We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel,ignore the moaners and read this.”
Review of Holiday Polynesia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Polynesia
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I have stayed in hotels in Benalmadena for many years and this is by far the best. It may not suit everyone, it totally depends on what your looking for and to do.

Firstly if you are looking for a hotel in the town centre and in the middle of everything then its not for you. It is quite away from both Benalmadena and Fungirola but taxi and busses are all cheap and easy to get.

Secondly all the people that moan that their food is cold. The Spanish do no have their food boiling hot as we do, its a buffet system so food wont be baking but perfectly eccaptable. On my visit it seemed that they may have been trying even to turn the heating systems up on the food whch was actually drying it out!

The hotel is fantastic, it's like being in a theme hotel with fountains, fish, birds, turtles and great feathures. It's a real head turner and a lovely place. The staff on check in could not be better, friendly and have great English skills. I booked a junior suite but upgraded to a suite with a hot tub and boy was it worth it! My room was on the ground floor with a huge sun patio, this included sun loungers, chairs, a hot tub and an amazing view of the sea. The view was stunning. Rooms were a good size with comfy beds, a fantastic bathroom with shower, tub and 2 sinks. The rooms have 2 tv,s and they can be used without remote controls with English channels available.

So the hotel, I went off season so expect it to be quiet, the food was good with no repeats over 4 days, bars good with a nice choice of drinks and even the free entertainment in the evening and during the day is good.

If you go out of season expect it to be quiet, the hotel itself is amazing and if you want a chilled quiet and lovely break away from things then this is the place for you.

Walk around and explore and certainly pay a visit to the indoor spa, it will chill you out andbe a holiday treat. I went away with my girlfriend and watched the sun set over the sea from the hot tub on the patio, an amazing experience at a hotel you wont be dissapointed with for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank gazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,398 - 1,404 of 2,633 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

Hotel is part of Holiday World which consists of a number of hotels within the same gated complex. As we are out of season we were accommodated in hotel Polynesia. Impressive entrance, huge hotel but very dark inside, landings not dissimilar to prison.
However 1 bed apt was lovely, great bathroom with bath, freestanding shower and 2 sinks. Decent 4 seater settee and flat screen tv with English channels. 2 queen size beds in bedroom and plenty if storage. Great balcony overlooking the pool and coast, biggest let down was the kitchen area as we were self catering, 4 ring hob, microwave, tiny kettle and toaster.
There is obviously a lot going on in season and we could not fault the communal areas, great pool, plenty of outside space, lovely lounge/piano bar.
Food! We had the first meal on arrival in the buffet restaurant and wished we hadn't bothered €26 each for lukewarm food really poor. Luckily we were self catering and with car hire were able to get out and about and eat out. One day while round the pool we decided to try the lunch buffet but didn't bother as they were trying to charge us €26 each again, absolute rip off.
Other guests on the all inclusive told us the choice of buffet had been significantly reduced as well.
On the plus side the few staff about were friendly and helpful. Was sick of the piped music throughout the hotel especially when you can hear it in the apt.
Thank god we hired a car, would have been bored to death otherwise.

Room Tip: Great view over pool and coast but noisy due to road and imagine due to entertainment in peak season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We spent a really lovely week at the polynesia hotel as from 11th Nov till the 18th Nov 2012 All the staff are lovely & helpful,as we were all inclusive we found it a fantasic way to holiday.Thanks go also to the fantastic friends we made.The rooms are more than we expected & all though the food was a little bit cool at times I do believe that one would have only have to ask & this could have been sorted,once again nothing was to much trouble for the staff of this hotel.All the staff are a credit to this hotel..well done & yes we hope to return very soon A & K Jackson

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alfalfa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel was lovely, stayed here from 11th till the 18th. All inclusive is definatley the way forward. Although food could have been a little bit warmer at times. Entertainment wasnt great but the wonderful people we met more than made up for it. Hello to all of u and thanks for making the holiday 1 to remember....... we'll be back!!.......loved the hot dogs!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisnkathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights AI from Sunday 11th to Friday 16th, hotel definately 4 star, food 3 star. Staff friendly, but best of all we enjoyed the company of other guests like Alan and Karen from Norfolk, Craig and Leane from Neath,Mark and Lisa from Hull, Sylvia and Melvin from Melton Mowbury and Chris and Katherine also from Norfolk, would definately return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

me my partner and 7 year old daugther stopped there last week for 1 week we found the hotel fanastic and y daughter loved all of it, we stayed self catering and we eat out every day . but we did have a beer or 2 in the bar but it was 7 euros for 2 beers. but apart from that it was an amazing holiday and would recomend to anyne that has kids of there own!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

went here end october.reading some reviews we nearly didnt pick this hotel.so glad we ignored bad reviews.yes its out of the way but u know that when u book it.bus stop outside to take u anywhere,rooms great nd spacious,yes pool was cold nd should b heated.agree with a few things but the hotel is great.dont b put off by these people.all staff were pleasent,it annoys me when u read such awfull reviews,im fussy were i stay nd thought this hotel was a 4staronly complaint was the weather 2 days of solid rain not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tinkerbellwrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#28 of 45 in Benalmadena
986 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,903 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
2.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
3.8 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Polynesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Polynesia

Address: Avenida del Sol, P.K. 215,6, 29639, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#17 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: $64 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Polynesia 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Polynesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Polynesia Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Holiday Polynesia Hotel Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing