We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great night in or out”
Review of The Jolly Pirate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benalmadena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Jolly Pirate
Ranked #6 of 8 Benalmadena B&B and Inns
walsall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a great night in or out”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

cant say enough to praise the staff and owner of the bar stayed their a weekend the best service and most fun ive had for ages brilliant atmosphere food and entertainment in spain clean fresh apartments with excellent facilities value for money thanks for a great weekend from me and my son to all at the jolly pirate a must

Room Tip: as good as any 5 star holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob23matthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have just come home from our 2 week holiday staying at the jolly pirate, it is our 2nd time at the jolly and we have already booked up for next yr:-) the owner John is brill very friendly and will help with anything you need,Kate is also very friendly and made us laugh lots, all the staff are always smiling,the rooms are really clean as is the rest of the place the food is also very nice we ate their lots and it's not expensive, very close to beach and habour and bus service. I would recommend the jolly pirate to everyone it's brill. Thanx John for making our holiday extra fun , see ya next year Alison and Paul

Room Tip: It's such an amazing place my tip is go for 2 weeks and not 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Can't recommend this place highly enough.
The food is just superb and staff are great also a brilliant layed back atmosphere..
10/10 from me.
Would definitely recommend to friends and family alike.................

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dazhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Booked the Jolly Pirate as a quick 5 getaway for me and my 15 year old son, and a friend of mine. When we arrived we were greeted immediately with a drink before we went to our room, our room was well appointed overlooking the front, with the beach to the left and a communal pool to the right. We dropped our bags in, and went downstairs to have something to drink and eat.
The food was excellent, we never ate any where else for the whole break, i'd seriously recommend the Fish and Chips and the homemade indian curry, to die for.
Its perfectly located between different kinds of night time areas such as the 24 hour square and the beach is 200 yards away at the bottom of the hill.
The team there are outstanding, we witnessed 3 kids parties at the rear play area, and they literally stayed all night as the kids were that well looked after.
So I'll say a massive thankyou to Kate, Stevie and Sasha the waitresses, Martin behind the bar, Rob, Granville and Sally the chefs and John the bar owner, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are best as they come with balconies, but was shown the other rooms and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deano3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I Stayed at the jolly pirate in August 2012 and have been back home 1 day and I can honestly say it was an amazing place , the owner is english and is someone you will get to know and like very quickly, iv been on holiday a lot of times and in all the times iv been away I have never met such a friendly, funny, on the ball, great with the kids, owner in my life , a really good man, the food is great an good price, the bar staff are great and very friendly people and always there to help, the room was very clean and had everything I needed , I'll definetly be returning , hopefully in oct 2012

thanks to all of them at the jolly pirate you played a big part in a fantastic holiday

Thanks Reg

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paul-ov-wolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

had the best time at the jolly pireat from the 8 aug till 17 2012 big thank you to john martin sasha kate steive they were very helpfull and looked after us so well rooms were lovely food was cheep and very good on arivel john gave us beach towels sun cream even tea coffee warter even washing powder even chated at night time girls were lovely felt so wellcome their is a great kids play area out back even a large plasma tv for kids to watch endless dvds we could not hav asked for any more pools beside jolly with we could use two min away u can see them from ur room thats how close i will go back again thanks guys xxxx annmarie brendan and boys

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annmarierossiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horwich/bolton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stopped at the Jolly Pirate and what a great place to stay.
Apartment very clean with all essentials you need, even tea, coffee,milk and water in your room on arrival you wouldnt get that anywere else. You can even have beach towel provided at no extra cost.
Sandra was amazing so friendly and will help with anything you need.
Must mention all her staff, they are the most cheerful bunch of people I have ever met nothing is to much trouble.
Food was great and cheap with great choice on the Menu, they will even make snacks for you to take to the beach.
There are two pools you can use, we only used them once as we loved the beach more.
The area itself was great many restraunts and shops and the Marina is so nice.
Overall fantastic place to stay.
The Jolly Pirate is a hidden jem and I cant wait to return.

Well done Pete & Sandra.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annemariephillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,019 reviews
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,809 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#33 of 45 in Benalmadena
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jolly Pirate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jolly Pirate

Property: The Jolly Pirate
Address: Calle Del Siroco, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Benalmadena
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
The Jolly Pirate Hotel Benalmadena
The Jolly Pirate Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing