We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fantastic ......”
Review of The Jolly Pirate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benalmadena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Jolly Pirate
Ranked #6 of 8 Benalmadena B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just fantastic ......”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Can't recommend this place highly enough.
The food is just superb and staff are great also a brilliant layed back atmosphere..
10/10 from me.
Would definitely recommend to friends and family alike.................

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dazhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Booked the Jolly Pirate as a quick 5 getaway for me and my 15 year old son, and a friend of mine. When we arrived we were greeted immediately with a drink before we went to our room, our room was well appointed overlooking the front, with the beach to the left and a communal pool to the right. We dropped our bags in, and went downstairs to have something to drink and eat.
The food was excellent, we never ate any where else for the whole break, i'd seriously recommend the Fish and Chips and the homemade indian curry, to die for.
Its perfectly located between different kinds of night time areas such as the 24 hour square and the beach is 200 yards away at the bottom of the hill.
The team there are outstanding, we witnessed 3 kids parties at the rear play area, and they literally stayed all night as the kids were that well looked after.
So I'll say a massive thankyou to Kate, Stevie and Sasha the waitresses, Martin behind the bar, Rob, Granville and Sally the chefs and John the bar owner, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are best as they come with balconies, but was shown the other rooms and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deano3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I Stayed at the jolly pirate in August 2012 and have been back home 1 day and I can honestly say it was an amazing place , the owner is english and is someone you will get to know and like very quickly, iv been on holiday a lot of times and in all the times iv been away I have never met such a friendly, funny, on the ball, great with the kids, owner in my life , a really good man, the food is great an good price, the bar staff are great and very friendly people and always there to help, the room was very clean and had everything I needed , I'll definetly be returning , hopefully in oct 2012

thanks to all of them at the jolly pirate you played a big part in a fantastic holiday

Thanks Reg

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paul-ov-wolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

had the best time at the jolly pireat from the 8 aug till 17 2012 big thank you to john martin sasha kate steive they were very helpfull and looked after us so well rooms were lovely food was cheep and very good on arivel john gave us beach towels sun cream even tea coffee warter even washing powder even chated at night time girls were lovely felt so wellcome their is a great kids play area out back even a large plasma tv for kids to watch endless dvds we could not hav asked for any more pools beside jolly with we could use two min away u can see them from ur room thats how close i will go back again thanks guys xxxx annmarie brendan and boys

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annmarierossiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horwich/bolton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stopped at the Jolly Pirate and what a great place to stay.
Apartment very clean with all essentials you need, even tea, coffee,milk and water in your room on arrival you wouldnt get that anywere else. You can even have beach towel provided at no extra cost.
Sandra was amazing so friendly and will help with anything you need.
Must mention all her staff, they are the most cheerful bunch of people I have ever met nothing is to much trouble.
Food was great and cheap with great choice on the Menu, they will even make snacks for you to take to the beach.
There are two pools you can use, we only used them once as we loved the beach more.
The area itself was great many restraunts and shops and the Marina is so nice.
Overall fantastic place to stay.
The Jolly Pirate is a hidden jem and I cant wait to return.

Well done Pete & Sandra.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annemariephillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We went to Benalmadena last week and stayed at the Jolly Pirate, what a lovely surprise we had. The rooms are really nice, the food was excellent and all of the staff really know how to make you feel welcome. There were 7 of us at the Jolly and another 18 stayed over the road at another hotel, but we all ate at the Jolly Pirate as the food was so nice !! Its in a good spot, just off the main road but easy to get to the beach and the suns on the front all day ( just ask anyone who saw my head !!) So a big thanks to Pete/ Sandra/ Martin / Kate / Sasha and the cook who's name I can't remember sorry ! see you soon, I've just booked a flight for next weekend.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room with the bedrooms on the back, we slept really well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Just got back from Benalmadena where we stayed at the Jolly Pirate. We were all made very welcome during the whole of our stay by new owners Peter & Sandra. They could'nt do enough for us, even keeping the kids entertained at times. Our appartment was very spacious, and included a large living room with satellite tv, a double bedroom with fitted wardrobes, tea, and cooking facilities etc, and a large fold out sofa for the kids. Underneat the appartment is their sizeable resteraunt and bar which serves great food and drink all day and night. There is also a pool table in mint condition, tables tennis, and other activities for the kids in a large play area at the rear. We had the use of 2 swimming pools which were just across the road, and while the Jolly Pirate is very central to everything, we heard no noise when it was time for sleep. I notice that one of the reviewers on here had said that the air-con was a euro per hour (approx 80p), well ours was 1 euro for 2 hours, either he is mistaken or the charge is lower with the new owners, not that we stayed in long enough to use it anyway.
So, thanks Peter & Sandra, and as you already know, we have booked for next year already, so see you then.!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BradfordHadfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,016 reviews
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,807 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#34 of 45 in Benalmadena
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jolly Pirate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jolly Pirate

Property: The Jolly Pirate
Address: Calle Del Siroco, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Benalmadena
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
The Jolly Pirate Hotel Benalmadena
The Jolly Pirate Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing