We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for kids, shame about the staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butterfly Park of Benalmadena

Butterfly Park of Benalmadena
Ranked #5 of 61 things to do in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: We are located in the heart of the Costa del Sol and only 20 minutes from Malaga. In this spectacular Thai temple, you can walk amongst more than 1,500 exotic butterflies from around the world, flying freely in a tropical paradise between waterfalls and flowers. You will be able to observe how they are born, how they reproduce and enjoy learning many things about these wonderful insects.
Cape Kidnappers, New Zealand
Level Contributor
151 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good for kids, shame about the staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to take our granddaughter to the park as its only a km from our house in Spain. The website said there was a special offer for January, so we went with our daughter and her husband and our granddaughter. The reception staff tried to say that we'd misunderstood the website and that there was no special offer. They didn't allow us to look at the website and we didn't have Internet access. They were unfriendly and unhelpful. Our granddaughter was looking forward to the visit so we went ahead. It was quite good and she enjoyed it a lot. But as usual the staff had the typical "I couldn't care less" attitude so typical in the south of Spain

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lonestarbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    387
    114
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“What a delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Like some previous reviewers, I wasn't expecting too much here but as soon as we entered my jaw dropped at the sight of so many beautiful butterflies. Their colours are simply amazing. Though less striking there are some interesting moths also on view. The butterflies are accompanied by some equally brightly coloured finches, and a few iguanas can also be found lazing around. The only reason I didn't rate this attraction with 5* was the presence of a (apparently) lone wallaby who was hiding in the bushes and looked distinctly unhappy. Perhaps he/she could be found a more appropriate and congenial home. Otherwise very highly recommended for both children and for adults with a modicum or more of interest in wildlife.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

This place has many many butterflies, different colours and types. It is quite small though so maybe not worth the 10€ entrance fee! but still we really enjoyed it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JessicaHadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijas, España
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A marvelous place! Excellent for children...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is one of the few attractions I have returned to, as often as possible. I've been there four times in the last two years. It is like visiting a fairyland with all the butterflies wandering freely around you. Flitting and fluttering through the plants. The photo possibilites are innumerable, and the results can be magnificent. If you take children, the look of awe on their faces in itself makes the visit worthwhile. Watching my grandchildrens reaction to the butterflies was fantastic. They especially enjoyed the "nursery" where several butterflies were coming out of their cocoons right in front of our eyes. Thoroughly a pleasure to watch.
The micro-climate that has been created can be a bit overpowering if you stay too long, as it is humid and very warm, like tropical jungles (I usually stay no more than an hour). But it is definitely worth going back to again and again...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AbuelaNany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantsala, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than expected...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Expectations weren't very high, but after stepping in feelings changed. Nice moist and warm place, marvelous plants and SURPRISE! butterflies everywhere :)
Lots of photographing for a camera-freak.
You can't walk too fast, there were butterflies hanging everywhere, so just stand still and look around closely :)

excellent was also to see how a butterfly comes out of its cocoon, or what it is?? nICE!
Iguanas were also mean looking dudes :) , and a kangaroo??

damn some of those butterflies were BIG! and moths...

So if you got a good camera you can't miss this!! a must!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AkiVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly Park of Benalmadena also viewed

Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Butterfly Park of Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing