We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“keep away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
co durham
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“keep away”
Reviewed October 12, 2008

please please keep away from this hotel filthy dogs and cats are allowed it stinks its not fit for humans to stay in you have been warned

  • Liked — none
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheesecake68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    16
    10
    14
See reviews for
13
21
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LIVERPOOL UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Where do i start
well we arrived at approx 11pm kitchen was very very small would not like to cook in it,when we tried to make a cup of tea
guess what no kettle and guess what there where no cups
So next morning i went down to reception and asked for 2 cups kettle and a toaster i was told i would have them in one hour
six hours still waiting spoke to reception agai and they said 1 hour in 2 hours 2 cups arrived we arrived home on 30 sept and still no kettle or toaster
The bar and resturant was only open on sat and sun luckely we ate out all of the time the bathroom was ok but the toilet seat was hanging off
would not recomend this place to anybody
go there at your own perill

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sf8752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

North West
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2008

After reading some other reviews of the apartments and resort I was dreading the holiday but... I was pleasantly surprised with both!
Aloha Playa was fine. We were on the 5th floor (don't think I'd have liked the 13th!) The apartment was fine. 2 single beds in an alcove. Tiny but clean, seperate kitchen, modern clean bathroom and nice balcony - all that was needed.
Benalmadena was also very nice!
Aloha Playa is so close to the beach it's a crime not to use it. 2 Sun beds and parasol 8 euros,
the sea was too cold in April to go in!
It's lovely walk to the Marina along the prom ( about 30mins stroll)
Great resaurants on the prom near the windmills. Visit La Paloma Park it's lovely too.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — pool cold
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Northwesteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwales
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2008

basic hotel clean room good beds sofa a litle worn basic room as in other revews but towels changed 3 times in week and also beds changed once and room cleaned kitchen could use a kettle and a toster more plates would also be helpfull theres a local supermarket near by for bits water and wine no half bord when we were there but early feb plenty of local pubs cafes for food even a mcdonalds down road for the kids chinese for 5.05 euros and cocos for a sing song open till 2am not to far to come back just a crawl up the road so book and go

  • Liked — cheep cleen and central close to sea
  • Disliked — needs a kettle
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank babywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2008

We found the hotel reasonably comfortable, clean etc. For what we paid it was good. There were no blankets on the beds, so we asked for one each (single beds). As I was still cold, the next day I asked for 4 more blankets (2 each). The man on the desk said they would be there when we came back later, and true to his words, they were. Towels were changed twice in our 4 day stay, although we did ask for extra towels as they were dirty, but the man on the desk wasn't quite so keen to let us have them, he said we could have one, to which I replied that wasn't good enough, we wanted two. Again, 2 towels appeared.
We did not see a cockroach and cannot understand some of the comments re the state of the hotel. It was ideally located, opposite the beach and within walking distance of pubs/restaurants etc. As other people have said, if you want 5 star, then you have to pay 5 star money.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie6979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2007

OK so it wasn't a 5 star hotel, but then we didn't pay 5 star rates. Reading some of the reviews it seems some people had very high expectations for a very cheap hotel. We booked on holiday nights.com and paid £58 for 2 people for 3 nights in Nov.

The Playa Aloha is situated at the Fuengirola end of the resort, and is very close to lots of amenities. The marina is the other end of the resort, about a 30 - 40 min stroll at a slow pace.

The complex is a mixture of holiday lets and private apartments. Reception staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is definitely a little bit down in the mouth but is very clean. The studio we stayed in had 2 twin beds (we asked and there are no double beds at all and the twin beds are different heights so not easy to make a double). Bathroom was very clean and looked quite new. Kitchen was very small and I wouldn't recommend cooking but there are lots of reasonably priced restaurants nearby.

In November the communal areas and pool were deserted.

For a cheap, winter break this was an excellent choice. Breakfasts are available nearby at The Last Resort, Shakespeare's etc for around 4 euros each. For dinner and something more traditionally Spanish for dinner try the restaurants on the promenade in front of Playa Santa Ana - The Waterfront was very nice. Expect to pay around 50 euros for dinner for 2, 2 courses and wine. There are a lot of cheaper English places in the resort but do you go on holiday to have a roast dinner and apple crumble?!

So main points:
- Go self catering
-It's cheap and cheerful, if you want 5 star, pay for it
- Less than £10 per night each

  • Liked — cleanliness, especially the bathroom
  • Disliked — needs updating
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunflower1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2007

We had booked at the sol Aloha playa for 1 week. We arrived around 11pm at night, and allocated a room, which when we found it was already occupied by someone else.

When we finally got our room, we found the balcony door wouldn’t shut, the windows didn’t open and the curtains wouldn’t open, the room itself was not very clean. And the road was very noisy. The road traffic was continuous throughout the night. So much so we only stayed 2 nights, and checked out although we had paid for the week. This is not a 3star hotel as advertised.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rose-geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
MS Alay Apartments
MS Alay Apartments
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#35 of 45 in Benalmadena
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Fermin
Hotel San Fermin
#26 of 45 in Benalmadena
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel

Property: Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel
Address: Avenida Antonio Machado | Ctra de Cadiz Km 221, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Also Known As:
Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel Hotel Benalmadena
Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Aloha Playa Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing