We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week of dream at Hydros”
Review of Holiday Hydros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Hydros
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A week of dream at Hydros”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

French living in Sweden, tired by the long and dark winter, for Easter break, we used to go to a warmer place, not too far away but enough to guarantee sun, and at a place we know we could relax and enjoy. This year we booked a all inclusive package from NAZAR (Premium Collection) and decided to go for the Hydros Boutique Hotel at Benalmádena (nearby Malaga). We went there from March 13 to March 20.

Arriving at the hotel over midnight, our first impression about the service and courtesy of the night staff has been very good. They offered us drinks and, despite very late, made our registration smooth and pleasant.

We stay in one of the exclusive room at the fourth floor (Suite 44), which is a very nice one facing the see and having a large terrace with a big jacuzzi, sun-beds and wonderful view from sunrise to sunset. The room is well furnished, with an expersso machine and a mini bar. The bathroom was very clean, with bathtub, shower (rain fall type), two basin and toilet, all in modern style with a touch of "exclusive." We used only few times room service but every time we called them they diligently delivered to the room, with smile and courtesy.

The bedroom has two large individual bed merged, as main-bed, in twin-bed and a sofa with underneath mattress, which our son enjoyed for its comfort. The room was quiet and the double-glass windows reduced the surrounding noise to a very decent level and we haven't been disturbed at all by the local train circulating behind the hotel, nor by the coast-road close to the see. In short, we slept very well and every morning enjoyed amazing sunrise from our terrace (early bird privilege but worse it).

The breakfast is continental style but it is possible to order anything you may like. Hard to find words to qualify the bakeries that were so good and delicious, we cannot resist to stop eating them. Coffee, tea and warm drinks are served to table, cold drinks part of the self service at buffet. Breakfast is served from 8am to 11am, giving time enough for late sleeper to well start the day. Breakfast is served in the Restaurant (or in bedrooms on order). Something to notice is that; the restaurant is facing the sea and wherever you seat, you can enjoy a the wonderful scenery.

Lunch is served from 13:00 to 15:30 and "A la Carte." The offering is a good mix of local and international, with a very good quality. The Chef is doing a great job accommodating fishes and meat in a very interesting way and during our week appreciated the offering. Maybe one note about kids menu which might need to be more extended (note about the Hydros hamburger, which is probably something Maxim Paris should consider to add to their card but a bit too sophisticated for kids (but no for Daddy (-:). Diner is served from 19:30 to 22:30 and if you are lucky to be there by full Moon, a real enchantment to dine with the Moon reflecting on the sea.

The hotel also features a Spa facing the sea. The spa is very well equipped and the amiability and professionalism of the lady managing the place making your time there a dream. We enjoyed the possibilities offered at the Spa and to enjoy relaxing in the bubble pool while watching, far on the horizon, huge boats and cargo cruising across the Mediterranean sea. As for the diner, if you are there by a night of full Moon, don't miss the special night at Hydros Spa relaxing in the pools while enjoying the Moon.

Beside the hotel is a large pool, which unfortunately is naturally heated by sun, which in March resulted in cold water. Maybe adding solar panels could make it a bit warmer in low season but I'm sure, in late May to September, bathing in this pool should be very pleasant. Especially when, after bathing, enjoying sun-beds facing the sea, and taking refreshments at the pool bar.

The hotel is located in a large complex of four hotels but isolated from them to guarantee quietness and privacy. In the complex is a water-park, which is served by a daily shuttle rotating about every 10 minutes. If you prefer open sea, from the stop at main entrance and security gate, it is only few minutes to walk down to the beach, which is almost 10KM long.

Benefiting from the NAZAR All inclusive package, we were able to eat at many other restaurants and watched shows. We also visited the Bioparc at Fuengirola (AMAZING! Don't miss it), the Crocodile Parc at Torremolinos and spend a day in Gibraltar, enjoying British atmosphere and the Monkeys.

During all of our stay we appreciated the amiability and courtesy of the personal and the fact, the hotel manager Pedro Herves always available and ready to help. Despite we have been to many upper-class hotel, that is the first time we have received such attention from the hotel manager and from the all staff. To me it is a very good sign that Quality and Customers matter for them, which resulted in wonderful vacations. The only low-tone was about the Internet access, which in our room was very random and poor quality but something the manager guaranteed us that will be fixed.

In short, great place to stay, nice people and wonderful vacations!

Room Tip: If you can, book the room 44, which is probably the best one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Supercolargol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    83
    22
    15
    11
See reviews for
59
196
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I don't normally write reviews but I felt I had to regarding this wonderful hotel. We stayed for nine nights in early October 2013. I am looking to book straight away to return, that is how good it is. Having looked at the reviews already on, I wanted to add a short review of my own. The Hotel is a little way out of a town so we used the buses and taxis to get to where we wanted to go. Some guests were keen walkers and walking was no trouble for them and it is a nice walk with sea views which ever way town you visit.

We were A/I at this hotel, but it is not what you would expect, meals are cooked to order via table service, no buffet in sight, which suited us perfectly. As the hotel is part of a complex, if you wanted to go to the other hotels you could, and the buffets in those hotels were excellent and delivered more what you would expect from A/I.

Whilst there is no entertainment in the Hydros the other hotels in the complex had nightly entertainment which was excellent on some nights. We saw a magic show and a hypnosis act, both were excellent. My husband likes to take part in the day time entertainment and enjoyed Archery and riffle shooting, again this was not in the Hydros, which was great because I hate that sort of activity, I stayed and enjoyed the pool area away from people.

The staff could not do any more for you but did not pester you, so if you want something ask. The pool and area was the best we have experienced and the beanbag beds are so comfortable that staying awake was difficult. The pool was spotlessly clean and whilst not heated it was still lovely once you were in. I understand that the weather was still unusually hot for October, so the pool was still very usable, the hotel closes in early November until March so the pool temperature would not be a problem.

Whilst the beds were better than usual they are still a little firm, but with two large beds you could spread out. Both me and my husband prefer really soft beds so any bed feels firm to us, so don't let that put you off.

Perfect if you and partner want to spend some quality time together in a very tranquil romantic setting. Also perfect if one of you likes peace and the other likes entertaining, as the other more conventional hotels are near by so it suits all tastes.

We can't wait to go back, I felt thoroughly spoiled and it was just how I had hoped it would be, with no disappointments. The private hot tub was a perfect temperature, sometimes private hot tubs do not allow you to heat them up if its a bit chilly, these were perfect and spotlessly clean.

Probably not a hotel for children as there would not be much for them to do, though there were a couple of children there who seemed perfectly happy. The views are spectacular of the coast and we thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant and balcony which took full advantage of them. If you wanted there are plenty of trips to take up, and there are some huge local markets.

Best tip, the staff will leave you alone, so what ever you want ask, they could not be more helpful but they don't bombard you with advice, some of the reviews felt the staff were not friendly, we found them to be quite the opposite. It is unusual to go to a hotel where you are left to relax and not be approached all the time, I liked this and when I wanted anything it was attended to efficiently and cheerfully.

Well done this hotel and staff, we loved it.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a sea view and hot tub, but the higher up you are the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Currently at the Hydros, rooms are great, could do with a little more attention to detail in regard to the balcony, (cigarette butts left from the last guest are still there three days in).

Great area, nice and quiet, relaxing down by the pool with great views east and west along the coast.

The comments in regard to the breakfast are unfounded, if you require a full English then stay in England. The staff in the restaurant at breakfast are helpful but busy.

In all so far, having a great time, and would recommend this hotel. Back soon.

Room Tip: West side of the building for shaded balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has great potential for a lovely relaxing holiday. But has some issues that let it down.
Service varied from non-existant, upwards. On AI package so helped myself a couple of times in the pool bar as waited too long for someone to appear. Ordered fruit kebabs, took 4 days to arrive. Language a bit of a barrier, so some knowledge of Spanish helpful. The food when it finally arrived was normally very good.
No kettle in rooms, so was handy to have my travel one with me. Rooms nicely decorated and had no problems with the hot tub on balcony.
Spa pleasant experience so long as it was not over booked as no chair to relax on.
Free bus to local beach,but not a lot going on except a couple of bars. Do better to get a taxi to go further afield.
With AI can eat and drink in other hotels in chain, but if youve gone to relax, be prepared to battle with lots of kiddies.
Would go back if improvements have been made.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heusden, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We just got back from a 10 days wonderful holiday at Holiday Hydros in Benalmadena, Spain.
The hotel did meet our expectations.
Beautiful location, friendly staff, excellent food, nice room with terrace and jacuzzi.
We booked a penthouse suite: a beautiful wide room with large bed, beautiful bathroom with bad and shower, coffee facilities and mini bar (to pay, but daily refilled), towel service, large terrace with two longchairs and a little table with two chairs and private jacuzzi.

Hotel is a bit up hill and you have to walk along the domain to get to the entrance and go to the beach, but there is a shuttle service and taxi to Benalmadena playa or Puerto Marina are cheap (ca. 10 EUR per traject). There's a bus connection to Benalmadena beach or to Fuengirola, bus stop ca. at hotel domain entrance. Hotel belongs to a group of hotels that are at the same private domain that is secured so only hotel guests and authorised persons can enter the domain.

Breakfast was continental, not English, but that's what we expect in Spain: toast, bread, mini ciabatta, mini chocolate rolls, suisse rolls, mini croissants, a variety of cheese (brie, parmesan and goat's cheese, gouda), a plate with fresh fruit (melon, watermelon, grapes, pineapple), Iberico ham, variety of chorizo, smoked salmon, yoghurt, jam, milk (also chocolate and vanilla milk), juices (pineapple and orange) and a variety of corn flakes. More than enough choice for a nice breakfast which is available from 8.00 until 11.00 h!

We did not book all inclusive so we paid all meals we had at the restaurant.
Sometimes we ordered room service at noon for a snack (suppl. of 20 EUR) but the service was great! Sometimes we went out to Puerto Marina to have a lunch there.
At night we always enjoyed dinner at the hotel: a nice menu with a great variety and friendly staff.

It's a small hotel with only 28 rooms! That's great for a relax and rest holiday, so don't expect animation and shows at this place!

We certainly will go back!!!

Luc & Katleen, Belgium

Room Tip: Penthouse suites (there are only 4) have a larger terrace with two longchairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katleen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Says 4star more like 2 1/2 if you are Spanish great hotel Staff very poor service non existing. The hotel obviously sells days to locals for cheap we paid £2000+ for 7 noghts and should have paid £250 at tops each No manager about staff in the dark most of the time. Please please don't do what we did and book this hotel. If they offered a free holiday we would be suicidal it's not a spa and wellness hotel For instance lady in the spa was taking chairs away from my partner for Spanish people Local ice cream for children £6 never had hagan das but was advertised Good to be going home in a couple of days Please let there be no storms i want to get home they deserve to go out of business rubbish

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosey8878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayworld2012, Gerente at Holiday Hydros, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear guest, first of all sorry that your stay with us was not satisfactory for you, this is our main goal. The number of stars given by the Public administration ESTN. As for the service, is the Idneo for a hotel of 28 units, although at some point have been incurred in a fault, we apologize.
The constructive criticisms are always welcome, but some adjectives are far from reality. Attentively

We hope to see you again in the hotel to meet the expectations not found on this trip.
Jose Gª Vico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

After reading the mixed reviews we approached Hotel Hydros rather reluctantly with two young kids in tow. The receptionist was fantastic and after being unhappy with a 1 bedroom apartment we got upgraded to a 2 bed which really suited us & kids. The customer service was good when requested and the staff were customer focused however I don't know if it was a poor command of English or an inability to go that extra mile. The breakfasts were poor, the choice was limited and for Spain the quality of the fruit was awfull. If we asked for omelettes we got them but were never offered them. If we asked for tea & coffee we got just that however they twigged on this morning and left a coffee plunger & pot of tea. Milk must be precious in Spain also. The pool and all areas were great. The kids had a great time and everything else was great. All in all a great holiday but this could be a great 5 * Hotel if they were customer focused and got their breakfasts right.

Room Tip: Room along roadside busy might need triple glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garymcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,504 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
1.2 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
936 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
2.6 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#14 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Hydros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Hydros

Property: Holiday Hydros
Address: Avenida Sol 6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#12 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Hydros 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Hydros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hydros Hotel Benalmadena
Holiday Hydros Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing