We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,111)
Filter reviews
1,111 results
Traveler rating
254
329
249
158
121
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
329
249
158
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus beach club kids club family holiday evening entertainment mini disco spanish families all inclusive guests open top bus adults and children wave pool all inclusive package big bathroom great for kids great holiday chocolate fountain hotel pool
Filter
Updating list...
574 - 579 of 1,111 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Although the hotel is very clean, it is very understaffed. You have to wait to get a drink at the poolside bar, particularly at night. Incidentally the poolside bar only opens and 12noon until 7pm, then shuts until 10pm. The entertainment starts at 9pm so why doesn't the bar open at 9pm! It is a long walk, up hill, to get drinks from the main bar only to have to bring them back down to the entertainment area.

The rooms are very comfortable and well cleaned - no issues with linen and plenty of clean towels daily.

The entertainment is of poor quality and is Spanish - not good for English children. It caters for younger children only, as in toddlers, defo not for older children.

The beach club is excellent - pools very clean and plenty of beds. The restaurant there is excellent.

All inclusive should mean all inclusive - crisps etc should be free, especially for children. They are not.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrmojito_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Just returned from a week at the holiday palace. I am surprised at the negative reviews. We had a brilliant time. We have stayed at the holiday village before so new that the location was a bus ride away from either Benalmadena Marina or Fuenerolla so this was no surprise to us.

We took the All Inclusive option which was well worth the money. The food was excellent. It is also worth booking the day before to have lunch at the Beach Club restaurant.

I was not surprised that the International Brands were not included because I have been at AI resorts before and it is usually the local brands. But each night I was able to drink "local" Baileys and Tia Maria which tasted exactly like the original brands. Also there is real coke, sprite and fanta.

The entertainment was not the best but my daughter of 4 loved the disco. We would get the "free" drinks at our hotel and walk across the road to the Polynesia Hotel where the entertainment was far better. Its a pity the AI doesn't extend to that hotel too (although I am told that when the new Venesian Hotel is completed in the next 18 months) you can use the AI package in all the hotels in Holiday World.

The pool area was good and never any need to reserve sunbeds. There were always loads available.

At lunch time, if you prefer not to eat in the restaurant, the pool side bar provide a buffet of chips, burgers, hotdogs, etc, which is really good.

The rooms are very spacious with large bathrooms and balconies.

One evening we caught the bus into the Marina which is well worth a visit and on another day we got a taxi to Mijas which is a gorgeous village, only 18 euros in a taxi from the hotel.

Would certainly return but would look to stay at the Polynesia instead simply because it was newer, bigger and had better entertainment.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The hotel was grubby and the decor did not help it any either. II have never been to a hotel and seen to many people look like they were not particularly enjoying themselves. Inside the hotel it was gloomy and dark at times. The staff were not helpful apart from one lady on the desk who had a smile on her face all the time. The rooms were a reasonable size, however Thomas Cook describe the beds as being queen size when they are singles. Had 1 pot in the cupboard and 2 forks for 4. Towels always had holes in them as did the sheets. My children are 13 and 16 and even though I paid adult prices for them they had to sleep on an awful sofa bed which again did not seem too clean. I wanted to wash things constantly but there was only 1 little machine in the hotel to use (12 euro to wash and dry 1 load). Food was not great, often lukewarm and nothing that nice either. We were all inclusive but had to get away from it. Taxi cost 11 euro to get to Benalmadena to eat. Some taxi drivers go down the road like maniacs doing 80 in a 50 zone. Snacks were often cold burnt offerings. No ice cream as mentioned either. Entertainment was mostly in Spanish and was not very good. Also, this hotel should state it is primarily for very young children as everything is directed towards them. It is advertised as Dinoworld and there is nothing for older kids to do. The football park is down at the water park and gets used by the clubs from the other hotels. It seems like false advertising the way this hotel has been presented in the brochures. You can go to the others beside it as it is all part of 'holiday world' but then you have to pay for your drinks. From what we could hear though the entertainment over in the Polynesia seemed to be in Spanish also. I would never go back again. Spent a lot of money that really we did not think we would have had to. Not much nearby also unless you go to the marina at Benalmadena. Not for a family with older kids - even the water park is for younger ones. Overall - a big let down for the family.

Room tip: Rooms are reasonably sized but not cleaned the best. Bed linen looked very worn. Not much in the kitchen if you did want to cook.
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Karhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed for a week in this hotel and on first impression the hotel seemed very nice, we were there on an all inclusive deal, the food was a good selection but quite often the food was only luke warm even when we got in the restaurant as soon as it had oppened. The entertainment was very poor in the hotel although there was entertainment every night, it was just so rubbish, the hotel must choose the cheapest entertainment they can get and by the time they set up and then have a really long break they only played for 1 1/4 hour. On 2 occasions I was in reception when I looked out the window and saw rats running around the pool and sunbed area, I pointed this out to the staff who saw them and the manager then left us a bottle of wine in our room. I was just so shocked by this but then when we looked around the pool we found that left over bits of food which we saw a few days before which obviously had not been cleaned by the pool which attracted them. On the balcony of our room it was just covered with pigeon mess but even though the cleaner came in she did not touch it and this happened on her next visit, I then had to ring down to reception to ask for it to be cleaned which I felt I shouldn't have to do but it was only at my request that this was cleaned but then only partially as there was still mess left behind.

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marialong19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel is far from what is advertised in the travel books, half the pictures in the books and web are not even at this hotel, u have to ask urself why ??
Hotel staff are very down on the lip, getting a smile from them is a big task, very unhelpful, the entertainment is awful, the whole hotel is geared more towards the Spanish, all the pool games are in Spanish, etc
All inclusive should mean ALL INCLUSIVE !!, but I’m afraid not, export alcohol – extra, crisps – extra, kids drinks – extra, sauna – extra, shower in spa – extra, steam room – extra etc etc etc
The hotel is not central to amenities as it suggests, in fact it’s a 10 min taxi ride into town at 11 Euro a pop
The hotel is generally very clean apart from the pool area, this would be very untidy hence the 18” RAT that was coming back and fro for free chips.
All in all, very poor
Also if u are thinking about private taxi transfers from the hotel to the airport do not use malagaminibus.com, on our return they were over 1 hour late in getting us to the airport, the owner was ignorant, hostile and abusive towards us even tho it was he fault as he could not remember where he dropped us off !!!
Stick to the tour operator taxis, they might be a little extra but worth it.

Room tip: Large and spacious - not well cleaned tho
Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cliff2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews