We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with great water park”
Review of Holiday Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Palace
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Just returned from a week at the Holiday Palace. It's part of the Holiday Village complex which is 3 hotels that all share a fantastic water park that has 9 pools with slides, waterfalls and even a pirate ship in one. The Palace hotel was the least desirable of the 3 and if your thinking of booking, go for the Polynesia which was lovely when we went for a look round.

The buffet food was alright with lots of choice from fish, meat, paella and hot dogs etc.. for kids, but the poolside snack bar was either cold or the food was left too long and went horrible. There was a queue at times for the hotel and poolside bar, but only max 4 people and you can get multiple drinks so not a real problem unless you have a drink problem.

Read lots of reports that full of Spanish, there wasn't that many and they were happy enough and you are in Spain deal with it, if you dont want Spanish people goto Cornwall. The kids entertainment was alright and the hotel is deffo geared towards kids, if you dont have kids don't go.

Overall a good holiday, kids had so much fun at the water park which is a 60 sec coach trip or you can walk in 5 mins, hotel does need a bit of work but not as bad as what some people have written.

Neil M - Hertfordshire

Room Tip: upgrade to the Hydo hotel, which can be free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank neil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 988 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

Although the hotel is very clean, it is very understaffed. You have to wait to get a drink at the poolside bar, particularly at night. Incidentally the poolside bar only opens and 12noon until 7pm, then shuts until 10pm. The entertainment starts at 9pm so why doesn't the bar open at 9pm! It is a long walk, up hill, to get drinks from the main bar only to have to bring them back down to the entertainment area.

The rooms are very comfortable and well cleaned - no issues with linen and plenty of clean towels daily.

The entertainment is of poor quality and is Spanish - not good for English children. It caters for younger children only, as in toddlers, defo not for older children.

The beach club is excellent - pools very clean and plenty of beds. The restaurant there is excellent.

All inclusive should mean all inclusive - crisps etc should be free, especially for children. They are not.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrmojito_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Just returned from a week at the holiday palace. I am surprised at the negative reviews. We had a brilliant time. We have stayed at the holiday village before so new that the location was a bus ride away from either Benalmadena Marina or Fuenerolla so this was no surprise to us.

We took the All Inclusive option which was well worth the money. The food was excellent. It is also worth booking the day before to have lunch at the Beach Club restaurant.

I was not surprised that the International Brands were not included because I have been at AI resorts before and it is usually the local brands. But each night I was able to drink "local" Baileys and Tia Maria which tasted exactly like the original brands. Also there is real coke, sprite and fanta.

The entertainment was not the best but my daughter of 4 loved the disco. We would get the "free" drinks at our hotel and walk across the road to the Polynesia Hotel where the entertainment was far better. Its a pity the AI doesn't extend to that hotel too (although I am told that when the new Venesian Hotel is completed in the next 18 months) you can use the AI package in all the hotels in Holiday World.

The pool area was good and never any need to reserve sunbeds. There were always loads available.

At lunch time, if you prefer not to eat in the restaurant, the pool side bar provide a buffet of chips, burgers, hotdogs, etc, which is really good.

The rooms are very spacious with large bathrooms and balconies.

One evening we caught the bus into the Marina which is well worth a visit and on another day we got a taxi to Mijas which is a gorgeous village, only 18 euros in a taxi from the hotel.

Would certainly return but would look to stay at the Polynesia instead simply because it was newer, bigger and had better entertainment.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The hotel was grubby and the decor did not help it any either. II have never been to a hotel and seen to many people look like they were not particularly enjoying themselves. Inside the hotel it was gloomy and dark at times. The staff were not helpful apart from one lady on the desk who had a smile on her face all the time. The rooms were a reasonable size, however Thomas Cook describe the beds as being queen size when they are singles. Had 1 pot in the cupboard and 2 forks for 4. Towels always had holes in them as did the sheets. My children are 13 and 16 and even though I paid adult prices for them they had to sleep on an awful sofa bed which again did not seem too clean. I wanted to wash things constantly but there was only 1 little machine in the hotel to use (12 euro to wash and dry 1 load). Food was not great, often lukewarm and nothing that nice either. We were all inclusive but had to get away from it. Taxi cost 11 euro to get to Benalmadena to eat. Some taxi drivers go down the road like maniacs doing 80 in a 50 zone. Snacks were often cold burnt offerings. No ice cream as mentioned either. Entertainment was mostly in Spanish and was not very good. Also, this hotel should state it is primarily for very young children as everything is directed towards them. It is advertised as Dinoworld and there is nothing for older kids to do. The football park is down at the water park and gets used by the clubs from the other hotels. It seems like false advertising the way this hotel has been presented in the brochures. You can go to the others beside it as it is all part of 'holiday world' but then you have to pay for your drinks. From what we could hear though the entertainment over in the Polynesia seemed to be in Spanish also. I would never go back again. Spent a lot of money that really we did not think we would have had to. Not much nearby also unless you go to the marina at Benalmadena. Not for a family with older kids - even the water park is for younger ones. Overall - a big let down for the family.

Room Tip: Rooms are reasonably sized but not cleaned the best. Bed linen looked very worn. Not much in the k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Karhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed for a week in this hotel and on first impression the hotel seemed very nice, we were there on an all inclusive deal, the food was a good selection but quite often the food was only luke warm even when we got in the restaurant as soon as it had oppened. The entertainment was very poor in the hotel although there was entertainment every night, it was just so rubbish, the hotel must choose the cheapest entertainment they can get and by the time they set up and then have a really long break they only played for 1 1/4 hour. On 2 occasions I was in reception when I looked out the window and saw rats running around the pool and sunbed area, I pointed this out to the staff who saw them and the manager then left us a bottle of wine in our room. I was just so shocked by this but then when we looked around the pool we found that left over bits of food which we saw a few days before which obviously had not been cleaned by the pool which attracted them. On the balcony of our room it was just covered with pigeon mess but even though the cleaner came in she did not touch it and this happened on her next visit, I then had to ring down to reception to ask for it to be cleaned which I felt I shouldn't have to do but it was only at my request that this was cleaned but then only partially as there was still mess left behind.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marialong19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel is far from what is advertised in the travel books, half the pictures in the books and web are not even at this hotel, u have to ask urself why ??
Hotel staff are very down on the lip, getting a smile from them is a big task, very unhelpful, the entertainment is awful, the whole hotel is geared more towards the Spanish, all the pool games are in Spanish, etc
All inclusive should mean ALL INCLUSIVE !!, but I’m afraid not, export alcohol – extra, crisps – extra, kids drinks – extra, sauna – extra, shower in spa – extra, steam room – extra etc etc etc
The hotel is not central to amenities as it suggests, in fact it’s a 10 min taxi ride into town at 11 Euro a pop
The hotel is generally very clean apart from the pool area, this would be very untidy hence the 18” RAT that was coming back and fro for free chips.
All in all, very poor
Also if u are thinking about private taxi transfers from the hotel to the airport do not use malagaminibus.com, on our return they were over 1 hour late in getting us to the airport, the owner was ignorant, hostile and abusive towards us even tho it was he fault as he could not remember where he dropped us off !!!
Stick to the tour operator taxis, they might be a little extra but worth it.

Room Tip: Large and spacious - not well cleaned tho
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cliff2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed in the holiday palace . By the end of the holiday it was a nightmare and defo not a palace . They say it's a 4 star hotel , they need to get whoever rates these hotels out to Spain and reassess . We spoke to alot of other families who told us things that happened to them . By the end of our holiday it was all true. Apartments had so much dust under the beds, staff really looked miserable, very unwilling to help in any matter . Pool area could be doing with a clean and sun beds had pigeon poo on them . There was screams from a lady sittin the a chair at the fence, we went over and a very large rat had taken a chip and ran off . They complained , next day the gap was covered over . Tiles broken at bottom of pool , food served outside was cold and had flies around it. Full of Spanish . Reps only called out announcements some days just in Spanish . There needs to be more English speaking workers . Saved all year and looked forward to holiday after spending months unwell , it put me back to square one . Cab company "Malaga cabs" turned up hour late and had gone to wrong hotel . Good luck to all who pick holiday palace Big Disappointment to alot of families . Sort it out. !!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ballymenadonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,906 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
2.8 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,296 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,381 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Palace

Address: Avenida del Sol , P.K. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: $53 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal hotel for holidays in family, couple or friends. Quiet, face to the sea on the andalusian coast, and a large program with diversified and diverting to enjoy it with the all inclusive formule. So get ready to test the Spanish Sun, tapas and Sangria! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Palace Hotel Benalmadena
Holiday Palace Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing