We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad points outweigh the good unfortunately and it's def NOT 4*”
Review of Holiday Polynesia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Polynesia
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

As our first family holiday away with our 10 month old we decided to book something we considered to be at least 4* and unfortunately it def is not!

Good points
It's clean and spacious.
The rooms facing the pool and beach are lovely, we only found this out as we had to change rooms on the second morning due to waking up to a fowl smell of sewage in our room it was so over powering I was almost sick (no apologies from front desk and indeed Anneka was actually quite rude..)
The pool is fab (for children and families)
The beach club is also good
The view on the terrace in the restaurant is delightful.
The beer is good!

That's it... Now on to the bad points:

Front desk are not particularly helpful and some are quite rude.
Check in is painfully slow about 25 mins! We took a taxi to avoid the long transfer which i am so grateful we did as it took so long to check in.

The food is DIABOLICAL so much in that my husband has food poisoning on day 4 he is currently trying to recover...
Food is undercooked, not correct temperature, thank god I brought pouches for my daughter as I would not dare give her anything here!
Food is tasteless, bland and dull same old slop night after night.
There is 0 entertainment - just a kids outdoor disco where screaming children run riot until 10pm. So many bored looking Middle Aged couples and bored looking children it's quite shocking that a supposed 4* hotel can carry on this way
Your rooms are not cleaned the beds are made and bins emptied again not 4* service.

Poor poor poor. Am hoping a visit to the marina will make up for it once my hubby has recovered.

Not 4* and Thomson should be ashamed of themselves for stating it is.

Lots of negative feedback on here yet no hotel response frankly says it all

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CathyS1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,300 - 1,306 of 2,603 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

My children and I just got back from a lovely 2 week stay at the Polynesia and we can honestly say the hotel is stunning... very clean throughout, the junior suites are large enough for a family of 4 and had everything we needed. The staff are friendly and efficient. The restaurant food was above average and catered for absolutely everyone, the chocolate fountains were a hit!
The water park is a must, just a miutes ride down the hill on the hotels open top shuttle bus 'Julia'. Just remember to book your lunch at reception the morning before you are going as we forgot most days and there is no free snack bar once you are there.
The Thomson holiday reps were fab, Gary and Sophie, very helpful and friendly, Stephen was chatty and helpful on our trip to Gibraltar, just such a lovely team.
The only downside to the holiday for us and a few people we spoke to was the lack of good quality entertainment in the evening. we found it very boring after dinner. Unfortunately it is not Thomson run and is well below average, my 11 year old son found it boring as the kids club catered mainly for the little ones and myself and my 18yr old daughter found most of the acts cringeworthy to say the least! Had we been closer to Fuengirola and Benalmadena we would have gone out every night and found our own entertainment but a 10 euro taxi ride each way adds up over a fortnight.
Overall we had a fantastic time, the hotel, the staff, the food was all very pleasant, sort out the kids club for the over 10s and get some decent entertainment for after dinner and we would come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joyork t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I booked this hotel in April 2013 for my sisters hen weekend away, there were 14 of us so i was a little apprehensive as to how the hotel staff would welcome us, I shouldn't have worried at all.
We were put on the 5th floor in 4 rooms at the corner, out of the way of other guests so that we could tastefully enjoy ourselves. On a few occasions we were making noise and having a few per-party drinks, but not once did we receive any complaints from staff or other guests.

The pool area was superb, very relaxing and had plenty of sun beds available. The bar and snacks were very reasonably priced and we ate and drank throughout the day here. The hotel mini-market had everything you could possibly need (especially as we had carryon luggage only) and we spent plenty of money on alcohol and snacks etc..

The hotel setting is unbelievable, very picturesque and extremely well maintained and clean.

The hotel was very busy at this time of the year and they made us feel very welcome throughout our stay.
Several members of our party have rebooked this hotel to revisit with their families, that's how impressed we were with it.
Excellent choice!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for a week at May half term & had a great time. The hotel def has the wow factor. There was plenty for adults & children to do & the added bonus of the beach club however I agree with the negative reviews in regards to the food, it's not the best or warmest we've had at an AI Hotel maybe we picked the wrong week as a family that were there for 2 weeks said the food was much better the previous week so seems to be hit & miss! The choice at lunch time by the pool was poor, very little choice & the same every day despite that we had a lovely time however it would have to dramatically improve in the food dept to beat the Aliathon in Cyprus.

Also, as per other reviews they want deposits for just about everything! Be aware that if you require late check out pre-book it with your holiday as it is not guaranteed (we didn't get it stated they were full) but it's also a rip off 41.50 euro's for a few hours, the shop is very very expensive.

All in all the hotel is lovely, plenty for the children to do.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was a little twitchy after reading one or two reviews before we departed, but having seen the majority of persons were offering good reports I had assumed the odd individual had made the wrong choice when booking. Fortunately this turned out to be the case. The hotel is fairly new but a wonderful building, rooms are large, clean and well serviced. The food each day was varied and freshly cooked. The entertainment was what we have all come to expect in Spain, very average but having to cater for all members of the family is not easy. Drink on tap when required. The beach club is a fantastic feature, albeit a few hundred yards down a hill from the hotel. The beach is also to the right of the club and a short walk not town. To reach the club and beach a short walk but you may want to hitch a ride on the free bus back up the short hill. Taxi to benalmadena 10 euro or we took the bus 1.5 euro and they run each 30 mins. We were a grown up family with our grandaughter and this is clearly a family hotel, not for singles, couples etc. Lots of children some of which are not parented too well. All in all a great family holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms 30 and 40 and this particular floor offer balconies in the sun facing sea with jacuzzi include...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NorthamptonWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just got back from a week at this hotel and wish we could of stayed longer we had a fab time!! The hotel was amazing in all aspects and the staff we found were very efficient.
Seven of us went ranging from 2 years old to 50 years old and it had something thing for everyone.
We all found the food amazing, fresh, always hot and lots of choice. Every night was a different theme and the food was very varied.
Rooms were lovely,very spacious and very clean.
The pools were a good size and we changed between the pool and beach club which was also amazing and we all had a great time.
It is out the way slightly but easy to get a bus or taxi into town, also there's a beach about 10 mins walk away which is lovely and so peaceful.
We all want to go back!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

just returned from a 3 night break away

we honestly thought people were being picky ((sorry people)) as you do get them.... some were spot on correct!!!

there are many highs as well as alot of lows

hotel itself is beautiful as well as the rooms and bathroom. the grounds are maintained well so are the toilet facilities

not advertised as a kids hotel, but this was over run with bored kids whose parents were drinking and lazing about! no idea why not at the water park. but as only one hotel pool, there is never any peace and quiet for us to sit and enjoy the sun even to the point having balls banging into your sunbeds or knocking drinks over!!! shame was all brits, which was a let down! the hotel need to have more consideration for adults only on a break away from every day life.

waiter service on bars were good but under staffed as always long queues. in main restaurant always got a seat promptly. food in restaurant was as poor as people say... hit and miss! im not fussy at all but here i was as alot was cold dished, some dried up or full of oil especially the pasta dishes. they seem to serve more cheese for breakfast than after dinner, as only one cheese to get but no crackers??? breakfast was the best meal so fill up and ask for bacon to be cooked for u as what you would get at home!!!!!!! fyi there was a hp sauce thief i got one for our table, went for milk for the cups of tea (the milk you have to get in a bowl) and it had gone!!! haaaa

there is no inside entertainment again for adults and again when you find a table inside (as very cold on an evening still, there are still kids running wild upto 11 and parents having shots whist babies asleep in buggys.... such a shame to see and shame i feel the need to write this up after waiting for this break and saving for it!

the reception experience was a big let down.... we were leaving at 6 on the evening so the nite before i asked about a late check out or courtesy to to be told fully booked and to check the last day. i done what i got told and the young receptionist was very rude which i was surprised about as hotels are always more than helpful! she was checking with her colleague every question i asked and was abrupt. she couldn't even offer us a solution on where to get showered and had to find the facilities which was a shower inside the toilets, ourselves! also on check out i handed in one key card and could not find the second one to be told she needed it no matter what!!! we panicked and luckily found it in a pocket within my bag. i dont want to think what would of happened of could not of found it, shocking customer service!!!!!!
on thelast day it was really cloudy and windy so as my elderly mam was cold we decided to go and find a place to relax.... and guess what!!!!?? no where at all to relax (as no room) no relaxation area within reception area or even the hotel where we could relax.... all places closed!!! this is so wrong!!!!! only places were outside on chairs in the pool area!???

as i started to write this i was going to focus on the good stuff, all in all quite let down for a 4 star hotel and the thomson brand and i would love to gain their comments from my feedback

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tallulah50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.1 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#28 of 45 in Benalmadena
976 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
375 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,988 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Polynesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Polynesia

Address: Avenida del Sol, P.K. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#15 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: $64 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Polynesia 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Polynesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Polynesia Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Holiday Polynesia Hotel Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing