We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Holiday Polynesia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Polynesia
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just returned from a Golf Pro Am where this was our base. The hotel is a little out of the way and requires a cab into town really but was ok for our base. So lets list the positives:
Rooms were spacious and well equiped with large bathroom and ample bedroom and living space. The hotel is very clean. Restaurant staff fairly efficient but went all inclusive so you help yourself anyway. Local drinks and beers were fine. Pool areas spacious. Breakfast very good with great choice.
Negatives: Bar too small for size of hotel (at the time there was only one bar available....don't know if there is more than one bar in hotel available ?). Evening food not as good as breakfast and no hot plates to put the luke warm food on ! Check in was very slow....only two people checking in around 25 of us. Should not have to wait around half an hour to check in.
All in all a pretty good experience and ideal for our golf base. I wou;d hapilly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GOLFPROMrV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    874
    432
    171
    93
See reviews for
1,473
455
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cambs england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We returned on the1st March from a week at the polynesia. What can I say. The hotel definately has that wow factor, would recommend this hotel to families. The rooms are amazing, with lovely views.
The hotel is out of the way from anything, but we knew that when booking, There is a free bus which takes you down to the bottom of the hill, then a bus can be picked up for 3.20 per couple into a few nearby towns.

The weather wasn't good, but it was Feb, so to be expected. The outdoor pool was definately too cold to use, but the indoor pool was nice, but cost 5 euros per person per hour.
The food was very nice, and warm enough. The breakfast was my favourite with english bacon. i was poorly whilst I was there, so didn't drink as much alcohol as I would have liked, but my hubby did. The all inclusive was def the way to go, as the drinks were expensive if purchased after 11pm, when the all inc finishes.
I would def return to this hotel, but maybe may time instead.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors have bigger balconies, but would be noisy in the summer I would imagine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan c C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Polynesian hotel theme and atmosphere are tremendous. A real treat. The pools will be great when the outside temperatures are high enough to use them (not in February though), and the hotels amenities are very good. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. The hotel has an all inclusive formula, but also - at least during the low season - rents out self catering junior suites. If you use facilities throughout the hotel and you are a self catering guest - like we were - people look at you as if you are from another planet, ' out of this world'. The hotels biggest flaw is the lack of decent WiFi. If you have an apple device: forget it. The connection is virtually non exisent (literally out of this world). I did complain several times and was giventhe reply that my room was listed as 'excellent wifi reception area' but i can assue you: it was not. In the end i was offered a 12 euro refund of the fee i payed for wifi (yes, you have to pay.....). i insisted on better solutions and asked for another room which in the end, was granted. I tested teh room for wifi, but........worthless! Besides an iPhone and an iPad we also had a Nokia cell phone amd a HP notebook, but they all failed! So if you need wifi during your stay: book somewhere else!!!

Room Tip: From a wifi's point of view, there are nog good rooms.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

On the penultimate day of a February visit with family and friends.

We've had a very relaxing, pleasant stay.

It's obviously quieter than one would expect in the summer but nevertheless there was plenty to do. Free tennis and crazy golf and a decent variety if food (even for my vegetarian family).

The rooms are well planned and comfortable as well as contemporary. It's not right next to the beach, but it's isn't far either and the free hotel bus service up and down the hill and to various local places of interest was a bonus.

Really very pleased and had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went in April at Easter it was excellent food was great pool was excellent everyone loved the waterpark the jacuzzi near golf course was great sows the golf corse spa was great family loved the gym.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Kailen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork city ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

i really dont know what the fuss is about this hotel,myself and my 2 boys ages 12 and 8 stayed here from 27dec-3jan,we loved this hotel from the minute we walked in the doors,yes it is far out but we still got there,room was best ive been in a long time,fab sea view,room 628,,-1 floor,checking in was fast,food was lovely and not cold,entertainment was grand yes after xmas day it got quiet but we went for a break so enjoyed the peace,staff were lovely,new years eve gala dinner was something else all inclusive lasted till 5am,kids club opened at 12.30 am so adults could enjoy there night,we're booked again for easter and cant wait,,

Room Tip: it was our first time we were on -1 floor over looking pool and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank annndoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We traveled to the hotel in August, first impressions where that the hotel is big, clean and nice and the staff were police and helpful, but on the Thompson website it doesn't mention anything about the rats or that it is far away from the beach, shops and resteraunts etc. After tasting the food we were impressed, but the only bad thing was that it was the same foods each night. After a week in the swimming pool both me and my husband got an ear infection but surprisingly my daughter didn't catch anything; however I am still under supervision with the hospital and I have to go for regular checks all because of the swimming pool on holiday! we all enjoyed our stay at the hotel but im certain we definitely not go again. Also around the pool area there was rats scatterering around looking for food because of people leaving there food around so thats what attracts them!
Love Paula

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank bobsjssjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#28 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,706 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Polynesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Polynesia

Property: Holiday Polynesia
Address: Avenida del Sol (antigua CN-340) P.K. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#15 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Polynesia 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Polynesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Polynesia Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Holiday Polynesia Hotel Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing