We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mass tourism... Good for value but lack of professionalism.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of THB Torrequebrada Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
THB Torrequebrada Hotel
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Mass tourism... Good for value but lack of professionalism.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

One of these huge hotels that you find in Southern Spain. The Torrequebrada is an aging building, former 5* degraded to 4. Went there for business so I couldn'nt check the pool. Breakfasts are OK though super noisy, served in a huge and 'cold' room. Service is poor ... we are in Spain and they still do not have understood what the word organization mean. Laundry picked up in the morning comes back the ... next day :( One guy only at check in makes you can wait for some time but it does not seem to bother anyone there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    423
    235
    94
    50
See reviews for
258
502
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I had read some very negative reviews of this hotel but like to make up my own mind so decided to stay here for 3 nights. The location is great, there are a couple of good beaches nearby with local restaurants for lunch. The hotel is a fair way from the marina, we walked there and back in the day but got a taxi in the evenings when we went for dinner. There is always taxis waiting outside the hotel.
The hotel is nice & big, the rooms spacious and I must say our bed was very comfortable - however - the bedding was worn & had holes in, the carpet was really worn & stained & there was no shower curtain so shower time was a bit dangerous!
We stayed at the hotel on a half board basis & chose to have breakfast & lunch, there was always plenty of food & it was replenished regularly.
The gardens are nice to sunbathe in & there were always plenty of sun beds available. There is also a nice little poolside bar that also serves snacks.
This hotel has a lot going for it, the casino is very professional & they have entertainment shows on several times a week. The reception staff could be a lot more welcoming & friendly. There should also be some information in the rooms about hotel facilities & what's on.
I would stay here again if it was just for a weekend but would look at the reviews nearer the time to see if things have improved.

Room Tip: We were right by a lift & they ding when they arrive at each floor which can be loud in the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear "YvetteB"
We can assure you that in THB Hotels we work very hard every day to improve our services and guest attention, so we greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you here again with us.
Thank you for taking the time to send us your opinions.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I booked into this hotel from 22nd Sept until 6th October

The Hotel Torrequebrada is very nice. The hotel was spotlessly clean and well appointed. The facilities (swimming pools, gardens etc) were very good and there was easy access to the beach. The staff were very pleasant, helpful and professional.

On a slightly negative note, the Hotel is approximately 2km from the centre of Benalmadena which was a slight problem since my wife has some mobility difficulties. However there is a good public transport bus service with stops outside the hotel and the purchase of a bus pass made travelling relatively cheap.

Another problem is that the hotel is situated between the shore and a very busy main road and I think that most rooms would have been affected by the noise of traffic particularly when using the balconies.

However, the main problem was the food.

Breakfasts were great with a very wide selection of foods to suit all tastes. People would have to be very hard to please if they coud not find something to suit their palates.
The evening meals were a different story. The salad bar was very good but the main courses and the sweets left a lot to be desired. All meats and fish were cut very thinly and overcooked resulting in them being tough to the point in some cases of being inedible. The veg was overcooked too. Sweets were the same every night and most of the cake etc looked as if it had been bought in. The result of this was that we ate out on more occasions than we intended.

If we were returning to this area we would go back to this hotel but only on a B & B basis and that would be my recommendation to anybody who asked my opinion.

My rating of "Average" is based on the quality of the evening meals. Apart from that, hotel was very good

Room Tip: Difficult to say since only saw our own room about which had no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyG088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Mr. "AndyG088"
First of all thank you very much for your comments and observations which help us to better our day to day running of the hotel.
Rest assured that I will pass your comments to our kitchen department.
We hope to have you stay at our hotel again in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

it has changed...not the real estate; the grounds are as beautiful as ever...no room service, no good coffee at breakfast, no lunch on the terrace, pool bar lacks charm and seems cluttered and expensive food
we were there twice this september at the beginning and end of our month in Andalucia and did have breakfast the first leg of the trip...we went early to avoid crowds but found the cost expensive for what was offered and don't include it again
we never get full board as we prefer the restaurants within walking distance
nothing beats the pool area or gounds but other than that, we were disappointed in the changes overall, it seems less personal
it was a long wait at reception checking in but it seems everyone arrived at the same time to check in
staff were helpful and friendly
Don't miss the Flameco show it is worth every euro
rooms do need upgrading, but with sea views it doesn't much matter because those rooms and views outweigh any negatives

Room Tip: sea view rooms are worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cordoba29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drymen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

just returned from a week in the hotel. Hotel slightly tired but for the money we paid good value fore money. Hotel slightly isolated but if you dont mind a 10 min walk to the main drag the hotel is ideal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here years ago when this was a top class well maintained Hotel.
The grandeur is now faded and it could do with an upgrade.
The rooms are rather dated, but are still functional with good air con and comfortable beds.
They are also very clean.
View from the balcony was spectacular and the pool area and gardens are well maintained.
Some sunbeds are grubby and need replacing.
The Hotel is rather isolated, but great for a base if you hire a car.
The staff we met were helpful and pleasant

BUT
The food is dire..
I have seen the replies from Management denying that there is a problem, but the reviews are absolutely correct.
The same boring salad ingredients appear at every meal, bland and unappealing.
Poor ingredients are used for the main dishes. Fish overcooked, meat tough, no flavour.
Sauces are lumpy, pasta overcooked, rice sticky, chips and vegetables are cold. They must know this as there is a microwave available! Sausages from the BBQ appeared for breakfast the following day, some were only cooked on one side.
Same deserts appear every day, no variety..and again poor quality.
Worst food I have had in a 4* Hotel.
Birds fly freely around the dining area inside. Flies were landing on the breakfast cakes.
The dining room staff are really overworked.
They try to clear and set the tables and also take orders for drinks.
Surely a dedicated drinks waiter would improve things as tables are left uncleared for ages and dishes pile up on diners tables. Very unprofessional. A few local clearing station trollies would help.

The food problem needs sorting, it spoils the holiday experience and I heard many guests complaining.
Management try to justify their policy by replying to negative comments instead of addressing the problem.

I would love to see this Hotel restored to its former glory but I don't think it ever will be under the present owners

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peckisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear "Pekinsher"
I greatly appreciate the fact that you've taken the time to send us your comments and observations.
We work hard every day to make us worthy of the trust of the leading tour operators and agencies, both national and international. We hope you will give us another opportunity to rebuild your trust in us.
Regarding your comments:
• I wish to let you know that we do not normally comment on subjective opinions in relation to their assessment of the food, because I agree with you that the reviews are totally right, all views must be taken into account, since each person has their expectations and needs. I differ in their assessment that we have a problem. During the months of July, August and September more than 15,000 people passed through this establishment of which I can guarantee a great majority have been very satisfied with the restaurant facilities offered by the hotel, both in quality and variety, and you can check yourself by reading all the comments on this and other forums of opinions. Unfortunately it is not possible to please everyone, and there are other guests who consider our offer insufficient, which differ in opinion, as I believe that, as a first course, we offer 11 types of vegetables for the salad that can be elaborated from our buffet and you can also add items such as ham cubes, pasta, rice, cheese cubes, tuna, bean sprouts plus 6 different types of cold sauces, a gazpacho with its garnish, two mixed salads, hot soup, a rice, and two types of pasta, with 4 hot sauces and pizza of the day, is more than enough for anyone and I find it hard to accept that a person does not like any of these products. To complement these starters we have 4 types of chips, three kinds of vegetables, three types of meat that is cooked by our Chef in our show cooking area to the guests taste, 3 types of fish which is also prepared on the spot in our show cooking by our Chef in front of the guest, a fish sauce, a meat sauce plus our Theme Corner every evening as an additional extra to the buffet (BBQ, Mexican, Oriental, ....). To finish off we offer our dessert buffet with an assortment of cakes, assorted pastries, and seasonal fruit. Like I said, I think we offer more than enough of a variety of products and I can guarantee that the products used in the preparation of our menus are of very high quality and regularly undergo strict internal controls.
• It is possible that because part of the restaurant to open to allow guests to access to the terrace that a little bird may fly into the dining room. We are sorry that this caused a problem but what I can guarantee is that we have no problems with flies in the restaurant.
• I really feel sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations and regret even more that, if you felt so distressed during your stay and all these problems spoiled their holiday, why you did not ask to speak to the Maître or the Manager so we could have of done something instead of waiting till after you left the hotel to express your opinions, because obviously, once you had left there was little that could be done yet I reiterate our thanks for taking the time to share your opinions.
Finally to clarify, we do not at any time try to justify problems, our policy is to exceed the expectations of our guests and there is nothing we dislike more than not being able to reach our guest’s expectations. This does not mean that a guest is permitted to express their opinion concerning a service that we, as the establishment, cannot express ours, which is neither better or worse than the client’s opinion it, is only based on our hard work, effort and vocation.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed a few years ago when a 5*. Hotel now not looking its best in need of a refurb. This time stayed on 4 floor and found no problem with noise, room clean and comfortable. Booked half board and found food poor in choice and quality, there was barbecued food outside one night but lots of guest did not know as the staff are always rushing around with no time to talk. Other staff helpful. Lovely gardens and pool areas and pools. We went to the two show which you have to pay for and these were both good, also went into the casino which can get very busy. Location, a long but lovely walk to the marina or you can easly get a bus from outside hotel. Private beach ok for sunbathing, beach for swimming about 15mins. Views from hotel are some of the best. Will be going back to area but not this hotel as there is not enough to do at night and food let it down.

Room Tip: Higher the floor less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear "Pam920"
Firstly we are sorry for not being able to meet your expectations.
Given that your opinions above all are respected, they are also subjective, in our establishment we have a cycle consisting of 14 rotary gastronomic different menus so that you do not repeat the menu for at least 14 days. This cycle has a common food base that aims to cover both tastes and nutritional needs objective of most of our guests. Yet we offer our customers the possibility to adapt our dishes to their needs if you are diabetic, celiac, lactic or vegetarian. This way you have found and will find every day: one different type of rice, two varieties of pasta with 4 different types of sauces, one buffet of salads and crudités with products so that you can make the salad to taste, 2 salads composed , pizza of the day, 4 assorted fried choices, 3 different fish grilled without sauce and 1 with sauce , 3 kinds of grilled meat without sauce and 1 with sauce, 3 types of vegetables a day, a varied buffet of desserts and fresh fruit. Like I said before, I can understand that you think there was a poor variety of food but in our opinion, is more than enough, since we offer almost every product.
I hope you give us another chance to try to rebuild your trust in us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Benalmadena
Best Benalmadena
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.3 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#4 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Torrequebrada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Torrequebrada Hotel

Property: THB Torrequebrada Hotel
Address: Avenida Sol s/n, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#13 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Torrequebrada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your best bet for Leisure and Business Ideally located on the beach-front of Benalmadena Costa, and with a sophisticated atmosphere, Hotel Torrequebrada is your best bet for both Leisure and Business. It offers a wide gastronomical variety of delicious food, peace and tranquility in its extensive gardens, Shows in the Sala Fortuna, fun and entertainment in the Casino, spacious, fully equipped conference rooms, activities and entertainment during the summer months and Wellness area for relaxation. All of this together with a relaxed atmosphere on the shore of the Mediterranean Sea and only 30 minutes from Marbella and Malaga, right in the heart of the Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your THB Torrequebrada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrequebrada Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Torrequebrada
THB Torrequebrada Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing