We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Facilities good, but stoney beach.”

Playa de Benalnatura
Ranked #19 of 63 things to do in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Facilities good, but stoney beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we have visited Benalnatura, the other time was March 2009. (Straight married couple from the UK).

We arrived early as there isn't much usable space, even the usable sand is very stoney but it is a small price to pay for the freedom.

We've not seen the bar open yet but we've normally o ly gone for a few hours quite early and like the rest of Spain, the bars don't really open until cracking on lunchtime.

There is a path at the top that overlooks the beach where the general public can stand, so be aware of that and position yourself accordingly if it bothers you. A small compact camera with a decent zoom would capture all it needed as there is simply a sign saying no photos or videos in that direction.

There were maybe 8 others there (not including a handful fixing a wall and raking sand who were clothed), that was at about 10am, by the time we left (as it had clouded over and was blowing a cold breeze) at about 11.30am there were maybe 20 people.

In our experience it is mainly a guy nudist beach (which is fine) with a smattering of straight couples, quite a few singles and the occasional family.

Don't venture around the sharp rocks at either end of the cove if you are in any way prudish.

Great beach in a good location, easily accessible by bus - just ask for the flatotel.

We will always have a visit if in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank The_WDs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    56
    27
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Crowded and naked”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We visited Benalnatura in a sunny weekend in September 2012 and when we arrived to this small nudist beach it was so crowded that you did not have a place to lay your body down. While trying to set up our umbrella we got immediately a protest from the man who was laying next to us - he thought that we are going to steel his sun. But after we settled down it appeared to be quite a funny place with pleasant atmosphere with a beach-bar where you can buy drinks and food. It's not the best beach for swimming because the bottom of the sea was rocky and the beach itself covered with black sand, but if you are situated close to Benalmadena and would like to have some full-body tan, it's worth visiting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
12 Thank SunFunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Autumn sun on a budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Benalnatura naturist beach is a five minute walk west from the Flatotel where we stayed. This is a lovely beach for getting an all over tan, with a bar at the bottom of the steps as you walk down to the beach. The beach is course dark sand with some stones in the sand. There are no sun beds for hire so once you are wet or have used some sun cream the sand does start sticking everywhere.
If you are in the area this beach is well worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Russel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“naturist beach near benalmadena”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great beach, well run and just a little out the way. if you get the bus to Flatotel (past the best benalmadena hotel *****) and then walk up over the hill on the sea side of the road, just about 500 meters down the hill you will see the Playa de Benalnatura sign (be aware that this is a fully nude beach.) The beach is well run with all ages happy to mix on the gravel type sand. It is served with a beach bar (coffe and tea also, but no food) has shower and male and female toilets plus BBQ area in the shade.
BEWARE if you go in October, this seems to be the local black fly time grrr.
Have fun.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
24 Thank KeithNliz727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean Tidy & Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great beach for the liberal minded and well run , the only beware is if you are not sure footed there is 72 steps to navigate but otherwise great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Juschris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa de Benalnatura also viewed

Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Playa de Benalnatura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing