We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant as ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playabonita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Playabonita Hotel
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Linlithgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This has been our 10th visit and our best yet. We love the quiet location and can get the bus right outside if we want to visit the harbour or shops. Fab new addition is the games room for kids which has replaced the usually unused hairdresser. Nice. to see the crazy golf being upgraded and the change of pool opening times works well. Fantasic team in the Royal Bar. The staff as always are attentive in the restaurant. Food much improved this year from previously. May not be everybodys taste but we love the challenge of Spanish and european cuisine. Fresh salads, fish and fruit in abundance. Good to see the Manager there with his heads of dept, Laura, Castillo etc together at lunchtime clearly demonstrating that if the food is good enough for his guests it is good enough for them. The Manager Diego is making many improvements to this hotel and he is visible and approachable. See you all again next year.

Room Tip: Families with young children would be better on floors 1 to 3 bearing in mind reception is on floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank madrid11Linlithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guests,

It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay in our hotel as pleasant as you indicate. Your comment makes us feel proud of the work done on a daily basis, with the only aim of satisfying the needs of our guests.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions,

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    456
    244
    69
    60
See reviews for
715
218
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

great, super, mega holiday, nice hotel and rooms. Beautiful view from rooms :) we stay at hotel in july 2012, located outside the centre of Benalmadena, but bus stop was near to the hotel. The food is great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Playabonita in July 2012. The hotel is located outside the center of Benalmadena but just next to the hotel there is a bus stop and buses go every 30 minutes to the center of the town (1.40 euro per person). If you want to go to Malaga a small train station is within walkable distance.
The hotel is located just next to the small but very nice beach. The beach is a mixture of sand and pebbles but you don't need to have shoes to go into water. We had a room on 11th floor and we have a fantastic view from it. The room was small but enough for 2 people. The bathroom was very clean and modern. In the room we had also a small fridge so we could put our own drinks in it. The all inclusive was on a good level, especially drinks served in the hotel bar on the 8th floor. The bar and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpfull and we usually had no problem with communication in English. Meals were too spanish for us (a lot of sea food every day) but we usually find something to eat.
Benalmadena itself is a nice place, if you like sightseeing you should visit marina and travel by Teleferico to nearby mountain.
To sum up we recomend this hotel to other travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have a superb view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank madziarPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stay at the Playa Bonita every year.

We love the position of the hotel, with fabulous views of the sea.

The beach and pool are great for the children.

English guests are in the minority in the hotel, but the staff are some of the best we have ever experienced.

The food is 'ok' - very typical buffet offering that you get in most family hotels of this grade.

The only downside to the location is that there is no where you can walk to easily (shops / bars etc). You need to use a car / taxi / bus etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidCrossley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guests,

It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay in our hotel as pleasant as you indicate. Your comment makes us feel proud of the work done on a daily basis, with the only aim of satisfying the needs of our guests.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed in the hotel and immediately noticed that we were the only UK residents but I found that their family values could teach us a few things. The children were well behaved and it made the holiday enjoyable. We will look forward to coming here again when we can. Thank you to all the staff who remained courteous and professional.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thunderrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guests,

It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay in our hotel as pleasant as you indicate. Your comment makes us feel proud of the work done on a daily basis, with the only aim of satisfying the needs of our guests.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at 'The Playabonita' hotel. We travelled as a group of nine, consisting of 7 adults and 2 children, to celebrate my 50th birthday.
On booking this hotel we were a bit apprehensive due to the amount of negative reviews, however on arrival these concerns were soon forgotten.
It was just a 20-30 minute transfer from the airport and as we walked into reception it was clean and airey, and the sea views from the reception area were amazing.
Were had five rooms all allocated close together on the ninth floor. The rooms were clean and the views from the balcony were to die for.
The staff in both the restaurant and bars were very polite and efficent, and after getting to know us were great fun, especially Leo.
The hotel is situated a little bit out of Benalmadena, on the road to Fuengirola, but this isn't a problem as outside the hotel there is a bus stop with buses running every 20 minutes. There is also a taxi rank.
The hotel caters for a mixture of nationalities, british,german,spanish,french and russian.
The entertainment was a bit hit and miss, however as i went here to spend quality time with my family it didn't really matter. Although my 2 year old grandaughter really enjoyed the mini disco!
The food in the restaurant was varied and there was always lots of choice and was to a good standard.
A few minute walk along the promenade was the pool. The pool was clean, with two slides, great for kids. The pool itself is fenced and gated, so you need your room card to get in. And this a great idea as the pool doesn't open until 10am so there is no reserving of sunbeds. And there is always a lifeguard on duty.
The hotel has also got a beach which is always kept clean and at weekends you get alot of spanish families which is really nice.
We have been to costa del sol many times and love it. Spain is a great place for a family vacation and we will go back as soon as we can and stay at the playabonita.

Room Tip: high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank badtorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

did 10 nights all inclusive at start of June 12, with wife and kids aged 6 & 8. only 20 mins transfer from airport but not in flight paths so no nuisance noise, and hotel is wonderfully situated equidistant between fuengirola & benalmadena, so you are away from the gritty hustle & bustle of a city. more importantly, the hotel is on the beach and every room a sea view, we were on 11th (top floor) so view was breathtaking. hotel was spectacularly clean, and the waiters couldn't do more for you, and were extremely cheerful throughout our stay. the beaches were great, with clear sea, and the pool was brilliant. more than enough sunbeds so you wouldn't have to fret about getting one. also had an almost-deserted indoor pool, jacuzzi, and gym so it felt like it was exclusive to us! likewise the dining room always had more than enough tables to choose from. he food was really good and there was always something nice for all of us to choose. yes brits are probably the lesser nationality, the majority were spanish and then german, but that suits us down to the ground as the more brits there are, the worse your hol seems to be (coincidence?). entertainment was so-so but i got the feeling that was because the hotel was not yet at full capacity, but they still made an effort. brilliant bus and train links right next to the hotel should you wish to venture out, and an english-owned kwiksave round the corner for your home comforts! benalmadena has a gorgeous marina, and we got a boat from there across to fuengirola (1 hour, 28 euro for all 4) and then bus back to right outside the hotel. We've had a few family hols now, and this is the first hotel we said we would not hesitate to come back to - and that was by the 2nd night! as well as us adults loving it, the main thing was that the kids had a ball, so that made it complete for us. we also made good friends with others there, with like-minded families. couldn't find anything bad to say about the hotel or resort. the only negative thing was having to return home!

Room Tip: the higher floor the better, just for the great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ste1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#4 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Benalmadena
Best Benalmadena
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
2.6 mi away
Best Siroco
Best Siroco
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playabonita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playabonita Hotel

Property: Playabonita Hotel
Address: Crta. N-340 Km. 217 - Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29639, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#12 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Playabonita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playabonita Hotel enjoys a beachfront location, next to the pedestrianised seafront and 600 metres from Benalmadena train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Playabonita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playabonita Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Hotel Playabonita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing