms.
The shop shuts at 1330 for the day so you have to get your papers early.
The food is very poor and possibly this was the most disappointing part of our 'Half Board' stay.
You wont get both sausages and baked beans on the same day, food was cold from the buffet and meat not cooked through so ask for well done if using the show cooking area.
Drinks and food from the bar and vending machine are very expensive so find a decent supermarket on your travels into town.
Most of the staff were helpful but you will find it hard to be polite when they are not.
If you are English, find a hotel closer to the Marina because you will not like it here.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea so can get bit cool once the sun passes over
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookiecruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

Concerning your comments about the variety of food, we would like to inform you, that our menus have a 10-days cycle, in which the salads and fittings could be repeated but not the main plates. Also we include the “Show-Cooking”, where you can find different kind of fish, meat, vegetables, Crêpes, pasta, and the typicalSpanish“paella”.

While the hotel is not in the center of Benalmadena, which for many of our guests is an advantage for the tranquility that implies, have a great accessibility and transportation facilities, and we are a few meters from a stop bus, and just 600 meters from the local train station Torremuelle, where train can move both towards Malaga and towards Fuengirola.

We thank you for your comments to which we will bear your impressions in mind, we will work in improving the marked points in order that in a next visit your perception of the products received is totally satisfactory.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Nice hotel second time here for us, The food is very good lot's of choice you will not be disappointed. The lady that cooks the omelets, bacon and other thing is the morning and evening is very friendly and always smiling nothing is to much for her. thought she was worth a mention. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and all overlook the sea. Highly recommended 5 star.
The bus stop for everywhere is just outside the hotel, And a short walk up the hill 5 mins is the railway station to Malaga and Fuengirola. Good street market in Fuengirola on Tuesday and Benalmadena on wednesday. Some great bargains.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steadvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments given towards our establishment, and our staff, I will take this comment to them personally, because is in our interest, that all of our guests leave the hotel with a wonderful memory of their vacation.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecht, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had two communicating rooms for us and our 3 children. The sofa bed was of reasonable quality. At booking time, we asked for quiet rooms on a high floor. We got a high floor, but the rooms were not that quiet because in the evening, people were talking outside on the terrace of the bar. The rooms were clean at first sight, but we had one pillow with a dirty smell and the curtains were not clean. When we reported any complaints, there was dealt with soon. Once in the afternoon, we ordered at the bar some food to take to the beach. We had to wait a long time to get our order, but together with our order we also received some portions of french fries for free (probably a rest from lunch but kind though). Food and drinks were OK, including wine. Most staff was friendly. When we had to pay for our rooms on arrival, they charged us by accident twice the room price (because we had corresponding rooms). Luckily we noticed. We had to hand over our passports for checking in and I think we had to get them back after an hour or so but we forgot and so did the hotel staff, also when leaving after seven days, so we ended up in the airport without passports, but luckily they were satisfied with our driving licence. The hotel sent our passports to Belgium immediately. In the eastern holidays, there was enough free parking outside the hotel. We hired a car for the whole week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We thank you for your comments to which we will bear your impressions in mind, we will work in improving the marked points in order that in a next visit your perception of the products received is totally satisfactory.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
2.6 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playabonita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playabonita Hotel

Property: Playabonita Hotel
Address: Crta. N-340 Km. 217 - Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29639, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#13 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Playabonita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playabonita Hotel enjoys a beachfront location, next to the pedestrianised seafront and 600 metres from Benalmadena train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Playabonita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playabonita Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Hotel Playabonita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing