We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Spoiled by Poor Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
THB Torrequebrada Hotel
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
North East England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel Spoiled by Poor Food”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here years ago when this was a top class well maintained Hotel.
The grandeur is now faded and it could do with an upgrade.
The rooms are rather dated, but are still functional with good air con and comfortable beds.
They are also very clean.
View from the balcony was spectacular and the pool area and gardens are well maintained.
Some sunbeds are grubby and need replacing.
The Hotel is rather isolated, but great for a base if you hire a car.
The staff we met were helpful and pleasant

BUT
The food is dire..
I have seen the replies from Management denying that there is a problem, but the reviews are absolutely correct.
The same boring salad ingredients appear at every meal, bland and unappealing.
Poor ingredients are used for the main dishes. Fish overcooked, meat tough, no flavour.
Sauces are lumpy, pasta overcooked, rice sticky, chips and vegetables are cold. They must know this as there is a microwave available! Sausages from the BBQ appeared for breakfast the following day, some were only cooked on one side.
Same deserts appear every day, no variety..and again poor quality.
Worst food I have had in a 4* Hotel.
Birds fly freely around the dining area inside. Flies were landing on the breakfast cakes.
The dining room staff are really overworked.
They try to clear and set the tables and also take orders for drinks.
Surely a dedicated drinks waiter would improve things as tables are left uncleared for ages and dishes pile up on diners tables. Very unprofessional. A few local clearing station trollies would help.

The food problem needs sorting, it spoils the holiday experience and I heard many guests complaining.
Management try to justify their policy by replying to negative comments instead of addressing the problem.

I would love to see this Hotel restored to its former glory but I don't think it ever will be under the present owners

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peckisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear "Pekinsher"
I greatly appreciate the fact that you've taken the time to send us your comments and observations.
We work hard every day to make us worthy of the trust of the leading tour operators and agencies, both national and international. We hope you will give us another opportunity to rebuild your trust in us.
Regarding your comments:
• I wish to let you know that we do not normally comment on subjective opinions in relation to their assessment of the food, because I agree with you that the reviews are totally right, all views must be taken into account, since each person has their expectations and needs. I differ in their assessment that we have a problem. During the months of July, August and September more than 15,000 people passed through this establishment of which I can guarantee a great majority have been very satisfied with the restaurant facilities offered by the hotel, both in quality and variety, and you can check yourself by reading all the comments on this and other forums of opinions. Unfortunately it is not possible to please everyone, and there are other guests who consider our offer insufficient, which differ in opinion, as I believe that, as a first course, we offer 11 types of vegetables for the salad that can be elaborated from our buffet and you can also add items such as ham cubes, pasta, rice, cheese cubes, tuna, bean sprouts plus 6 different types of cold sauces, a gazpacho with its garnish, two mixed salads, hot soup, a rice, and two types of pasta, with 4 hot sauces and pizza of the day, is more than enough for anyone and I find it hard to accept that a person does not like any of these products. To complement these starters we have 4 types of chips, three kinds of vegetables, three types of meat that is cooked by our Chef in our show cooking area to the guests taste, 3 types of fish which is also prepared on the spot in our show cooking by our Chef in front of the guest, a fish sauce, a meat sauce plus our Theme Corner every evening as an additional extra to the buffet (BBQ, Mexican, Oriental, ....). To finish off we offer our dessert buffet with an assortment of cakes, assorted pastries, and seasonal fruit. Like I said, I think we offer more than enough of a variety of products and I can guarantee that the products used in the preparation of our menus are of very high quality and regularly undergo strict internal controls.
• It is possible that because part of the restaurant to open to allow guests to access to the terrace that a little bird may fly into the dining room. We are sorry that this caused a problem but what I can guarantee is that we have no problems with flies in the restaurant.
• I really feel sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations and regret even more that, if you felt so distressed during your stay and all these problems spoiled their holiday, why you did not ask to speak to the Maître or the Manager so we could have of done something instead of waiting till after you left the hotel to express your opinions, because obviously, once you had left there was little that could be done yet I reiterate our thanks for taking the time to share your opinions.
Finally to clarify, we do not at any time try to justify problems, our policy is to exceed the expectations of our guests and there is nothing we dislike more than not being able to reach our guest’s expectations. This does not mean that a guest is permitted to express their opinion concerning a service that we, as the establishment, cannot express ours, which is neither better or worse than the client’s opinion it, is only based on our hard work, effort and vocation.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    478
    265
    105
    50
See reviews for
300
559
30
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed a few years ago when a 5*. Hotel now not looking its best in need of a refurb. This time stayed on 4 floor and found no problem with noise, room clean and comfortable. Booked half board and found food poor in choice and quality, there was barbecued food outside one night but lots of guest did not know as the staff are always rushing around with no time to talk. Other staff helpful. Lovely gardens and pool areas and pools. We went to the two show which you have to pay for and these were both good, also went into the casino which can get very busy. Location, a long but lovely walk to the marina or you can easly get a bus from outside hotel. Private beach ok for sunbathing, beach for swimming about 15mins. Views from hotel are some of the best. Will be going back to area but not this hotel as there is not enough to do at night and food let it down.

Room Tip: Higher the floor less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear "Pam920"
Firstly we are sorry for not being able to meet your expectations.
Given that your opinions above all are respected, they are also subjective, in our establishment we have a cycle consisting of 14 rotary gastronomic different menus so that you do not repeat the menu for at least 14 days. This cycle has a common food base that aims to cover both tastes and nutritional needs objective of most of our guests. Yet we offer our customers the possibility to adapt our dishes to their needs if you are diabetic, celiac, lactic or vegetarian. This way you have found and will find every day: one different type of rice, two varieties of pasta with 4 different types of sauces, one buffet of salads and crudités with products so that you can make the salad to taste, 2 salads composed , pizza of the day, 4 assorted fried choices, 3 different fish grilled without sauce and 1 with sauce , 3 kinds of grilled meat without sauce and 1 with sauce, 3 types of vegetables a day, a varied buffet of desserts and fresh fruit. Like I said before, I can understand that you think there was a poor variety of food but in our opinion, is more than enough, since we offer almost every product.
I hope you give us another chance to try to rebuild your trust in us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

just spent a week here and what a cracking view over the coast from our 10th floor room. a bit odd how one tower block has the odd numbered rooms and the other has the even numbered. they could do to tell you this on arrival so if u head up the wrong tower youll be knowhere near where you want to be. huge hotel that looks a bit bare in places and hasnt really got any atmosphere about it at all. they probably shoudl have used some of that space on extending the overcrowded restaurant area. i thought the breakfast was average, regularly luke warm and quite often not re filled. i had trouble getting both eggs and beans during our stay. our room was a decent size and was cleaned well each day. hotel was clean, the garden / pool area is very smart and the staff were fine. only a 10 minute walk to the first bars in Benalmadena, but perhaps 40 mins to the very smart marina. bus stops right outside the hotel in either direction for malaga, torremolenos etc and very cheap fares although the buses can get ridiculously overcrowded. not the greatest of hotels but its location and views doesnt nake it a bad place to stay at all.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool area and sea if you want your balcony to catch the sun during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPIKESEASIDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Mr. "Spikeseasider"
First of all, thank you for your comments and observations, we have taken note of them in order to improve our daily running of the hotel.
As indicated by you the rooms are distributed in even numbers on one side of the hotel and odd numbers on the other side which is quite common when a building has more than one block. As we are sure you saw, there are signs in all the hotel's public areas indicating which area the rooms are in, apart from that, at the check-in all guests are informed as to where their room is located.
The cuisine is rotating and as you have not specified which day you were not able to get both eggs and beans we do not know why, maybe the beans were not on that day or the buffet was about to be refilled at the time you had breakfast.
I appreciate your confidence in THB and I hope to see you again staying at our hotel or any other of our chain.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Hotel itself not bad, rooms nice, staff helpful when there.Had to clean and lay our table on more than 1 occasion in the morning and evening meal times.THIS TELLS ME INSUFFICIENT STAFF. Hot food most of the timeseither luke warm or cold it wassuggest if we needed the food to be hot we coulduse the micro wave. Variety of food left a lot to be desired. ENTERTAINMENT what entertainment 1 bar only the rest closed. the live musice outside was very poor not what you would expect in a 4star hotel. the atmostphere in the hotel was very cold very little going on i would say nothing. to sum up i would say that this hotel was below what i consider to be a 4star hotel as compared with other hotels that i have stayed in.my rating would be 3star

Room Tip: higher rooms seem to be a lot more bigger and less noise would suggest floors 8 and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labber1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear "Labber 1942";

Let me begin by asking you to accept my sincere apologies and regret for any inconvenience that you may have been encountered that did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We would like to comment on some points that you have mentioned.
• We sincerely regret that sometimes in the high season, at peak times, when there are numerous guests in the hotel it is difficult to serve everyone at once, so unfortunately you had to wait for a short period of time. Understandably, nobody likes waiting and if this caused you some inconvenience please accept our sincere apologies. Anyway I want to say that our restaurant has more than sufficient capacity for our guests so I can guarantee that when they go to the restaurant tables are available, if you wanted to sit at a table that had not yet been cleared probably because some guests had just left the table, it is normal to have to wait for the table to be cleared, this is not due lack of staff.
• We respect you subjective opinions concerning the food but would like to inform you that in our establishment we have a cycle consisting of 14 different rotary gastronomic menus so that the menus are not repeated for at least 14 days. The aim of this rotation is based on, and covers, both objective tastes and the nutritional needs of our guests. We also offer our guests dietary options to meet their needs in the case of diabetic, celiac, lactic allergy, vegan and vegetarian. Due to this you will find each day: one different type of rice, two varieties of pasta with different sauces, one buffet of salads and crudités, 3 mixed salads, assorted pizzas, assorted children’s options, two different grilled fish options and one with sauce, two kinds of grilled meat options and one with sauce, 3 types of vegetables a day and an extensive buffet of desserts and fresh fruit.
• In relation to your comment about the inadequate temperature of the food:
Our buffets are regulated and registered by internal control systems in order to avoid just this kind of error. During your stay, our stored records do not demonstrate any significant alterations so your comment concerning the food temperature is not feasible. Still I wish to remind you that our staff would have gladly taken note of you complaint and relayed it.
• Since the opening of the hotel, the following venues have been open; the hotel restaurant, the Sapphire Cafe, the Pool Bar and the Casino Restaurant. We also have two weekly musical performances in the evening in the garden terrace, 3 Flamenco shows per week in our Fortuna Theater (in this case with additional charge) and our program of daytime activities for adults and children. I regret that this was not sufficient.
Thanking you send us their comments, Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel has a stunning location with beautiful views of the sea and coastline, almost all rooms have a sea view. The hotel facilities are good ( bar, pools, casino, restaurant) it lacks sufficient staff so at times you can find the wait a little too long...

The hotel is very clean, and was clearly top of its class some years ago. The rooms are good sizes and general through out the hotel needs some upgrading.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Mr. "Stephen K".

Thank you very much for taking time to express your comments concerning our hotel. We can assure you that we have taken note of them. We hope to see you here with us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel, we went with a travelzoo offer the hotel was very busy when we arrived due to a poker tournament at the hotel, our arrival was sorted out by Dolores who was slow but efficient we were on a half board basis this time B & B last time our room was fine comfy with all we needed, breakfast was excellent I agree the hotel does need more staff but all the staff we dealt with we're friendly and helpful, we didn't wait long for drinks or for anything for that matter. The evening meals were a different story however some nights were better than others but it was not anything to get excited about we went out to eat a few nights. The grounds are well maintained the hotel is clean, the flamenco show which was part of our deal was excellent!! The casino is definitely worth a visit, you can get a bus just outside the hotel along to the marina we like this hotel and would go back I think the new owners are trying to improve things but they do need to work on the evening meals.

Room Tip: High floor away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jet2ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just back from a great sunny restful week but this hotel needs more staff and at least something going on in the evening that you don't have to pay extra for. However the 25euros for flamenco was worth it. Got told off by an over worked and stressed out waiter for sitting at an outside table while it was the floor was being cleaned at 9am but all the inside tables were full of used plates. Waited till 9.30 the next day so we could sit outside an admire the lovely view, though breakfast is supposed to be from 7.30 till 10.30. Very poor! Food was just ok! Rooms were nice but hot and noisy from the road and generators either side of the hotel. Beware of bus stop thieves/ pickpockets working this area!! Positives are the location, weather and the reception staff who were very nice.

Room Tip: Not sure where as most rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear "Valerie L",
First of all, thank you for taking the time to send us your opinion about your stay with us.
With reference regarding your comments:
• I can assure you that staff ratios that we use to ensure quality service for our guests reaches the required ratio. The professionalism of our team is beyond doubt, as surely you can check through the comments made by other clients in this and other opinion forums.
• We have taken note of your comments regarding animation, but allow me to me clarify that on Wednesday and Saturday evening, we had live music live in the garden which did not involve any cost. We also have a piano bar and pool bar both open until 01.00 throughout the season.
• The floor being cleaned at 9am: the terrace is cleaned early in the morning, the cleaning process stars at 7am to be ready for our early guests. When cleaning was process at 9am it was more than likely due to the fact that a guest may have accidentally spilled something.
• As you could see, in the entrance to the dining there is a person who performs access control and who guides the guests to where they can sit. We have enough tables to serve all our guests, so we do not understand your comment referring that there were no free tables, obviously, the terrace is mostly in high demanded and is filled first, but I can guarantee that the 8.30 in the morning there are tables available, maybe at 0930 (peak breakfast time) the terrace is full, but the inside of the restaurant is just as nice.
• In relation to your comments concerning the food: it is not customary for us to comment on subjective opinions but of course we respect your comments. What I can say is that I can guarantee that the products we use in the preparation of our menus are of very high quality and regularly undergo strict internal controls.
• The Hotel generators are located in the basement on the -2 floor and are only connected when there is a power cut in the overall network, this has not been the case all year, so I do not know what you are referring to. I can guarantee that with our double glazing balconies there is absolute silence in all our rooms.
We greatly appreciate the confidence placed in THB Hotels when you chose to spend your holidays here with us and I hope you will give us another opportunity to prove that we work hard each day to improve and to make your stay and the other guests as well will be an experience worth repeating.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,269 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
1.1 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.6 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,099 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Torrequebrada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Torrequebrada Hotel

Property: THB Torrequebrada Hotel
Address: Avenida Sol s/n, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#13 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Torrequebrada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your best bet for Leisure and Business Ideally located on the beach-front of Benalmadena Costa, and with a sophisticated atmosphere, Hotel Torrequebrada is your best bet for both Leisure and Business. It offers a wide gastronomical variety of delicious food, peace and tranquility in its extensive gardens, Shows in the Sala Fortuna, fun and entertainment in the Casino, spacious, fully equipped conference rooms, activities and entertainment during the summer months and Wellness area for relaxation. All of this together with a relaxed atmosphere on the shore of the Mediterranean Sea and only 30 minutes from Marbella and Malaga, right in the heart of the Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your THB Torrequebrada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrequebrada Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Torrequebrada
THB Torrequebrada Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing