We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Indian we have ever been too”
Review of Nirvana Restaurant

Nirvana Restaurant
Ranked #139 of 738 Restaurants in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Situated on a slightly elevated walkway, close to a number of other small retail outlets and bars, with parking close by,and wheelchair access.The interior is traditional Indian style with seating for approximately 40 people inside. The outside, partly covered, has seating for another 20 people.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

If Being lucky enought to own a house in Spain was not enough we have the best indian right on our door step too ,Jim and Meena always greet with a warm welcome and the food is stunning, we have renters of our property who state as one of the reasons for returning the "Indian" and i have to admit i have been know to bring a take away back to the UK, so i would 100% recommend Nirvana and if you do go be warned you will have to go back ;-) we do every trip !!!

Thank Zak I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expertgates, Public Relations Manager at Nirvana Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

On behalf of Jim and Meena I would like to thank you for the great review of The Nirvana Restaurant. All of our customers are special to us, for we know that without them this would be just another empty "local". Please keep spreading the word, and we look forward to seeing you on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 163 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nice flavours and well balanced dishes. All the usual suspects on menu for a westernised curry house. Plenty of choice and good service with a smile. Entire meal with drinks was €40 so comparable with UK curry houses.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pgwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expertgates, Public Relations Manager at Nirvana Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We are very please that you tried our restaurant, and that you found the experience enjoyable and had the time to give us such a good review.We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area and fancy a curry.
Meena and Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

During the past seventeen years that we have been coming to this part of Spain we have changed banks three times, cars seven times , and seen countless restaurants come and go. Nirvana has stood the test of time, being our constant favorite Indian restaurant. Mina and Jimmy have the perfect balance of friendliness and delicious food backed up with a great team. We particularly like their signature Goan dishes and skill in creating the spot-on degree of spiciness for your taste. We have introduced our Spanish friends, who are also fans of Mina’s perfect spice harmony secret. For us best Indian cuisine on the Costa.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sausalito42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expertgates, Public Relations Manager at Nirvana Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We are so very please that you tried our restaurant many times, and that you continue to find the experience enjoyable and had the time to give us such a wonderful review.We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area and fancy a curry.
Meena and Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I, along with any visiting family members and friends, have been frequenting Nirvana ever since it opened close to Benalmadena Pueblo. A trip to Spain always includes a meal (or two) in this fabulous restaurant. Having just about been through the whole menu there is not one dish that I could recommend over another, all are equally delicious and well prepared. Spicing can be adjusted to your preference, which I don’t necessarily agree with as I am a great believer in “A Korma is Korma strength and a Vindaloo is Vindaloo strength” although it does mean that everybody’s spice tolerance is catered for. I can honestly say that I can’t remember having experienced Indian cuisine of this quality in any restaurant, even taking into account that our home in England is close to a town boasting around 80 Indian restaurants. Unlike other establishments which I have tried where all dishes appear to derive from exactly the same mass produced curry base, all dishes are cooked fresh to order and each one is immediately distinguishable from the next. If I did have any gripe at all it would be that there is a wine list. What for? Surely only beer will match a curry!

Our first, and probably last, meal out on our next, and each subsequent trip to Spain will almost definitely be at Nirvana.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expertgates, Public Relations Manager at Nirvana Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We are very please that you tried our restaurant so many times, and that you found the experience enjoyable and had the time to give us such a good review.We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area and fancy a curry.
Meena and Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was very surprised to be eating such delicious Indian food in Malaga, Spain! The owners are a husband and wife team who make you feel very welcome the minute you arrive. My children are fussy about spicy food, and the chef Meena, came out to chat with them and discuss how much spice they wanted, if any at all. That was amazing, as they polished up their food! I particularly enjoyed the sizzling king prawn dish, the tarka daal, and the cheese and garlic naan bread. If you are traveling to Malaga, Spain and enjoy Indian food, this is one not to miss!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jayani k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nirvana Restaurant also viewed

Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Nirvana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing