We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of luxury....”
Review of Hotel La Fonda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Fonda
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed here on our last night after spending a week travelling around Andalusia. We wanted somewhere close to the airport that had facilities available for us to enjoy on our last day as our flight home was at 10pm. This was an excellent choice. It was quite difficult to find as our sat nav did not recognise the address. However once we entered the village we followed the signs for the hotel which led us to a large secure car park belonging to the hotel (which was free). The hotel is set within a lovely quaint village with plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. It is not an area we would chose to stay in more than a day but we found it perfect for our needs. The pool is lovely and there is a large sun terrace with lots of space to sunbathe. The hotel staff were very helpful and allowed us to continue using the pool for the duration of our last day until our late flight home which was much appreciated. Breakfast was large and plentiful and choice for everyone. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyMcAra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Fonda
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 358 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here for a few days after traveling around Andalusia. The hotel is in a very picturesque location with easy access to some lovely little restaurants. I would say our room was a bit basic for the price. Very good choice at the breakfast buffet. I think this hotel would be a great choice for a short stay. You would need a car to explore the area further.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mel205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed for a week in La Fonda and loved every minute of it. It is a truly beautiful hotel in a picturesque small town well away from the high- rise horror of Benalmadena Costa. The hotel couldn't be situated more conveniently for restaurants and bars; I would recommend La Fuente, El Muro, La Nina and La Pala d'Oro as being exceptionally good in terms of quality and value [the hotel restaurant also serves food of a high order]. All are within a stone's throw of La Fonda.We can not fault the 5 star service we received from all the hotel staff- and I wish to thank them in this review for making my wife's birthday so memorable. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in108 which was spacious and comfortable but we had to keep the curtains closed permanentl...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dermod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for three nights and thought it was wonderful. The room was lovely and they serviced it promptly every morning. The pool was really cold but it the sun was hot...and we're British, so it was fine with us! The upper sun terrace has fantastic views over the coast and the sun beds are comfy and freely available. The square near the hotel is a great place to eat and watch the musicians under the orange trees - there is also a good restaurant just along from the hotel that has a terrace overlooking the sea. We walked to the castle, butterfly farm and temple, which are all worth a visit. Overall the hotel is a chic, moorish hideaway in the hills. I wouldn't take young children or go there if I wanted lively night life. We didn't try the restaurant as it was too quiet looking for us with only a couple of people dining when we were there (ignore my rating underneath as I cannot erase it).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

I booked La Fonda via booking.com for a short honeymoon after our wedding in Alora, Spain. The hotel were fantastic. They let me take my car down the day before and use the car park and also drop off a bag in advance for my room. They also arranged for champagne to be in the room with rose petals etc.

We did not arrive until after 11.30pm and they provided us with food. The pool is fantastic. Anyone complaining about it being too small is missing the point. This property was originally a house and the pool is perfect for the small number of rooms in the hotel.

The tapas bars around the hotel are superb. We would definitely stay again!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Loved the hotel & the location (Pueblo, not Costa), but beware if booking through an agent, not direct with hotel. At least one agent (olotels.com) use photos & descriptions of the hotel but book you into La Fonda Apartments ( a separate company). Luckily, 3 days before travelling I discovered this by contacting the hotel for some information, only to be told that they had no reservation for our party of 4. The hotel sorted it out, managed to squeeze us in and couldn't have been more helpful. BEWARE of agents, & book this hotel; a wonderful experience in a lovely village.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 258frankr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

A lovely unique hotel in a stunning location. The secret door reveals an amazing homely yet beautiful terrace which leads into the central focal point of the pool. A well kept secret gem of a hotel!!
Breakfast is a treat with home cooked breads , cakes and pastries , homemade jams and preserves. Hot breakfasts are cooked to order , all overlooking spectacular ocean views . Amazing village location with the livelier marina a 10 minute drive away. Will be coming back again without a doubt !!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jokeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
2.7 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
2.1 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#14 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,921 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
2.8 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda

Address: Calle Santo Domingo 7, 29639, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: $109 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Fonda 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fonda Hotel is situated in front of Mediterranean and in the most charming village of the cost of Málaga, Benalmádena Pueblo. Designed by famous artist Cesar Manrique canary, with which we can experience the sensation of being in an oasis La Fonda Hotel is your starting point to discover this charming Andalusian village, the mountains, sea and all the peoples of the coast. After a full restoration and decoration with the most advanced techniques, your new property has got a magical hotel. The use of wood, the harmony of spaces and the soothing sound of her sources have created an atmosphere present in every detail of the hotel, this is complemented by personalized service is key to his philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Fonda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fonda Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing