We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of Calm”
Review of Hotel La Fonda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Fonda
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Oasis of Calm”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you have restless children or teenagers who bore easily, then La Fonda is not for you! This hotel exudes tranquility and restful calm - it has an almost spiritual feel about it, and certainly has a very unhurried ambience.

Set in the delightful small town of Benalmadena Pueblo with its quaint, narrow, flower-bedecked streets, La Fonda is a small but high quality hotel. It has a small car park to the rear of the hotel (not that easy to locate if you are visiting for the first time). The staff on reception and elsewhere are very pleasant and willing to be of assistance.

We were allocated a standard room with a sea view - which whilst not enormous was very tastefully and individually decorated and more than adequate as a double room. If we were staying again I'd be tempted to upgrade to a superior room for the private balcony/terrace.

The breakfast room served a superb array of fresh fruit, cereals, bacon and eggs options, breads with oils, meats, cheese etc (and a number of less recognisable alternatives to me which I'm sure satisfied the more adventurous palate).

It was lovely to stay in a hotel where the sunbed haggle didn't apply. We spent considerable sun-time on luxuriously padded beds, located on the rooftop terrace with panoramic views overlooking the Med. From there it was an easy descent either by stairs or lifts to the small but adequate pool a couple of levels below for a cool refreshing dip.

The hotel is situated on the side of a steep hill (those who find hills a problem might want to bear this in mind although the hotel has considered its disabled access very carefully. Its location is definitely boosted by its close proximity (about 10 metres) to the excellent restaurant La Fuente where we had the most beautiful and very special meal.

I would find it hard to fault this hotel - I just hope it maintains its unique charm as its popularity and fine reputation inevitably increase in the future. I would hope it won't be too long before we return.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very close to reception and public bar area so could be prone to a bit of noise at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pianoviolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    66
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
34
229
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on trent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Have just had a four night stay in the lovely Hotel La Fonda. The hotel is great, friendly helpfull staff, spotlessly clean, we had a standard room but it was lovely and we overlooked the enclosed pool area.
The hotel is situated on a lovely narrow cobbled street that leads down to the little village square where there are four small restaurants where we had great food for 10 to 20 euros per person, and house wine at 2 euros a glass!!!
The bus into town is a five minute walk, but you will quickly want to return to Pueblo.
Would definately return for a short break

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatildaStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just had a weekend at Hotel La Fonda. This is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. We had a superior room which was very comfortable, with a large bathroom and private balcony with sunbed and amazing view. The staff were all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast room is lovely, and they will cook eggs and bacon to order. They even opened the breakfast room early for us on the Monday as we had an early flight.
The pool area is good and the roof terrace is fantastic. We will be staying again.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are more expensive, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 711peejay711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Although we live nearby in Gibraltar we have stayed here several times. It is located in the old town (pueblo) of Benalmedena but the coast is accessable.
Surrounded by a great selection of places to eat, all within 5 minutes walk. I would highly reccomend this place for your very own 'secret escape'. With a new parking area to the rear of the hotel you literally will want to abandon the wheels and expolre the old town on foot.
Great place to stay!!!!!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Located in a beautiful Andalusian style building with patios, this is an excellent 4 stars hotel with big rooms nicely decorated in contemporary style with an Arab twist. All very clean, a tray of fruit was at our disposal on arrival, we felt very welcomed by the friendly staff. Breakfast is good also, although the orange juice could be better ( this is the country that produces oranges by the ton after all). Fantastic views to the coast and the sea from the breakfast room. In the same complex, there is a culinary school where it is possible to have a good lunch during week days at a reasonable price for the quality. The hotel has a small swimmingpool in one of the patios and there are plans for adding a spa. Lovely, quiet, relaxing hotel. We would certainly come back

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Viaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

What a great hotel, it really blew us away. We've stayed in many hotels around the world but this one is special. As other reviews have said, Benalmadena Pueblo is a beautiful nook in this part of the world. The hotel continues the beautiful and relaxed vibe and ensures you leave your holiday feeling relaxed and very happy you visited.

There are lots of lovely side streets and views down to the sea and nice to have a stroll after visiting any of the very good restaurants only 1-2 mins walk away from the hotel. There is also a small shop next door. And a gift shop on the square ( Plaza d'Espania) where a lot of the nice restaurants are too. Lots of live music there also. ( especially one talented man with a harp).

The hotel rooms were very comfortable and clean with a tv ( not many English channels) and breakfast was very good. There is a pool and a sun terrace and a nice area to sit if you want an evening drink.

The staff are really friendly and we have to say a big thank you to Jose who was particularly kind and helpful especially when my husband was feeling unwell. Jose made sure he provided us with advice and brought food and drink to our room which was really something.
Thanks for making our trip unforgettable.

We spent our first anniversary here and we will definitely be returning again soon.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JessChrisRem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a find, recommended by friends, a lovely quiet place, conducive with my advancing years! By far the best hotel I have stayed in - the bedroom with terrace was excellent, as was the dining room/terrace, with a beautiful choice of breakfast goodies. So peaceful, the room was very well appointed, no extra fees for the fridge, safe and a clean towel for round the pool and sun terrace, which you could have changed every day if you wished. I can honestly say that, apart from the fact that I was with some of my favourite people, it is a also a favourite place to be revisited as often as possible.

Room Tip: Rooms with terraces as the views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susielee126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
2.7 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
2.4 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pueblo - Boutique Hotel
Hotel Pueblo - Boutique Hotel
#7 of 45 in Benalmadena
201 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#16 of 45 in Benalmadena
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda

Property: Hotel La Fonda
Address: Calle Santo Domingo 7, 29639, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Fonda 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fonda Hotel is situated in front of Mediterranean and in the most charming village of the cost of Málaga, Benalmádena Pueblo. Designed by famous artist Cesar Manrique canary, with which we can experience the sensation of being in an oasis La Fonda Hotel is your starting point to discover this charming Andalusian village, the mountains, sea and all the peoples of the coast. After a full restoration and decoration with the most advanced techniques, your new property has got a magical hotel. The use of wood, the harmony of spaces and the soothing sound of her sources have created an atmosphere present in every detail of the hotel, this is complemented by personalized service is key to his philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Fonda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fonda Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing