We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
THB Torrequebrada Hotel
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed August 8, 2008

My wife, young daughter and I arrived at 12 noon. We were told that we were allocated an upgrade room for the night. What a lovely suite - marvellous sea views...

Excellent stay without fault.

We will definitely try to stay there again in future.

Well dome Hotel Torrequebrada.

  • Liked — upgrade to front suite
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terryBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    466
    251
    103
    50
See reviews for
280
544
30
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North West Britain
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2008

My wife and I booked a 5 day "sun, gin and idleness" break at the Torrequebrada very much at the last minute and with one dubious eye on some of the dodgy reviews - well those guys must have just struck unlucky because we had a very good time indeed at the Torrequebrada. Yes, there was something of a sense of "hello 1989" about the room , but it was spacious, clean, comfortable and had a stunning view southwards along the coast.

Some reviewers have complained of traffic noise; well when we were on our balcony you could hear (and see) the traffic sure, but it wasn't intrusive and when the double patio doors were closed the wasn't a hint of noise.

The gardens and pools were very attractive, clean and well supplied with beds. Fresh towels were always available (no charge) and the pool bar and patio were never too busy and always tidy...but it's true that drinks prices were steep.

We had booked B&B but, inexplicably, were checked in as half-board (shhh) so had a free lunch or dinner each day. And to be honest the food was really pretty good...not great, but no cause at all for complaint.

The public areas of the hotel are attractive, (marble and high ceilings) the staff were uniformly very pleasant and helpful and the hotel is a modest 18 minute drive from the airport at Malaga.

Incidentally, the Flemenco show in the "Sala Fortuna" nightclub was spectacularly good (more so than we expected...but I'm not sure why we were pessimistic!).

No, it ain't 5 star in the sense that the Gresham or Ritz or Waldorf-Astoria are, but it's nothing like the price either. Having re-read the adverse reviews of this hotel, based on our experience I think the Torrequebrada has been harshly judged by the anti-lobby. I won't put up with rubbish and I'd go back to the Torrequebrada without hesitation - in fact, we're likely to.

  • Liked — Many facilities
  • Disliked — Slightly tired room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Manannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Overall our hotel stay was very good. Yes it could do with a lick of paint but this would be my only negative comment. The room was clean, the pool area was well clean, the room view was excellent and the breakfast was good. I would recommend the hotel for couples and families with older children (only organised activities were aqua aerobics and pool volleyball).

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rlwUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for 1 week with my partner. The room was kept very clean which was great. beautiful view from our balcony on the 8th floor. Decor is quite dated and room was in need of updating. The walls were not really sound proof so could hear alot of activity from next door.
Garden area was nice, pools were clean too.
We ate in the Asian Restaurant on our last night, the food was ok, service was extremely bad and the food is abit pricey. Also notice that they had not included VAT in the pricing on the menu either. Bar prices are very expensive as well.
All in all we had an enjoyable stay however this hotel is definately not a 5 star hotel more like a 3/4 star.
The hotel is located right on the edge of Benalmadena, a walk to the centre/marina is about 45 minutes (in summer heat about 1 hour and a half), which was a bit inconvenient. Pinnocho's restaurant down the marina was our favourite place to eat, along with Bar 76 which is located in the centra beside the Macdonald's.
Overall relaxing break to Benalmadena, We would return however not to the Torrequebrada Hotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CB87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

I recently stayed in this hotel for a 7 night break. I took 2 elderly relatives in their mid 70s and my daughter aged 14. Our superior rooms on the 9th and 10th floor were beautiful. Loads of wardrobe space and a fabulous view over the sea and pool. My rooms were tranquil and recently refurbished. Bedding and towels were constantly changed.

There are no coffee and tea making facilities in the room which is quite common in this area but at the end of the day 24 hour room service is available and the cost of 2 coffees is a mere 4 euros.

The hotel is extremely clean and the breakfast choices are fabulous. I found the staff were only surly if spoken to rudely which I am afraid seemed to be quite often by a large number of British holidaymakers.

Check-in staff and porters are extremely helpful as are the majority of waiters and bar staff. The Spa is very professional, relaxing and reasonably priced.

I usually stay in the more expensive Don Carlos near Marbella but for a cheaper alternative would have no hesitation in recommending this accomodation.

There were many British people complaining of lack of childrens entertainment and poor service but I can honestly say I didnt experience either. However, quite a few of these holidaymakers seemed to want to hand their children over to someone at 9am and not see them until 6pm - in which case I would agree this is not for them. However, there were pool activities ranging from pool volleyball to aquarobics all supervised by an extremely enthusiastic lycra clad gym instructor!!!!

Sunbeds are plentiful and the pool area is clean.

If you are intending to visit this hotel you will have a great time.

  • Liked — Location and sea views
  • Disliked — Bar areas in evening
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrotter666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

I stayed here with a girlfriend for a long weekend and cannot fault the place. Yes it was not the greatest looking hotel but it certainly wasn't that bad. The room we stayed in was on the 8th floor, clean enough, bathroom was a fair size and lots of wardrobe space. Side sea view - very pretty.

We did find the balcony doors didn't lock properly and we had to call maintenance a few times about the safe but they always arrived quickly and sorted the problem. The pool was lovely, the grounds were pleasant enough. As for the breakfast that other people moaned about, there was hot food, cold food, a chef that cooked fresh omlettes, pastries, juice, tea, coffee, even champagne! Again tea/coffee facilities in the room, not sure why you need that but there wasn't any.

We didn't eat in the evening in the hotel so i can't comment on that as the marina is a 10 min taxi ride and full of restaurants and bars so we went there. Lovely place. We walked one day which took about 40 mins but there are bars and places to eat on the way. Taxi's wait outside the hotel so there's never a shortage and i believe buses go from there as well.

Overall it was a lovely place/area and i would go there again probably not for my 2 week holiday but i would recommend it for a weekend or maybe a week.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petitesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2008

Just returned from one of the worst holidays that I have been on. After booking a Junior Suite we were allocated a first floor suite that looked over a dual carriage way & the car park. The furniture was shabby with the wallaper peeling. I compalianed and only option wsa to upgrade to an Executive suite at an extra 75 Euros per night. Although this was a vast improvement, there are no tea/coffee making facilities. The room service menu is very poor and only toiletries for one person. Don't bother complaining because there is a Dragon on reception who is very rude and shouts at you & you still get nowhere.

The breakfast is tepid and the same everyday.

And do not make the cardinal sin of asking for a pool towel without going to reception first to get your pool towel tickets, & even worse if you are not informed of any of this (as we were not) when you come to check out & you have not returned the precious towels to the rightful place in the garden hut (which has it's own opening times) you will be set on again by the Dragon screeming that she is going to charge you for the towels.

Generally this is a shabby hotel, that only gets it's 5 stars because it has a Casino & a Flamenco show where tourits are bussed in from all types of accomodation!!

You also have to drink out of plastic glasses on the terrace on an evening, as that is where the entertainment is.

NEVER AGAIN

  • Liked — size of bed
  • Disliked — No tea/coffee facitities
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,215 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
1.1 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#18 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.6 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,019 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Torrequebrada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Torrequebrada Hotel

Property: THB Torrequebrada Hotel
Address: Avenida Sol s/n, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#13 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Torrequebrada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your best bet for Leisure and Business Ideally located on the beach-front of Benalmadena Costa, and with a sophisticated atmosphere, Hotel Torrequebrada is your best bet for both Leisure and Business. It offers a wide gastronomical variety of delicious food, peace and tranquility in its extensive gardens, Shows in the Sala Fortuna, fun and entertainment in the Casino, spacious, fully equipped conference rooms, activities and entertainment during the summer months and Wellness area for relaxation. All of this together with a relaxed atmosphere on the shore of the Mediterranean Sea and only 30 minutes from Marbella and Malaga, right in the heart of the Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your THB Torrequebrada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrequebrada Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Torrequebrada
THB Torrequebrada Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing