We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday meal.”
Review of Memories of India - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Memories of India
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Villanueva del Trabuco, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Birthday meal.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our memories of, Memories of India will remain with us for some time, unfortunately they are not good ones!

We had this restaurant recommended to us by a friend, being used to a very good Indian restaurant when we lived in the UK, we had found the standard poor in general in the costal resorts. We had really been looking forward to trying this new place for my daughter and husbands birthday.

The first this that was lacking when we walked in was the very poor decor and complete lack of both atmosphere and customers. We were the only people in the restaurant, not a good sign.

We were served by a very nice Chinese lady who after taking our order, proceeded to eat her own meal at a table of Chinese food with chop sticks, we wondered at this point if we were in a Chinese restaurant or Indian.

Just before our food arrived, various dishes were place in a large microwave and after several 'pings' our food was served to us. It is the first time I have had my curry served in a soup bowl! Our plates had the name of another restaurant on the edge, making us wonder why.

The food - The Nan bread was very thin but nice, the rice was also acceptable. My daughters had Chicken Tikka Masarla and Chicken Korma, the Masarla was ok and the Korma was good. I had Tandoori lamb Madras which was the strangest colour I had ever seen, the lamb was small cubes of meat which was extremely chewy. My husband had Chichen Vindaloo which was not hot and spicey and also there was very little chicken.

I had asked the waitress if they served complimentary Popaddoms - No.

This was one of the most expensive Indian meals that we have had for some time and was definitely not worth the cost. Mostly though we were disappointed at the very poor quality of the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbieno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    9
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lunch at Memories of India”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were at the Club La Costa Resort last week - 3/11/12 - 10/11/12.
As we are vegetarians we were given a different menu by a very courteous and pleasant waiter. The food was average and we thought prices were very steep as we wanted chappatis and paid 2.50 Euros for 1 chappati. 2 chappatis at 5Euros is blackmail as chappatis are made from atta and water. When the chappatis arrived they were plain and did not have any butter or ghee spread on them. We also ordered an aubergine dish which cost 9 Euros. On the whole we were just pleased to find an Indian restaurant to eat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Athis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
475 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Consistently good food which is why we return year after year.

Nice poppadums & dips including a delicious mango chutney.

Great spicy mains including Madras, Vindaloo & lovely cheesy Naan bread

We have tried a few Indian restaurants in Benalmadena but this is definitely our favourite

Good value for money

Nice friendly helpful staff

Recommended

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tigertribal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
475 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“A Taste of …….”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We have been regular customers here for a number of years & have never went away disappointed.

Choose from a comprehensive menu or they will adapt dishes to suit individual tastes with a minimum of fuss. Ample portions so you will not go away hungry.

The tasty food is wonderful & along with attentive, friendly & speedy service means that we will return again & again. It is also reasonably priced & good value for money.

The restaurant was busy any time we ate there or just passed by it. They also have a carry out service if required.

We did try another Indian restaurant this year on TA recommendations but it just confirmed we prefer Memories of India
.
Recommended.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tigertribal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Basic interior but food good”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Indian food tends to be toned down for the Spanish but these guys keep the spice in and use grade ingredients. Interior basic, you could easily walk on as there are a few in the area but definitely worth a try. open lunchtimes.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ElRubito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memories of India also viewed

Arroyo de la Miel, Benalmadena
Arroyo de la Miel, Benalmadena
 
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing