We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for a short break” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of THB Torrequebrada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
THB Torrequebrada Hotel
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great value for a short break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We visited the Torrequebrada hotel for 5 nights on a really terrific deal of £300 pp half board including flights from London Luton. We were apprehensive after reading the reviews but for the price took the chance. We were glad we did.. We were given a double room on the 7th floor which had really great views over the sea. I think the comments about the condition of the hotel are fair but we found it to be fine for the price. 3 star is probably a more accurate rating. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The terrace with its pool and bar at the back overlooking the med was lovely and very well kept. Dinner was a buffet style each evening and was nothing more than ok, unusually there was no coffee served after dinner in the restaurant but we went to their sapphire bar for a coffee and a nightcap where they also had live jazz on Thursdays and Saturdays that was very pleasant.
Included in our package was also a flamenco dance show in their own theatre it lasted about 90 minutes and included a bottle of cava, it was very entertaining. All in all a very nice break.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pcs10557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    422
    235
    94
    50
See reviews for
258
500
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just returned from 4 nights- the bedrooms was clean and the view great- 8th floor
The food was terrible- as others reviews food brought out over several days. Bread/rolls not always fresh. I am just pleased I only had one day with an upset tum after eating the eggs.
The hotel is very quiet some evening there was only three or four tables in use. Most of the hotel
seems to be closed judging by the dust the bars have not been in use for some weeks. The place was just empty.
While waiting for our lift to the airport a huge cockroach crawled from between the edge of the seat i was sitting on, dread to think how many more there were living there glad we were on the 8th floor
As others have written walls are very thin - just hope your neighbour does'nt watch tv till the early hours as ours did.

Room Tip: There are alot of other hotels near by that seem to be busy and full of happy people book room only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed at Torrequebrada Hotel for 3 nights in a very spacious family room. Like other reviewers point out, the hotel is somewhat worn, but overall gives very good value for money.The pool areas are very well keep and very nice, and the is a beautiful sea view from the room. Very wide selection at breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Probably a good idea to ask for a higher floor to avoid noise from street or hotel partys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanusH-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We managed to get a fantastic special offer on this hotel, for an overnight stay, a 4 star???? at that price???? well.....didn't know what to expect really, but, i can say, that we were pleasantly surprised, this hotel in its time was a great hotel & casino, years are evident on the façade as well as overall design, but it is a lovely hotel, beautiful but dated, but again for what i paid, so so so value for money & a real treat! Rooms super clean, bathroom tatty& run-down but spotless, lobby lighting a bit dark, pool & beach fantastic, breakfast lovely, lift did the lambada a bit, but got used to it, staff very friendly!
Definately going back, they have a great musical hall too, & you can visit it's casino,
Not A "Viva LAs Vegas" hotel but, a lovely old hotel! I only paid 60 euros(with breakfast), but the maximum I would pay 100 euros a night for this hotel!

Room Tip: 11th floor amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YaltaPons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Three of us stayed at this hotel for four nights on a half board basis in mid-October 2012.

Taking the advice of previous reviewers, I telephoned the day before arrival and arranged for two rooms on an upper floor. This was agreed but then forgotten as we were offered second floor rooms. We were allocated seventh floor rooms after a protracted discussion with the receptionist. The promised welcome bottle of wine never appeared and had to be requested.

To be fair, we got a ridiculously good deal from Voyage Privé and perhaps that is part of the hotels problems? I understand that the resort – and certainly the hotel – was particularly quiet so I guess the hotel offered accommodation to agencies at “next to nothing” rates in the hope that it will obtain additional revenue from drinks and extra’s. The problem with this strategy is that the hotel will need to cut costs and hence the quality of the hotel can easily suffer. Perhaps the THB chain is big enough to stand this loss but it’s not a great business model.

It is clear to see that this hotel could have enjoyed a grander status in the past. It is a little tired but not disastrously so. The rooms, common areas and facilities are all clean and acceptable. Most of the staff tried to be friendly but seemed to be under constant pressure and could perhaps do with more help.

Earlier Trip Advisor reviewers have been critical about the food and sadly their comments are justified. The breakfast and dinner offerings were diverse and plentiful, but some hygiene standards are woefully inadequate. Small birds flying in the restaurant was a regular occurrence; not an occasional one. Small flying midges were regularly seen encamped on some of the chilled salads and vegetables. On one occasion I alerted the waiter to the flying midges and then showed him about twenty or thirty small ants on two dessert dishes which were mostly empty. His surprised “Oh my God” expression seemed genuine and he took the offending dishes away. However, it did not appear to have been reported as some ants found their way to the replacement dishes! Perhaps a restaurant manager should be employed to keep the food fresh and up to standard. There was also a strong suspicion that some food regularly appeared on the buffet without being replaced.

We visited a flamenco evening which was fine in its own right but the organisation by the hotel was dreadful. The start was delayed for twenty minutes as a party of 40 was delayed. This party must have been important because the front rows of tables were reserved for them. The party failed to appear so the talent had to perform to two rows of empty tables. How disappointing for them! It seemed that the show was cut from the advertised 90 minutes and we had some drinks left which we thought we would take to another part of the hotel. The unsmiling entertainment manager (Mr Jamal?) told us that we had to finish the drinks in the vicinity. It was insulting to be thought as glass thieves!

This holiday was particularly good value but it is unlikely that we would return here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tp1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Travel with my wife for a short break early Oct after looking for wheelchair friendly facilities which this hotel states. The room overlooking the sea was indeed very good on the 2nd floor with easy access to bathroom. On a downside there was no easy acces to the pool area (had to access thru dining area and ask to have the doors open, and the paved area not very wheelchair friendly. The staff were superb and nothing was too much trouble and the restaurant staff very helpful (especially Miguel). Food very average lack of imagination mainly I think down to staffing.
One small quirk was the salt cellar (all unable to pour) needs rice grain to keep salt dry. The area is on the outskirts of BD and taxi to the harbour 7€. All in all a nice break with a few

Room Tip: Ask for seaview 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aham2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Not very impressed the 1st time I stayed here so not expecting any great change. However the room I had this time was very pleasant. Clean, light and airy and comfortable bed. Again double patio doors so very quiet. Air con worked well too! I was in the main part of the hotel this time, the tower nearest the reception, so maybe this is slightly better than the other tower.
Slightly better performance from reception staff although a smile would make all the difference.
Didn't have time to sample the food so can't comment

Room Tip: The room in tower nearest reception seemed preferable to the other tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awayagainBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Benalmadena
Best Benalmadena
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.9 mi away
Best Triton
Best Triton
#12 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Torrequebrada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Torrequebrada Hotel

Property: THB Torrequebrada Hotel
Address: Avenida Sol s/n, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#13 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Torrequebrada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your best bet for Leisure and Business Ideally located on the beach-front of Benalmadena Costa, and with a sophisticated atmosphere, Hotel Torrequebrada is your best bet for both Leisure and Business. It offers a wide gastronomical variety of delicious food, peace and tranquility in its extensive gardens, Shows in the Sala Fortuna, fun and entertainment in the Casino, spacious, fully equipped conference rooms, activities and entertainment during the summer months and Wellness area for relaxation. All of this together with a relaxed atmosphere on the shore of the Mediterranean Sea and only 30 minutes from Marbella and Malaga, right in the heart of the Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your THB Torrequebrada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrequebrada Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Torrequebrada
THB Torrequebrada Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing