We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap, clean, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed November 11, 2007

OK so it wasn't a 5 star hotel, but then we didn't pay 5 star rates. Reading some of the reviews it seems some people had very high expectations for a very cheap hotel. We booked on holiday nights.com and paid £58 for 2 people for 3 nights in Nov.

The Playa Aloha is situated at the Fuengirola end of the resort, and is very close to lots of amenities. The marina is the other end of the resort, about a 30 - 40 min stroll at a slow pace.

The complex is a mixture of holiday lets and private apartments. Reception staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is definitely a little bit down in the mouth but is very clean. The studio we stayed in had 2 twin beds (we asked and there are no double beds at all and the twin beds are different heights so not easy to make a double). Bathroom was very clean and looked quite new. Kitchen was very small and I wouldn't recommend cooking but there are lots of reasonably priced restaurants nearby.

In November the communal areas and pool were deserted.

For a cheap, winter break this was an excellent choice. Breakfasts are available nearby at The Last Resort, Shakespeare's etc for around 4 euros each. For dinner and something more traditionally Spanish for dinner try the restaurants on the promenade in front of Playa Santa Ana - The Waterfront was very nice. Expect to pay around 50 euros for dinner for 2, 2 courses and wine. There are a lot of cheaper English places in the resort but do you go on holiday to have a roast dinner and apple crumble?!

So main points:
- Go self catering
-It's cheap and cheerful, if you want 5 star, pay for it
- Less than £10 per night each

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunflower1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 67 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2007

We had booked at the sol Aloha playa for 1 week. We arrived around 11pm at night, and allocated a room, which when we found it was already occupied by someone else.

When we finally got our room, we found the balcony door wouldn’t shut, the windows didn’t open and the curtains wouldn’t open, the room itself was not very clean. And the road was very noisy. The road traffic was continuous throughout the night. So much so we only stayed 2 nights, and checked out although we had paid for the week. This is not a 3star hotel as advertised.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rose-geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2007

booked this hotel just to get my head down for one night it was perfect for what I wanted one nights sleep
had a self satering room room was nice cleen and tidy but basic
bathroom was the same but the kitchen was a shambles doors loos and rickity electric sockets hanging out of the walls hot plate and kettle that was about it apart from a couple of plates and afew knives and forks this hotel is fine as a cheep room only but as self catering forget it

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank jipph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

I was worried when i booked and then saw some of the terrible reviews, but this place was actually not bad at all. If you are looking for 5 star luxury - then pay more and go somewhere else. We stayed at the Aloha Aug 2 - 13th. The rooms were basic but clean and the food was good quality with plenty of choices on offer, although i'd advise eating out occasionally to add variety. There were a lot of spanish holiday makers staying here, when we went there were probably only 2 or 3 other english speaking families, and the entertainment was in spanish, but we were quite happy. The staff were very friendly and helpful although the pool closed at 7 on the dot. There is a large building project going on behind the hotel which is likely to go on for many months, although the work is noisy, we weren't too bothered by it when we were out the front of the hotel by the pool or inside the room. I would recommend hiring a car if you'r e here for more than a day or two, we visited Mijas, Nerja, Marbella, Gibraltar - we took a minibus tour from Gibraltar town up the rock, saw magnificent views, the Barbary apes, caves, its worth every penny but do haggle.

Stayed: August 2006
7  Thank MaryHinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2006

After reading the reviews about this hotel I was a bit apprehensive, however I found this hotel to be excellent value for money, extremely clean and the staff very friendly. I had a studio apartment which had 2 beds plus a sofa bed in the living area. Small seperate kitchen with everything that was needed and good wardrobe space. Good location with a bus stop just metres away from the front door.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank LorraineScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2006

What a horrendous aparthotel, it is like a run down council flat block - in fact I would say that is quite a compliment for it. We were situated on 13th floor of sheer terror, the bed was next to the glass window panel with no protection and a sheer drop to the pool 13 floors down. The rooms were dirty, scruffy and not cleaned for 5 days and no towel change whatsoever. There was no bar open or the buffet restaurant (not that we would have dared to eat here). Take my advice and give this aparthotel a wide wide berth unless you like staying in a dump!! The lifts were installed in circa 1970 and boy you know about white knuckle rides when you go from reception to floor 13. This hotel is not worthy of a 3 key rating, in fact it should be bulldozed and re-built.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank jujubaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
nottingham
19
Reviewed March 23, 2005

No one is going to make this place their dream hotel but it was clean, cheap and functional. We were there in low season and so occupancy was low which meant there was little buzz, but for a quiet weekaway from work it was fine. the resoirt itself is not what you would describe as upmarket. but if Lager chips and Karaoke are your thing, you should be fine.

If you want pampering, complete silence and fine dining , go somewhre else. but for late availability value for money, this place was fine.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.3 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villasol
Hotel Villasol
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,837 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.2 mi away
MS Alay Apartments
MS Alay Apartments
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel

Address: Avenida Antonio Machado | Ctra de Cadiz Km 221, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel Hotel Benalmadena
Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Aloha Playa Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing