We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveler rating
286
99
25
15
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
286
99
25
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews holiday hydros hot tub on the balcony boutique hotel other hotels the penthouse holiday world two bedroom suite small hotel enjoyed the pool area boutique style get away from it all bali beds furnished to a high standard total relaxation infinity pool lovely hotel mini bar in the room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 444 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a week from 31/07 to 07/08.
Hotel interior is very elegant and we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.
As we have older children (14 and 11), we enjoyed the fact that the pool area is generally quiet during the day as most families seem to favour the Beach Club close by which can be used.
The pool area is fabulous with stunning views of the coast and the Balinese beds are lovely...even better with the shade curtains that were being installed on our last day!
We ate in the restaurant most nights and thought the food was amazing! The kids ate from the kids menu a couple of times and also from the standard menu.
The presentation of dishes is fabulous and the wait staff were polite and attentive.
We also liked the continental style buffet breakfast each day.
Only niggles were that a few things in our room were looking a little tired...light switch in bathroom needed repairing when we arrived (it was fixed on our second day), one of the steps onto the outdoor terrace was broken and could've resulted in a nasty fall if we'd had younger children with us and the hot tub surround was looking quite shabby.
Speaking of, we loved having the hot tub on the balcony and used it several times during our stay.
We didn't use the spa facilities in the hotel as it is for over 18's only but it does look amazing.
The Holiday World complex is rather isolated and it is a good 10-15 min taxi ride back to Puerto Marina in Benalmedena. You can use the facilities at the other hotels on the complex, although we didn't apart from the shops.
We had a lovely day out on our last day, taking the city sightseeing bus around Benalmedena and stopping off at the Butterfly Farm and the Stupa (Buddhist a Temple).
All in all we had a really lovely holiday and
would definitely go back!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank vperezcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Hydros D, Gerente at Hydros Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2016

Dear Vperezcon;

Thanks for sharing your last Hydros Experience with this opinion community. All your aspects highlighted will be taken into consideration in order to keed improving our services and facilities.

Next time, I hope you can enjoy our spa facilities, I am sure you will love it.

I will see you all familiy in your next Holidays.

Kind regards

Pedro H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

Overall, we had a really good holiday at Holiday Hydros although easily a 15 minute taxi journey from the centre of Benalmadena so relied on taxis to transport us each evening to eat. Due to its location, it may be worthwhile considering hiring a car to get about. The breakfast buffet was very healthy and the view from the dining area was amazing. Maid service was daily, although apart from refreshing the towels and making the beds, it was rather disappointing. Our shower cubicle appeared not to have been cleaned for the entire week of our stay. The luxury sunbeds at the pool area were fab, however they were in need of a good clean and as such I decided to sunbathe on the sun loungers instead. The pool was spotlessly clean and generally, the grounds were well maintained. All of the staff were very approachable and dealt with any queries we had. Would recommend this hotel if you want a holiday of rest and relaxation :)

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank juliegordon213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Hydros D, Gerente at Hydros Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2016

Dear Juliegordon213;

Thanks a lot for you high rating related to your last visit with us.

All aspects you considered will be treated with high relevance: Maid service, in this case.

I will pass on you your appreciation to our Hydros staff.

I hope to see you again in a future.

Kind regards

Pedro H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

A boutique hotel in a fabulous location with amazing views and a fabulous pool area!
Staff were very scarce and not very helpful at times. The restaurant food was very average and the waiting staff were quite unpleasant.
There is no bar service by the pool on Monday & Tuesday's, there is the rest of the week but no food served before 1.30pm which is not ideal.
A real pity because this hotel could be something spectacular.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank banagherboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Hydros D, Gerente at Hydros Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Dear banagherboy;

Thanks so much for you comment in this way. All these aspects you underscored will taken into account in order to reach the level of quality and satisfaction you expected.

I hope you can see all this details improved in your next visit.

Kind regards

Pedro H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

We had booked the Hotel Hydross for a 5 day stay. Unfortunately because of a catalogue of complaints within the first 24 hours we checked out of The Hydross on our second morning. We can echo all of the disappointments listed in the other unfavourable reviews.....
Hardly any staff around, very difficult to get drinks, especially at the pool. No food served until 1-30 each day. Incredibly hard mattresses, there was a loud continual noise coming from our ceiling throughout the night which kept us awake. No cooked breakfast, poor quality continental with very limited choices. Very unfriendly waiting staff in the restaurant. No information provided on arrival so found ourselves constantly looking for staff to ask for help. Hotel is right next to a very busy railway line....I could go on...but suffice to say I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all.
To make matters worse, when we tried to point out our complaints to the manager we were met with a very defensive and unapologetic response.

Room tip: Poolside view are quieter from the railway line
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mrsjaxrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Hydros D, Gerente at Hydros Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2016

Dear Guest:

Sorry if you did not enjoy your "one day holidays" with us at your last visit.
I am going to explain your comments at respect:

You changed the hotel the second day due to "the noise at your room and the railway position of this hotel" The second hotel you choose was in the same railway position tan Hydros and I have any noice or compalint at respect.

At Hydros, is so complicated not to find any person from aour staff, due to our capacity and dimensions. Yoa can find a persona at Reception, at Spa, restaurant, manager in front of reception....

Our friendly staff is one of the most valuables by our guest in comparison with your opinion.

At check in, ( arrival ) you received all info related to main services, prices, extras, etc. Try to review it again, please.

As a manager, I decided not to offer directly to you an economic compensation as you "ordered" because your only complaint was the noise at your room. I hope you can understand it. I think, my attitude was professional and polite. It is not usual offering an economic compensation in this Hotel, much less in this case.

Quality of our breakfast, in one of the most issue we try to maintain. It is a continental breakfast not cooked breakfast as you should have informed at the check in.

Nevertheless, thanks for your feedback.

Kind regards

Pedro H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2016

it seems that your policy is for all the other hotels in the complex can come and use the facilities of hydros .... ? Thats why we pay more and come to you (HYDROS) so that we won't have to put up with the disruption from the disruptive and rude noisy children !!!! thats the main reason we have used you for some years now. So we had to go to our friends hotel for a quite bathing and sun relaxing day, just so that we didn't have to put up with it ... Also the hotel is now looking a bit tired , the breakfast was less attractive from previous years and you made us pay for "water"at breakfast !!!! . even the tub was dirty , the balcony was dirty the frame was broken the door was hanging off the chair was broken i fell of and broke my phone , not good for the price we paid, we felt as if you where money pinching . so we will be looking for another boutique hotel. if your policy stays the same. we have recommended you to many of our friend over the years and a few have used you with good feed back. Mr & Mrs Copson

Room tip: they are all looking sad and tired , yet the price as gone up year on year , need repainting
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Options F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Hydros D, Gerente at Hydros Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2016

Dear guest;

Thanks for sharing your last experience at Holiday hydros.

I would like to explain some aspects related to your last visit:

Policy: Our policy is the same since 2011, 7 years ago. All guests from Hydros can enjoy the rest of facilities of other Holidayworld Hotels. In this way, your are wrong.

I noticed your complaint related to outside area with "noisy kids ". In this point, I am not agree with you again. That day were 12 people in that area, only 12 Hydros guest, not from other hotels.

During your breakfast, food and beverages at the Restaurant are included at Price, If you ordered a bottle of water after this service, obviously, it have been charged as an extra. I hope you can understand it.

Holiday Hydros, this year, has invested many resources in: 3 shades area, new adecuates bali beds, new furniture , a new Restaurant Carte, many improvements at the Spa, a better breakfast quality tan other years, etc, etc.

I am sorry if we did not reach your main expectatives.

Kind regards

Pedro H


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews