We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed July 1, 2012

me and hubby got back yesterday from a fab week at this hotel.Rooms spotless,maid service excellent, food great, the only downside for me hubby wasnt bothered, is the sunbeds need replacing, very shabby and they dont move to any other position other than flat.Yes there are a lot of spanish people at this hotel but there was a lot of english too.Location wise was good it sits behind Macdonalds, with plenty of bars and restaurants, a 2 minute walk to the beach. Cant comment on the entertainment as we went out every night.We have been coming to Benelmadena for 11 years now and we always go to Mr Pickwicks which is a family friendly bar that does quizes, bingo and games.Its downhill from the Bali Hotel but it is a 15 minute walk foom the balmoral.Just want to say hi to Margaret and John Pickard fom Killingworth in newcastle really enjoyed your company All in all a really good holiday would definatley go back to the Balmoral

Room Tip: try and get a high floor views of the sea are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BettySunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 678 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

My friend and I stayed in Hotel Balmoral in June. There was a mix up with our booking when we arrived, but Teresa was absolutely fantastic in getting us sorted. The rooms are excellently laid out. We stayed in a nearby 4 star hotel last year where the rooms were of a lower standard! Lovely balcony with sea views overlooking the beautiful pool (filled with sea water!) also. All rooms have AC and there is a safe in the room which you rent. There are only two small lifts in the hotel, so you may have to wait for lift service, but that's just a small thing. It has excellent access to the beach, restaurants, shops and bars. We had half board in the hotel. The food is fine and you won't be hungry. We opted to eat out on two occasions for a change. Overall, a great hotel, spotlessly clean, beautiful pool area. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the highest floors are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed here with our two daughters, aged 16 and 24 in early June. Was pleased with the hotel on arriving and very pleased with the room which, although not massive, had everything you needed but a fridge (the ONLY downside). Big wardrobe and mirrors. Beds hard but slept ok on them .We asked for extra pillows and slept very comfortably. Lovely view from balcony on 4th floor, of the sea, the pool AND the mountains.The tv was ok. just SKY NEWS in English but good for us to watch the jubilee celebrations back home. Air conditioning was ok. Don't forget to ask at reception for the remote control for the air-con - 20 euros deposit. The room safe was 10 euros deposit and 2 euros a day. The hotel was spotless. Maids cleaned room and changed towels every day and never bothered us once. Just came in when we were out. The Hotel, as reports say, is full of spanish pensioners and what a racket at meal times. We found this to be quite endearing and apart from the odd few, they were polite, friendly and certainly enjoying themselves. We must say we preferred this to stag and hen parties which seemed to flood into the resort at the weekend. The food was lovely. Not a great deal of choice but always something for everyone and our girls liked it, and they're really particular. Being young they never got up for breakfast and we were really impressed that the staff let them have a lunch instead, as well as their evening meal.! Certainly a cheap holiday for us.The pool was lovely and the pool bar opened halfway through our holiday.,There are two lifts that are small but adequate . The only thing I know about the entertainment was that the girls went up to the entertainment room expecting a disco and came back down with shouts of L.O.L as there were Spanish pensioners ballroom dancing. There was a free parrot show, which was good. Plenty of sunbeds, lovely garden area to lay in, plenty of hot water for showers The resort was quiet to start with but got busier at weekend. The hotel is right next to McDonalds and directly opposite the lovely beach. Lots of bars and restaurants on the way along the promenade to the beautiful marina. Bit of a walk and lots of street traders and touters but such a lovely walk, Very safe relaxed atmosphere. SO if you prefer the incomprehendible rabble of Spanish o.a.p's to the hen and stag parties and a bit more noise in a morning than the early hours this hotel will be perfect for you. It was for us. Absolutely loved it and would go back anytime.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KarenBianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Have to get tv & ac remotes from reception after paying deposit.This was not told when checking in.keep receipt to get deposit back. Main road just round corner, bus stop for Marina or Malaga just across street.taxi rank very close to hotel.All in all ok but better hotels to be had

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Willmack63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This hotel gives very good value for money. Room rates are low and includes a very adequate buffet breakfast. Reception staff efficient and helpful. Rooms adequate in size and cleaned well. Very good location. Free wifi in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank happytripper007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Having only booked our rooms only half an hour before arriving at the hotel, it was was fair enough our booking hadn't yet appeared on their system. However, this didn't stop the Hotel Balmoral staff going above and beyond to honour our reservation. The rooms were immaculate, the food was nice and the atmosphere was relaxed.

Room Tip: Choose the pool side for the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boson15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

just returned from the Balmoral for a second time for a 3 night stay with friends. Once again we had a good experience. check in was fast and breakfast was good, rooms are a good size for 2 poeple. still resembles a nuring home with huge gatherings of spanish elderly at meal times in the lobby but this is quite nice and would never put me off. they must be slighty deaf most of them as they talk very loud all the time and at bedtime they have their tv's blazing you can hear every word haha.
i love the location of this hotel and would suggest it to anyone looking for nice clean accomodation on a budget. i think its worth more than 2 stars as its nicer than some of the 3 stars ive stayed at in the area. it sits right behind mcdonalds (so plenty of free wifi just across the road), and plenty of bars and gift shops. lovely sea views from seecond floor upwards. Great little hotel in a great location !!!

Room Tip: pool facing rooms get the best of the sunshine most of the day, but both sides offer great sea views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank carrola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.6 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,052 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#12 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,042 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Rosa
Hotel Casa Rosa
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Fermin
Hotel San Fermin
#27 of 45 in Benalmadena
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral

Address: Calle Albatros 1, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range: $60 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral 2*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral is located in Benalmadena on the Costa del Sol, just 50 metres from the beach and a short distance away from the Port of Benalmadena , which is a fantastic complex of bars, shops and restaurants surrounding the marina . Nearby is also the Paloma Park which is a wonderful green large park ideal for strolling through or relaxing in the lovely climate of the Costa del Sol. The hotel is ideal for both families , friends and couples, and has 210 rooms distributed over 7 floors , with the vast majority of the rooms having excellent views of the Mediterranean sea. The Hotel Balmoral has two swimming pools, one for children and the other for adults. The attractive swimming pool area has sun beds for guests along with tables with umbrellas for relaxing by the pool and enjoying the bar service available. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas of the hotel. The hotel's restaurant offers buffet style dining with a wide range of regional, Spanish and international dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing