We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit the Buddha bar- but remember it's mine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Buddha Bar

Buddha Bar
Ranked #19 of 73 Nightlife in Benalmadena
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visit the Buddha bar- but remember it's mine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Buddha bar is a gem of a place, made so by the knowledge, humour and warmth of it's host Jan. I've been several times and it's the part of the holiday I look forward to most, as much as I want to tell everyone about it I also want to keep it to myself. Full of quirky decorations, spotlessly clean and a playlist of music to die for, and if you're an Elvis fan...welcome home. Can't wait for my next visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best bar in balamadena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

just returned and have to say this is the best bar we went to and we went to a few. Bar is located next to the barclays bank on the main strip and then just down the stairs. You must go and I am sure you will agree

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ray c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Nice Little Bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

A nice little bar a bit hard to find but worth a look. Jan the barman was welcoming and friendly but not too much in your face like some, we talked on a few different topics not once did he talk about his bar or try to push his wares unless he was asked. Jan is an excellent host who speaks English, Dutch, and Spanish all very well. The bar has a really nice ambience, the music was good and it was at a good level neither too loud nor too low. The lighting was good too not those cheap bulbs that are always either too dull or too bright. Seating is nice and comfortable. The internal decor and theme is on Buddah and it is really well done, one of the first things you notice when you walk into the bar is the Buddah theme, and you realise it has taken a lot of hard work and money to create it. This is a very clean bar, in all areas it is spotless, it is plain to see that everything is cleaned regularly I couldn't find dust or dirt anywhere I looked. On the down side the bar is small and not good value for money as it is too expensive for the area it is in. I will give this bar 3 stars but would have given 4 if it had lower prices. This bar is unique in style and well worth a visit to try it out and see something different.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidBenKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well worth finding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

What a lovely bar! We love going here. Jan manages to make it look easy, he welcomes everyone as if he is welcoming you into his own home. So clean and unique, although you may struggle to find it when you do you won't be disappointed. We almost don't want to tell you about this little gem of a place.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tisha_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best bar in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We have been to Benalmadena twice in the last 6 months and have to say that this is our FAVOURITE bar. Jan is the friendliest bartender and pours a mean drink!! The atmosphere is warm and welcoming with Buddahs and Elvis items throughout the bar. We've always had a great time talking with other customers, everyone talking bits of Dutch, Russian, Spanish and English, but all having a great time together.

The bar is alittle out of the way, but well worth the effort to find it and frequent it often!!

Kay and Ian

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddha Bar also viewed

Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Buddha Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing