We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a downward spiral”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
THB Torrequebrada Hotel
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Birmingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“On a downward spiral”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Three of us stayed at this hotel for four nights on a half board basis in mid-October 2012.

Taking the advice of previous reviewers, I telephoned the day before arrival and arranged for two rooms on an upper floor. This was agreed but then forgotten as we were offered second floor rooms. We were allocated seventh floor rooms after a protracted discussion with the receptionist. The promised welcome bottle of wine never appeared and had to be requested.

To be fair, we got a ridiculously good deal from Voyage Privé and perhaps that is part of the hotels problems? I understand that the resort – and certainly the hotel – was particularly quiet so I guess the hotel offered accommodation to agencies at “next to nothing” rates in the hope that it will obtain additional revenue from drinks and extra’s. The problem with this strategy is that the hotel will need to cut costs and hence the quality of the hotel can easily suffer. Perhaps the THB chain is big enough to stand this loss but it’s not a great business model.

It is clear to see that this hotel could have enjoyed a grander status in the past. It is a little tired but not disastrously so. The rooms, common areas and facilities are all clean and acceptable. Most of the staff tried to be friendly but seemed to be under constant pressure and could perhaps do with more help.

Earlier Trip Advisor reviewers have been critical about the food and sadly their comments are justified. The breakfast and dinner offerings were diverse and plentiful, but some hygiene standards are woefully inadequate. Small birds flying in the restaurant was a regular occurrence; not an occasional one. Small flying midges were regularly seen encamped on some of the chilled salads and vegetables. On one occasion I alerted the waiter to the flying midges and then showed him about twenty or thirty small ants on two dessert dishes which were mostly empty. His surprised “Oh my God” expression seemed genuine and he took the offending dishes away. However, it did not appear to have been reported as some ants found their way to the replacement dishes! Perhaps a restaurant manager should be employed to keep the food fresh and up to standard. There was also a strong suspicion that some food regularly appeared on the buffet without being replaced.

We visited a flamenco evening which was fine in its own right but the organisation by the hotel was dreadful. The start was delayed for twenty minutes as a party of 40 was delayed. This party must have been important because the front rows of tables were reserved for them. The party failed to appear so the talent had to perform to two rows of empty tables. How disappointing for them! It seemed that the show was cut from the advertised 90 minutes and we had some drinks left which we thought we would take to another part of the hotel. The unsmiling entertainment manager (Mr Jamal?) told us that we had to finish the drinks in the vicinity. It was insulting to be thought as glass thieves!

This holiday was particularly good value but it is unlikely that we would return here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tp1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    454
    245
    99
    50
See reviews for
274
531
30
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Travel with my wife for a short break early Oct after looking for wheelchair friendly facilities which this hotel states. The room overlooking the sea was indeed very good on the 2nd floor with easy access to bathroom. On a downside there was no easy acces to the pool area (had to access thru dining area and ask to have the doors open, and the paved area not very wheelchair friendly. The staff were superb and nothing was too much trouble and the restaurant staff very helpful (especially Miguel). Food very average lack of imagination mainly I think down to staffing.
One small quirk was the salt cellar (all unable to pour) needs rice grain to keep salt dry. The area is on the outskirts of BD and taxi to the harbour 7€. All in all a nice break with a few

Room Tip: Ask for seaview 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aham2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Not very impressed the 1st time I stayed here so not expecting any great change. However the room I had this time was very pleasant. Clean, light and airy and comfortable bed. Again double patio doors so very quiet. Air con worked well too! I was in the main part of the hotel this time, the tower nearest the reception, so maybe this is slightly better than the other tower.
Slightly better performance from reception staff although a smile would make all the difference.
Didn't have time to sample the food so can't comment

Room Tip: The room in tower nearest reception seemed preferable to the other tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awayagainBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed here for a week in September. The hotel looks like once upon a time it was a very classy place to be, however it is now looking a bit tired and dated, although it was still well maintained and looked after but could at least do with painting on the outside to freshen up that first appearance.

We had a room on the 6th floor, and it faced the other tower. There was hardly any traffic noise at all, our room had 2 sliding patio doors with a large air gap between that drowned out all but the noisiest of vehicles, and the view was pretty good looking out over the pool and the Med. The room was well equipped with decent working quiet air conditioning, a TV and a mini fridge, although the fridge didn't seem to get very cool. The hotel also provide their own mini toiletries in the bathroom. The rooms were spotless and cleaned every day - although they could do to provide a toilet brush in the bathroom if you know what I mean!! The only issue we had was with the safe on our arrival - there were no instructions and as we were trying to work it out, we ended up locking the safe with all our valuables inside without knowing the code to open it again - there's a tip, learn how to work the safe BEFORE putting your stuff in it!!. We went to reception and explained our problem, and a maintenance man came right away back to our room to unlock it, and later in the day they had sent some instructions on how to use it - the maintenance man even said himself those safes are too complicated!! The electrics in the room worked by putting your keycard in a slot. As there were 2 of us, we would leave 1 card in the slot to keep the air-con on in the room to keep it cool, but if the maids came in, they would remove it again - this could be why the fridge didn't get cold if it is on the same circuit as the rest of the electrics!!

Couldn't fault the service from the reception team, they were always very friendly and helpful and dealt with our queries quickly and efficiently.

We stayed a couple of weeks after "peak season" had ended, and the restaurant was not even that busy, but there were still a couple of occasions where we had to clear away dirty plates and re-set our own table as either the restaurant is understaffed, or the 3-4 staff on duty are just lazy and don't want to clear tables. We saw other people having to do the same too, on one occasion we counted over 10 tables that needed clearing and were being ignored by the staff despite people clearly waiting for a free table. Most nights we observed the waiting staff and they would just rush around the restaurant and they were not even that busy, so it looked like they were purposely just ignoring the dirty tables - one girl in particular, out of all the times we ate there, we only saw her clear 1 table - it looked like it was beneath her to have to do such a job and again she wasn't particularly busy doing anything else.

Even though we had 1/2 board, we never ate breakfast as it finished at 10, and we like to have a lie in on holiday as we work shifts the rest of the year, but we ate in the restaurant every night except 1. The food was very average, the salad bar even though it was the same every night offered a good selection but the main courses were a bit hit and miss. Sometimes the food was good, but most other times was luke warm, overcooked and barely edible. I think you had to be lucky and time it right so you got to the hot food just as it had come out of the kitchen. The bbq outside on some evenings was a nice touch. The desserts didn't look very appealing either, and were the same every night. I was also put off eating them after watching a child on the first night sticking his finger in all the cakes and licking it before moving onto the next cake - although that was the fault of the parents not the hotel. I ended up making my own dessert each night with a sealed coconut yogurt and some pineapple from the salad bar!!

We spent most of our days down by the pool. The pools are very nice and clean although some of the sun loungers were a little saggy and could do with replacing. We ate lunch most days from the poolside bar, but the menu is very limited and is quite expensive for what is on offer. I was going to make use of the gym but it is only open certain hours of the day and hardly has any equipment in it (1 weights machine, 1 treadmill and 1 exercise bike - that's it!!) so I never bothered.

The hotel is not in the best location for the center of the resort, on the first night we walked along the sea front to the marina, it took 45 minutes and we are fit and healthy and I walk pretty quickly, so it would take most people a bit longer especially the elderly. Luckily we had a hire car and used that for the rest of the week although there is a bus stop right outside too.

Overall the hotel was good, it is better than most I have stayed in in Spain and although the hotel served its purpose for our week long relaxing holiday, I personally wouldn't stay here again purely because for us it was let down by being too far out of town, the lack of/lazy
restaurant staff, the food and the lack of a free bar to go to on an evening unless you wanted to pay €20 to watch a show as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthurnMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear "NorthurnMonkey"
Firstly we would like to convey our sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations. We work hard every day to make us worthy of the trust of leading National and International tour operators and agencies. We hope you give us another opportunity to rebuild your trust in us.
The professionalism of our team is beyond doubt, as surely you can check through the comments made by other guests in this and other forums of opinion. Even so, rest assured that the hotel management will make inquiries about your comments.
We are grateful to you for having given us the opportunity to improve.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

One of these huge hotels that you find in Southern Spain. The Torrequebrada is an aging building, former 5* degraded to 4. Went there for business so I couldn'nt check the pool. Breakfasts are OK though super noisy, served in a huge and 'cold' room. Service is poor ... we are in Spain and they still do not have understood what the word organization mean. Laundry picked up in the morning comes back the ... next day :( One guy only at check in makes you can wait for some time but it does not seem to bother anyone there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I had read some very negative reviews of this hotel but like to make up my own mind so decided to stay here for 3 nights. The location is great, there are a couple of good beaches nearby with local restaurants for lunch. The hotel is a fair way from the marina, we walked there and back in the day but got a taxi in the evenings when we went for dinner. There is always taxis waiting outside the hotel.
The hotel is nice & big, the rooms spacious and I must say our bed was very comfortable - however - the bedding was worn & had holes in, the carpet was really worn & stained & there was no shower curtain so shower time was a bit dangerous!
We stayed at the hotel on a half board basis & chose to have breakfast & lunch, there was always plenty of food & it was replenished regularly.
The gardens are nice to sunbathe in & there were always plenty of sun beds available. There is also a nice little poolside bar that also serves snacks.
This hotel has a lot going for it, the casino is very professional & they have entertainment shows on several times a week. The reception staff could be a lot more welcoming & friendly. There should also be some information in the rooms about hotel facilities & what's on.
I would stay here again if it was just for a weekend but would look at the reviews nearer the time to see if things have improved.

Room Tip: We were right by a lift & they ding when they arrive at each floor which can be loud in the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear "YvetteB"
We can assure you that in THB Hotels we work very hard every day to improve our services and guest attention, so we greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you here again with us.
Thank you for taking the time to send us your opinions.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I booked into this hotel from 22nd Sept until 6th October

The Hotel Torrequebrada is very nice. The hotel was spotlessly clean and well appointed. The facilities (swimming pools, gardens etc) were very good and there was easy access to the beach. The staff were very pleasant, helpful and professional.

On a slightly negative note, the Hotel is approximately 2km from the centre of Benalmadena which was a slight problem since my wife has some mobility difficulties. However there is a good public transport bus service with stops outside the hotel and the purchase of a bus pass made travelling relatively cheap.

Another problem is that the hotel is situated between the shore and a very busy main road and I think that most rooms would have been affected by the noise of traffic particularly when using the balconies.

However, the main problem was the food.

Breakfasts were great with a very wide selection of foods to suit all tastes. People would have to be very hard to please if they coud not find something to suit their palates.
The evening meals were a different story. The salad bar was very good but the main courses and the sweets left a lot to be desired. All meats and fish were cut very thinly and overcooked resulting in them being tough to the point in some cases of being inedible. The veg was overcooked too. Sweets were the same every night and most of the cake etc looked as if it had been bought in. The result of this was that we ate out on more occasions than we intended.

If we were returning to this area we would go back to this hotel but only on a B & B basis and that would be my recommendation to anybody who asked my opinion.

My rating of "Average" is based on the quality of the evening meals. Apart from that, hotel was very good

Room Tip: Difficult to say since only saw our own room about which had no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyG088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Mr. "AndyG088"
First of all thank you very much for your comments and observations which help us to better our day to day running of the hotel.
Rest assured that I will pass your comments to our kitchen department.
We hope to have you stay at our hotel again in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#18 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.6 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Torrequebrada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Torrequebrada Hotel

Property: THB Torrequebrada Hotel
Address: Avenida Sol s/n, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#13 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Torrequebrada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your best bet for Leisure and Business Ideally located on the beach-front of Benalmadena Costa, and with a sophisticated atmosphere, Hotel Torrequebrada is your best bet for both Leisure and Business. It offers a wide gastronomical variety of delicious food, peace and tranquility in its extensive gardens, Shows in the Sala Fortuna, fun and entertainment in the Casino, spacious, fully equipped conference rooms, activities and entertainment during the summer months and Wellness area for relaxation. All of this together with a relaxed atmosphere on the shore of the Mediterranean Sea and only 30 minutes from Marbella and Malaga, right in the heart of the Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your THB Torrequebrada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrequebrada Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Torrequebrada
THB Torrequebrada Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing