We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great village, acommodation ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartamentos La Fonda
Ranked #3 of 8 Benalmadena B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We took up a late deal bargain for £150 each, flights and accomodation included. So we wee realistic and didn't expect much and we weren't disappointed. A studio apartment with 2 drop down single beds, functionable bathroom/shower and a nice little kitchen area. TV microwave toaster fridge 2 rings etc,etc. There is an extremely small balcony but there is plenty of storage space, and the location is good.
Though the accomodation was average the village of Belamedina Peublo is lush. It is about 3 miles from the coast but the bus service is cheap and regular if you want the costa experience.Taxi about 10 euros to costa 6-7.5 euros to the station. The bus goes to the station and is 1.4 euros.
Back to the peublo lots of white washed streets and alleys, the main drag has several bars with excellent service and tapas that we found were cheap as chips and spot on quality. The supermarket is ok but the staff are a bit grumpy. There are 2 b akeries in the village (beware the doughnuts to nice to not buy) and several restaurants of varying standards.
Using this place as abase it is spot on, the public transport is good value so we went to Malaga Mejas and Cordoba(go here if you possibly can) all at half the price of Blighty. Eat tapas drink canas and brandy try not speaking english absorb the Spanish way of grazing and chatting and chill.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank vickerstheheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 130 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2011

Just returned from La fonda, The apartment was very clean,when we required a new kettle,nothing was too much trouble,staff friendly,but the location I am afraid leaves a lot to be desired,last bus back to belamedena left at 7 o,clock, not a lot going on from then on, a few bars and restaurants, No beach,and when we asked at La fonda hotel if we could use their pool we were refused so no sunbathing for us, wont be going back.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
7  Thank scattsClactonOnSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

theres not a problem at all for getting to and from places from the la fonda apartments theres regular buses all day long to benalmedina we had a fantastic week and we will definetly be going back this year

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank aalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Me and my boyfriend stayed here in June and although we were pleased with the accomodation itself we were very bored after 3 days, we were miles away from the main town and beach and had to get buses or taxis.
The apartments are set in a local square which is lovely in itself and very quiet which is what we wanted but because the hotel which has the swimming pool in was closed we had no days where we could lie and sunbathe.
We felt conned by Jet2 for not warning us about this.
If the hotel had of been open then we probably would of had a satisfactory time.

The only warning i would give if you are thinking of booking here is to ring the hotel and check there services will be open on the dates you are going.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sassyblue3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

went with husband and 18 year old grandson, plenty of space, even with a pull down single divan bed in the lounge. took my grandson an the last minute and it was no problem to the management, didn't even charge extra.
only down point on first arrive, I had to buy bleach and clean the fridge, this seemed really strange because the rest of the apartment was spotless.
comforabe beds, even the pull down.
didn't realise there was no oven, which i like whenwe are self cateing, shop just around the corner, good restaurants and bars, the boys really happy to be able to watch the manchester derby in the Irish bar. a2 min walk away.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimmyd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

we booked 2 rooms to stay in the hotel la fonda over 5 months ago.4weeks before departure i was notified that the hotel was closed for renovations.the bookings were made by 2 seperate companys.one notified me of the closure of the hotel and offered 50 pound compensation and alternative accomodation in the fonda studios which my friends accepted.i contacted the company whom i had booked with to see if my accomodation had changed,i was informed that they had no word to say tht the hotel was closed.and my booking still stood.after e long confrontation with them they finaly admitted the hotel was closed.i found out myself through contacting the hotel direct that it had been closed for a year but the travel company were still taking bookings.we arrived at the studios and on entering thre was aterrible foisty smell from inside.on looking for the beds i noticed wat ithought was 2 wardrobes but on inspection were pull down single beds.on using the shower to freshen up the shower curtain did not reach the tray therefor the water was running all over the bathroom floor then making its way out into the passage and into the bedroom.there was no mop or any thing to get rid of the water we had to clear it up with the towels from the bath room.we went to reception desk to complain and the girl on the desk even said they were not very nice.we asked to be moved to somewhere with a double bed we eventually got 2 appartments but cost us an extra10 euros a day per couple.also the noise from roadworks was unbelievable on the mornings.the appartments were first class could not fault them. i have complained to travel company they said they are looking into it.we did not recieve the 50 pound compensation that my friends recieved.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikos_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed here for a weekend in Sept 2009 and on a repeat visit to the village in Oct 2009 we noticed the hotel was closed for rennovation and thought it was worth noting that here.

The hotel is in a nice village in the hills above the coast. The village has some lovely old streets with tourists and expats eating and drinking in restaurants and bars and also more modern parts where real life goes on.

The hotel is on an old street on the edge of the village next to the church with sweeping views to the coast. It is on several levels with both hotel rooms and apartments. Some of the hotel rooms are around a small courtyard swimming pool.

When we stayed it was tired and needed rennovation. If this is done well then it will be a good place to stay in one of the best locations in the village.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ps888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Fonda
Hotel La Fonda
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
368 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,960 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vista de Rey
Vista de Rey
#39 of 45 in Benalmadena
443 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
2.8 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos La Fonda

Address: Avenida del Hermano Francisco, 1 | Benalmadena Pueblo, Malaga, Espana, 29639, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Benalmadena
Price Range: $31 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos La Fonda 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official category: 2 keys Reception:9:00 - 22:00 hours in Hermano Francisco 1. The apartments are situated in different streets of Benalmadena-Pueblo and they are distributed in 3 small buildings between 50 and 140 meters away from the reception. There are 8 studios, 8 apartments with 1 bedroom and 3 apartments with 2 bedrooms. All of them have satellite T.V., Individual air conditioning, heating, hairdryer. The kitchens are equipped with 2 electrical rings, Oven or Microwave, coffee maker, toaster, cooking utilities, cutlery, dinner service and household items. There is no washing machine or dishwasher. The apartments have Balcony or Terrace. The Studios have windows. INTERNET WI-FI FREE IN ALL APARTMENTS CLEANING SERVICE: -Summer: 3 times per week. -Winter: 2 times per week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartamentos La Fonda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos La Fonda Hotel Benalmadena
Apartamentos La Fonda Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing