We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Holiday Polynesia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Polynesia
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is an outstanding hotel. Very clean and tidy. We went as a family of 4.. 2 adults & 2 children aged 6&4. We all had a perfect holiday from 6/10/13 - 13/10/13. Weather was lovely. Everything was great except some of the restaurant staff never smiled but cant really blame them being at work in a hot country when everyone else is relaxing. Food as lovely especially the Wok restaurant, it was amazing. The mini disco on a night for kids was really good. From the moment my children woke up that's all they were asking for. They really enjoyed themselves as the staff were really good with them. We mostly stayed on complex, we went down to beach club once but couldn't eat down there as they had stopped doing the food in October so we had to go back to hotel for our lunch. Overall this is a fantastic hotel, We really enjoyed ourselves & would definitely return. Were also thinking about booking up for the Holiday Village down the hill as they have a lot more stuff on for children. Great for a family holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 054 on reception level. I would recommend this room to people who have small child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michele s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOSEFA C, Gerente at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear michele s,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our hotel.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We have taken on board your comments and these will be passed on to the various departments who may be interested.


We hope to see you here again very soon.


Josefa Corbacho
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    908
    452
    183
    101
See reviews for
1,555
467
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oradea
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Holiday Polynesia is an excelent hotel, confortable, all junior suits, excelent restaurant, very helpful staff. rooms are clean, conf bed, animation of great variety. go there any time, you will not regret !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oradea-mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOSEFA C, Gerente at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Oradea-mary,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent holiday at our hotel.

Your kind words will be shared with our team as they enjoy hearing from guests and their views.

Thank you for taking the time and leaving your comments and we hope to see you soon.


Josefa Corbacho
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great for families.
Great/attentive/friendly staff.
Spacious and well equipped room.
Good selection and quality of food.
The location is not great if you want to walk to local places but there is a regular well priced bus service outside the complex.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DJBHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOSEFA C, Gerente at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear DJBHertfordshire,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent holiday at our hotel.

Your kind words will be shared with our team as they enjoy hearing from guests and their views.

Thank you for taking the time and leaving your comments and we hope to see you soon.


Josefa Corbacho
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I'm writing this review while here at the hotel & everything is fresh in my mind.
The Polynesia, Holiday Village, Holiday Palace & Hydros Hotels together with a beach club/water park make up Holiday World.
There is a free open top bus which goes around the hotels every 10 mins & drops off at beach club which is also on main road for getting taxi/local bus. Its a quick walk down the hill but a very steep one back! The bus runs till 6pm after that there is taxi's should you struggle with walking.
The beach club is advertised as being opened 3 days a week only in October but its been open every day & very quiet just now. Its got a pirate ship, water slides, water fountains, tree house, adult only pools, football pitch, tennis courts & bar which all inc guests can still get drinks in. They advertise pizza for 6euros but we havent had so cant say what like.
Beside the beach club is a car park with access down to the beach (walking distance). The beach has lovely sand, loungers for hire should you want & a few bars/restuarants within easy walking distance too.
The Polynesia Hotel is huge! The rooms are lovely, spacious, modern but not the cleanest (dusty not dirty). i dusted on arrival & had to ask for the floors to be mopped (met 2 more sets of people who also requested for floors to be cleaned). Beds are made daily & towels changed but they dont seem to be actually cleaned. The rest of the hotel is clean. There is a huge games room with 10 pin bowling alleys, air hockey, pool tables & game machines. A room with X box & Wii's, A quiet reading room with massage chairs, a small spa for adults & kids can use (i had a massage which was lovely), a small gym, 2 a la cartes, buffet restuarant, kids club (no additional cost if you are all inclusive, very secure & they do loads with kids), outside play park, mini golf, outside pool/table tennis, bars & a lovely pool (There is plenty of loungers & chairs but hotel is quiet this time of year as its near end of season, i counted 30 people around the pool yesterday & its a 500 room hotel!). There is a shop (reasonably priced) selling toys, tshirts, magazines/newspapers, food & drink. You can get loads of branded goods like Nescafe, Tetly, Pringles, Doritos, Kingsmill, Blossom Hill & even Irn Bru!
Now for my grumble.....the food! The buffet breakfast is the best (although the self serve coffee is never hot) there is selection of breads, cheese, meats, fruit, hot foods then freshly made to order bacon, eggs, omlettes, pancakes etc. The lunch & dinner is always luke warm (if you sit inside you can watch for fresh trays of hot food going out but we always sit outside on the balcony) its always a bit samey each day & too similar lunch to dinner. We've had lunch at hotel buffet every day as its much nicer to the snack bar (toasties, hot dogs, burgers, chips, melon, ice cream) but we've eaten out at the Marina twice already in the evening & prob will do remainder of holiday. There is 2 a la carte in hotel, the Wok which is still buffet style - a selection of starters is put out for you to help yourself to, then the raw ingredients are there for you to choose & take up to be cooked in the wok & have sauce added. It was ok. Then there is the Polynesian a la carte & the food was awful. My kids pizza was overloaded with not nice cheese, my macoroni cheese (which doesnt seem very polynesian) had the most disgusting, fake, processed melted cheese which i jst couldnt eat & my husbands steak was just ok although the couple next to us said their steaks were too tuff to eat! We took a bottle of wine from the shops too as the wine isnt great. My other gripe is no matter which of the 3 restuarants we have been in, we have always been offered a first drink but NEVER offered another!
Benalmadena Marina is gorgeous! the 4 of us are under 5 euros there on te bus & 11euros return in a taxi. It has lovely walks, shops, bars & restuarants with the added bonus of fish to feed & yachts to look at...well worth spendingthe evenings there. We've eaten at Metro & Tex-Mex which were both lovely & we spoke to people who had the taster menu at the new Toro & said it was the best steak they'd ever had! The ice cream parlours are fantastic too!
Overall, i'd recommend the hotel to families, i would have always chosen adults only hotels pre children. the facilities are great the food lets it down but even if you budget to eat out every other night it would make a much nicer overall experience. Oh, and for October, its HOT day & evening!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendaZlata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOSEFA C, Gerente at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear BrendaZlata,

Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving your feedback.

We appreciate the feedback as we can use the information to improve our services.

We have taken on board your comments and these will be passed on to the various departments who may be interested.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Josefa Corbacho
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hotel was brillaint staff were fantastic i would defo return i dont much rate the food for the all inclusive but it was ok but we never used it for lunch only for breakfast and dinner but its in a great location so its all easy access to bars and resturants with bus i will be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auzz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOSEFA C, Gerente at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear auzz12,

We are pleased to hear that we were able to please all members of your family.

Your kind words will be shared with all the staff as it motivates them to keep on offering good service.

Thanks for the feedback and hope to welcome you in the future.

Josefa Corbacho
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the Holiday Polynesia. The food was good, too much of it really, and the hotel was superb. Rooms, were so comfortable, clean and roomy; food was good with the widest variety and something different every night. Drinks and service were also very good as we wanted a well organised, no-fuss, no nonsense holiday and we got that exactly. The Thomson holiday rep was informative without being pushy or gushing, the staff were very efficient and as a result barely noticeable, every need was met without any trauma, everything went so smoothly that we were able to completely relax. Surprised really as we hadn't figured beforehand how much of a children and family resort it was. I highly recommend the hotel, I commend the staff, and would definitely go back with grandchildren or as a couple. Perfect for us.

Room Tip: All rooms are suites so doesn't matter but higher rooms are fantastic for views and there are so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaAPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOSEFA C, Gerente at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear PatriciaAPL,

We are very grateful for your recent feedback.

It is always a pleasure to read that we have made our guests happy as it is what we set out to do for all our guests.

Thank you very much for the feedback and we hope to see you soon

Josefa Corbacho
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited for a week at the end of September and had a great time. First impressions of Reception were favourable, then our room....wow. Simply fantastic, we had emailed ahead asking for a quiet room, higher floor with a sea view, and we were given room 326. End of the block (so nobody passing your door) nobody above (no tap dancing on the tiled floors) and the view was stunning. Large balcony, separate bedroom area, fully equipped kitchen area (microwave, hob, kettle, large fridge) flat screen TV (plenty of English channels),good air con and really clean. Probably one of the best we have had in Spain over the years.
Moving on to other things, food quality and choice good, no issues and we're pretty fussy. Service at the bars was excellent, ok there was a small queue occasionally but the staff are quick (and friendly). You can get served at your table also.
The evening entertainment however was not quite the best, one or two shows were half ok (white party) but overall could be better.
All communal areas are clean, it's a large complex so you need a day or two to get your bearings. Pool area is a bit noisy but there are plenty of beds off to the side which is quieter. After breakfast one day we noticed not one towel on a bed, even at 9.30 am.
The hotel is isolated, the bus stop is at the bottom of the hill for cheap travel to the resorts either side of you, alternatively reception will get you a taxi (€12 into Fuengirola).
In our opinion this is a good clean well run hotel, better than we expected (our room allocation has obviously influenced this review). Would suit families with younger kids but caters for all.
Ps we didn't visit the beach club so can't comment on that. Also don't worry about the train line, if it was a problem I would definitely say so, trains come and go in a matter of seconds, we barely noticed them.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodToBeGas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOSEFA C, Gerente at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear GoodToBeGas,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent holiday at our hotel.

Your kind words will be shared with our team as they enjoy hearing from guests and their views.

Thank you for taking the time and leaving your comments and we hope to see you soon.


Josefa Corbacho
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
2.7 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#18 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,206 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
6.4 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Polynesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Polynesia

Property: Holiday Polynesia
Address: Avenida del Sol, P.K. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#16 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Polynesia 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Polynesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Polynesia Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Holiday Polynesia Hotel Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing