We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“studios not for me.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartamentos La Fonda
Ranked #3 of 8 Benalmadena B&B and Inns
sunderland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“studios not for me.”
Reviewed November 2, 2009

we booked 2 rooms to stay in the hotel la fonda over 5 months ago.4weeks before departure i was notified that the hotel was closed for renovations.the bookings were made by 2 seperate companys.one notified me of the closure of the hotel and offered 50 pound compensation and alternative accomodation in the fonda studios which my friends accepted.i contacted the company whom i had booked with to see if my accomodation had changed,i was informed that they had no word to say tht the hotel was closed.and my booking still stood.after e long confrontation with them they finaly admitted the hotel was closed.i found out myself through contacting the hotel direct that it had been closed for a year but the travel company were still taking bookings.we arrived at the studios and on entering thre was aterrible foisty smell from inside.on looking for the beds i noticed wat ithought was 2 wardrobes but on inspection were pull down single beds.on using the shower to freshen up the shower curtain did not reach the tray therefor the water was running all over the bathroom floor then making its way out into the passage and into the bedroom.there was no mop or any thing to get rid of the water we had to clear it up with the towels from the bath room.we went to reception desk to complain and the girl on the desk even said they were not very nice.we asked to be moved to somewhere with a double bed we eventually got 2 appartments but cost us an extra10 euros a day per couple.also the noise from roadworks was unbelievable on the mornings.the appartments were first class could not fault them. i have complained to travel company they said they are looking into it.we did not recieve the 50 pound compensation that my friends recieved.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikos_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    50
    26
    15
    10
See reviews for
12
61
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed here for a weekend in Sept 2009 and on a repeat visit to the village in Oct 2009 we noticed the hotel was closed for rennovation and thought it was worth noting that here.

The hotel is in a nice village in the hills above the coast. The village has some lovely old streets with tourists and expats eating and drinking in restaurants and bars and also more modern parts where real life goes on.

The hotel is on an old street on the edge of the village next to the church with sweeping views to the coast. It is on several levels with both hotel rooms and apartments. Some of the hotel rooms are around a small courtyard swimming pool.

When we stayed it was tired and needed rennovation. If this is done well then it will be a good place to stay in one of the best locations in the village.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ps888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2008

We stayed in an apartment rather than the hotel. The apartment was clean and adequately furnished with a separate bedroom opening on the the living room and kitchen. It had a balcony which overlooked the Spanish street. It was lovely to sit on the balcony and watch the locals go about their business.

The town was typically Spanish and very relaxing. We drove to the Costa a couple of times which seemed very touristy by comparison.

There were some small supermarkets within walking distance and a bigger Mercadona which was easier to reach by car.

Finding the apartments when we first arrived was the biggest problem as the some of the roads are one way. Although the hotel was signposted the signposts seemed to stop well before the hotel or apartments were in sight. We had to park in a road and walk to find the hotel on our first day to check in. Also parking was a bit of a problem generally as there is no parking near the hotel or apartments.

  • Liked — The Setting
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Southwestuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlethen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2008

The hotel is broken into hotel rooms / apments and studio flats. we were in a studio flat which i expected a pull out sofa - instead it was two pull down beds.

it is situated up in the mountains in the old village and it is lovely - white wash buildings and everyone knows everyone. there is about a dozen bars and restaurants all within walking distance and the irish bar had very friendly people.

we only had noise 2night but they were complained about and it was sorted...no problem after that.

the cleaners came in 3 time in one week. the cooking facilities were bare minimum but on holiday so was not looking to cook. cup a coffee in the morning to get going is enough.

a lovely walk from the hotel to the marina / beach - approx 3 miles. all downhill i would say. bus back is only 1.20 euros and they are always regular. the restaurants at the marina are lovely. try WOK it is the chinese buffet that cook the food that you pick, so everything is fresh - seafood galore.

i would have no hesitation in going back - but next time i would book an one bedroom apartment.

  • Liked — lovely quaint village
  • Disliked — the pull down single beds
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline_Hickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2008

We booked this accomodation because it was the only two bedroomed apartment with a lounge in Benalmadena Pueblo that I could find. I should also say from the start that we paid £85.00 between 4 of us for 3 nights and we did have a very happy time there. This apartment is booked through the Hotel La Fonda, but is a few yards down the road from the actual hotel. The location is great, close and easily walkable to many great bars and restaurants and we really enjoyed this lovely friendly Spanish village which was exactly what we wanted. We booked a transfer from the airport through Holiday Taxis and they knew exactly where it was (would definitely recommend them again, superb). Booking in was ok, the room was ready by 12.00, the apartment itself was large with two decent sized bedrooms and lots of storage space, it was supposed to be two twins but was actually one twin and one double room though I would say the bed was a queen size. It was clean enough on the surfaces used, not particularly in the corners and if you walked around with barefeet or socks, they were soon very dirty. The utensils in the kitchen were not all clean and pans in particular would have needed washing if you wanted to use them, we had no intention of cooking however, so this wasn't an issue. We had no kettle on arrival but once we asked we soon had one. There was a nice big clean fridge, though the ice box needed defrosting and had bits of previous food items in it, but again we did not use that part. There was a microwave and coffee maker and a washing machine. The work surfaces and sink were clean and the bin was empty, though there was quite a smell from under the sink but only when you opened the cupboard door! The beds were comfortable and were clean. The bathroom was clean in all areas frequently used, again, not in the corners and the shower was really good and hot. There was a tv but we didn't watch it, so I can't say what channels it had, there was a balcony but it was tiny, it could fit 4 chairs on it just, you wouldn't be able to sunbathe on it however.
Would I stay here again, probably not but if I only had this much money to spend and I couldn't find another two bedroomed apartment in this location, maybe I would. I certainly wouldn't pay much more for it however. If you are only looking for a base on a budget maybe you should consider it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Only clean in often used places
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Coxei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Perthshire,Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2008

Just don't go to these apartments!
After been giving the keys to 5 apartments at La Fonda - we still never found one that had basic cleanliness. In all, the last guest's food spills were visibly- crumbs and grease on cookers, mould on walls and in one apartment someone had wiped make-up down the walls! And the black pubic hairs on the white sheets were the final straw
Our group really wanted to stay in the La fonda apartments ....if only they were clean! ...It is a fantastic area. The man on reception was not interested and really did not care! After 3 hrs and 5 apartments later we got a taxi down to Flatotel which is the same star rating but a million times better.
P.S Don't book through "Xscape with us" customer service terrible!

  • Liked — getting a taxi and going to stay at Flatotels!
  • Disliked — Pubic hairs on beds!...and the person on reception telling us that they come back from the laundry like that!!!!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AvaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2008

Have just returned from La Fonda. Stayed in self catering studio which was clean and adequate. Had microwave, toaster, coffee maker and satelite TV but unfortunately no English channels. Took a while to actually find Hotel which is hidden down small winding streets and no parking. Eventually found apartment and parking, area very quiet and quite a way from Benalmedena Costa. A good place as a base to see all the resorts of the Costa del Sol area provided you have a car. I would imagine abit awkward on public transport. All in all not a bad place to stay, the beautiful weather made it all the better, pure sunshine not a cloud to be seen.

  • Liked — comfortable room
  • Disliked — too far from town
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyPMancheser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Fonda
Hotel La Fonda
#14 of 45 in Benalmadena
344 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Rosa
Hotel Casa Rosa
#18 of 45 in Benalmadena
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,807 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
2.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos La Fonda

Property: Apartamentos La Fonda
Address: Avenida del Hermano Francisco, 1 | Benalmadena Pueblo, Malaga, Espana, 29639, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos La Fonda 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official category: 2 keys Reception:9:00 - 22:00 hours in Hermano Francisco 1. The apartments are situated in different streets of Benalmadena-Pueblo and they are distributed in 3 small buildings between 50 and 140 meters away from the reception. There are 8 studios, 8 apartments with 1 bedroom and 3 apartments with 2 bedrooms. All of them have satellite T.V., Individual air conditioning, heating, hairdryer. The kitchens are equipped with 2 electrical rings, Oven or Microwave, coffee maker, toaster, cooking utilities, cutlery, dinner service and household items. There is no washing machine or dishwasher. The apartments have Balcony or Terrace. The Studios have windows. INTERNET WI-FI FREE IN ALL APARTMENTS CLEANING SERVICE: -Summer: 3 times per week. -Winter: 2 times per week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Apartamentos La Fonda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos La Fonda Hotel Benalmadena
Apartamentos La Fonda Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing