We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit run down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my wife in 2007. and was of the opinion that at one time it had been a first class hotel, but had been left to run down over the years.
Bedrooms and public rooms although clean where in need of refurbishment.
Good points?..
Excellent location, being right on the sea front, and convenient for local bars, ect.
A pleasant, airy dining room serving a reasonable selection of decent food and good service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 67 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

While staying in the next door Sunset Beach Club last week, I walked past the Aloha Playa each day. I cant comment on the interior or service but I would like to point out a few things. It is no longer a sol group hotel (checked their website). It loked very run down. Pool area seemed closed off. Many balconys had for sale signs on them leading me to think that it has been converted to private apartments. It still seems to be offered by some leading travel agents which is why I wanted to point these things out

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
7  Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great 4 day break with my best friend. Hotel was very good, great sized room and right on the beech. Food was good, staff helpful. Its only 20 mins from the airport. Plenty of bars and restaurants along the promenade. We had a fab time, and will be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and experianced a short pleasant stay at the Sol Aloha Playa in March. Room was clean, food was good, not excellent but exactly what you would expect from this type of hotel.

Bar prices were also reasonable, along with the wine prices in the resturant. Staff were polite and friendly.

The hotel appears to cater for the more mature couples attempting to be polite however, that would be for the individual to decide.

Great location with the Marina being 10 minutes walk and the seafront path and beach located at the rear steps of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank S1CEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Food,room & location Great

Great Bingo & Quiz bar write opposite called Full house.

Both worth a visit

Room Tip: ask for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alexben9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

had to put feb 2010 thats the earliest time they had, but stayed here dec 2007 4 2 weeks with my teen son, staff were ok at first, bar/restaurant not opened at all checked out the pool/play area, if anyone had used them they would have caught something, pool was covered in green slim play area was full of rust.our apartment door faced onto a massive building site, more peace and quiet on balcony facing road. paid for a safe.cleaner came in most days 2 days before we left 20 euros went missing from my purse,only other person in the room was cleaner. confronted recception staff they all denied anything, couldnt wait to leave this hellhole,think its more a residential place in winter all spanish,got the feeling brits werent welcome. went to gibralter for the day that was the best part of the whole holiday, stay away from this place, we couldnt get back to london quick enough. this was our first time in costa del sol-it'll be the last. Benidorm is 100% better any time of year.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marie_mcg45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

me and my boyfriend stayed here and thought in was lovely and clean the staff is friendly and the food is lovely.and it is in a great location you are right beside the beach. we had a wonderful holiday.

Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
2  Thank tinney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.3 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villasol
Hotel Villasol
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,837 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.2 mi away
MS Alay Apartments
MS Alay Apartments
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel

Address: Avenida Antonio Machado | Ctra de Cadiz Km 221, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel Hotel Benalmadena
Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Aloha Playa Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing