We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GETTING IN !!!”
Review of Casinomar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casinomar
Reviewed April 7, 2012

arrived sunday 25th March at 10am, already pretty hot at that time of day. Place looked great until i realised i couldnt get into the locked gates. After much ringing the booking agency number for help in getting in but them not being able to get through to the numbers either, i snook in through the gates as a car left, i was told by an english lady the number for the key holder is on the shop window around the corner, the shop was shut but had no number. It took 6 hours for the key holder to finally come out to me and let me in. i was hot, sunburnt and dehydrated, i was very scared by the whole thing, i had ran out of credit on my phone and all i wanted was my faince to book me a flight home again, it was not a nice experience being a female on my own in a foreign country with the language barrier, if it had not been for the english lady helping me (she used her own phone and having fluent spanish she got me sorted... much thanks to her). she informed me this was a regular occurance and in fact, it happened to another family on the friday before i left. I also must have been the only person in that block of apartments that would answer the door to the postman every morning, he rang my bell continually until i did so, so i had no choice.... i was on this holiday as a break from 3 years of treatment to a spinal injury... running up and down 2 flights of stairs was not my idea of fun !!

HOWEVER.... all that put aside, the apartment was fantastic, clean, breathtaking views, lovelly balcony that overlooks the sea, quiet area but within easy walking distance to some amazing shops and a real exhilerating walk across the coastal line. I advise anyone to eat in Tam Tams, brilliant food, a tadd expensive but a worth every penny, i sat on the terrace drinking a jug of sangria and eating wonderful food there for most of my stay... there is 2 large supermarkets within walking distance, selling good but wine at low cost so by 9pm i was back on my lovelly balcony chilling out with a book and a nice wine, dont bother eating in,i bought my own continental style breakfast items to eat on the balcony every morning, which kept me going through the day but its far more cheaper to eat out in the evening.

To be honest, i wouldnt have even moaned about the post man if i hadnt a bitter taste still in my mouth concerning not being able to get in to the apartment, that really is my only big moan. My fiance and my daughter plan to return to the area for a month, maybe longer, very soon, and i have to be honest, as long as i can be assured the key would be there on time, i would return back to the apartments on this complex without hesitation. If it had nt been for the key i would have rated this a 5 instead of the 3 i have given.

NOTE TO THE OWNER..... BEAUTIFUL PLACE BUT YOU NEED TO GET THE KEY ARRANGEMENTS SORTED OUT MUCH BETTER, YOUR PAYING A PERSON TO DO THIS WHO IS NOT DOING HIS JOB AS HE SHOULD, ITS A SCARY POSITION TO BE PUT IN AS A SINGLE FEMALE TRAVELER AND NO DOUBT JUST AS SCAREY WITH YOUNG CHILDREN TOO.

Room Tip: just make sure the keys are sorted on arrival before you go.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank karenprokopowycz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Casinomar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 33 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

The casinomar apartments are clean and spacious,the grounds were beautifully kept as was the pool.The apartments are very well equipt with full cooker,microwave,washing machine and more than enough cutlery and crockery,we cooked a full christmas dinner for 7 people which tells you how well equipt these apartments are.
I would advise anyone who is arriving after 5pm to call the reception and let them know the time you are arriving so that they can arrange for someone to meet you with a key.It does actually advise this on the comfirmation booking and gives the telephone number,but it is in small print and can easily be missed.We arrived at 11pm and was met 5 minutes later by a rep arriving with the key.
This is the reception phone number for making arrangements ------. The apartments are about a 10 minute walk from the shops bars and restaurants so anyone arriving late with young tired and hungry children would be better making sure they have something packed to eat in the apartment,

There is a large supermarket nearby but the small shop below the complex is good too.The beach is only about 5 mins walk away,most of the apartments have fantastic views of the sea.
If you need to change money do not use the bank on the corner walk to the shops and all the tour operators change money for 0% commission.

It is well worth visiting Paloma park for children and adults,lots of small animals,great activities for the kids and a cafe.The bus service is fantastic and there is the biggest market on the Costa del Sol in marbella on Tuesdays.The bus runs every hour,buses to Fuengirola are every 20 minutes it is worth the visit.A great day out is the Gibralta trip which you purchase from the tour operators 13 Euro for a shopping day which goes three times a week,it is more expensive for the guided tour.
The apartments and the area they are in is very peaceful away from the crowds but close enough to everything.Ideal for families and couples young or the more mature,may be a problem for anyone with limited mobility because of walking to and from shops and restaurants.Forgot to mention there are lifts in the apartment blocks,which makes it easier as there are quite a few flights of steps to get to the upper floor
Hope this review has been of some help and hope you enjoy Benalmadena and the apartments as much as we did.Happy holidays

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank helen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I was staying with my younger brother there for 2 weeks, the place was meant for 4 persons but with just 2 it was more than satisfying. The studio apartment had 2 balconies, nice kitchen and small livingroom. It was cleaned after every 3 days by the genetor. We had to move to a smaller apartment before last night due some technical problems but we just lost about 1 hour of our time to move into apartment located on a lower floor.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElRudolfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We have stayed in these apartments several times, very quiet location. We have always been very pleased with the spacious apartments. A good kitchen, and a washing machine which is very welcome. They are a little bit away from the centre, but there are a couple of bars just outside the apts, and a little supermarket which is very handy, and quite reasonable.

There is also a larger supermarket about 10 minutes walk, and the bus stops are a couple of minutes from the apts. The pool area is really lovely, with nice garden, the only, downside there are no sunbeds or sunshades, but this is not a problem for us.

We have always found checking in ok, even when we have arrived outside hours, we rang the number on the door, and they have been very quick to come with key. Maybe we have been lucky.

We will be returning, but maybe a little refurbishing could be in order, but overall we like the area, and the apartments are comfortable.

Room Tip: email and ask for a sunny balcony, although not guaranteed
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mounty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

if you get their late or on a sunday better be prepaired to sleep on the street as no one will bring the key we spent 2 hours trying to get in we had a 6 month old baby and despite agents in britan ringing round to get keys none came we were told to book into a hotel for 1 night we did at a cost of 260 euro which we were told will be refunded only 95 pounds has been offered to date and refuse to offer more when we did get in appartment was good but beware of man pretending to be a rep hes going to try to get 8500 pounds for a time share if you let him in

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snowie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

We are a family of 4 and stayed at Casinomar for a week at October half term in a 1 bed-roomed apartment. The apartments are in 3 blocks in a quieter part of Benalmadena directly across the road from the Torrequebrada hotel and casino and close to the golf course. There is a combination of timeshare, full ownership and holiday rental usage in each of the blocks.

Our views on the accomodation and Benalmadena are very mixed. Firstly the positives, the accomodation was really spacious with a large living area, kitchen, bedroom with ensuite bathroom, a large hallway and 2 really good size balconies. The layout could have been awkward if we had been 4 adults, as per the capacity, as the only bathroom was ensuite however it worked fine for us . The whole site is gated and required a key for foot or car access into an underground parking area with allocated parking spot. Access was directly from the car park into the internal stair well of each building. Our apartment had lovely views of the ocean and the sorrounding mountains. There was a pool with a children's section sorrounded by a grassed area with parasols, there were no sun loungers but the grass was comfortable to lay on with towels and the area was really clean and well tended. The apartments are a bit out of the centre but on the road to the side of them were a couple of cafe/bars, a brilliant minimarket which was crammed to the rafters but had just about anything you could want, a hairdressers, pharmacy and a couple of banks. About a 5 minute walk away was another row of new looking and good quality restaurants and a large supermarket . To get into the centre of benalmadena was about a 25 minute walk or a bus ride from directly outside the complex( 1.15 euro each way No's 110, 120)

The negatives, there is no proper reception on arrival I had to ring a number for someone to come to the property with a key- on ringing the number was unavailable and caused several minutes anxiety until I saw a sheet of paper stuck to the window giving an alternative one, the person with the key arrived after about 5 minutes-luckily we arrived at 10.00pm apparantly if it had been after midnight we would not have been able to get the key till the next morning- on departure we had to leave the key outside in the open which hardly seemed safe. Despite being generally really nice internally the apartments were starting to look a bit shabby and could have done with sprucing up, some of the door frames were slightly rotten and some wall tiles were cracked. The kitchen was wonderfully equipped with electrical equipment with full cooker, microwave, fridge freexer, dishwasher and washing machine but lacked the provision of the basics there was insufficient crockery and only one huuuuuge saucepan this made preparing even a basic breakfast and eating it at the same time impossible. Probably the most annoying thing however was the noise caused by really poor sound proofing and inconsiderate apartment owners( we know they were owners as they checked in at 3.00 in the morning). The doors to the apartment were metal and had huge gaps under them unfortunately our apartment was situated in a stairwell, thus every door slammed in the stairwell, of which there were many sound like cannon fire going off. For the first few days we didn't pick up any noise from surrounding apartments but then had the misfortune of having the nosiest people above us, as mentioned they arrived at 3.00a.m and for 2 hours proceeded to bang every cupboard and drawer while their children ran around screeching and shouting loudly, at about 5.00am things seemed intially to quieten down but they then decided to get intimate directly above us and didn't finally stop until 6.00a.m. Had this been a one night only event I could probably have lived with it but it wasn't and was repeated the following night from midnight until 4.45 and our final night. Shamefully I decided to get at least a little revenge on our day of departure when we had to be up at 8.00( only an hour after they had finished a further night banging -in more ways than one) and I slammed every door at every opportunity and left my hairdryer running in the bedroom- that's what sleep deprivation can do for you!

While I wouldn't be put off the apartments altogether I would definitely try and get a top floor one away from a stairwell.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank janep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfresorts, manager at Casinomar, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2009

Dear Guest

First of all, i would like to thank you for taking the time to write a comment about our self catering apartments.

I deeply apologise that you have been disturbed by some noisy neighbours, due to the location of your unit. it's not usual but people behaviour is difficultly controlled.

As per your coment, this is the only negative point you've mentioned ( noisy neighbours), and the rest of the facilities and the apartments was quit good and relaxing. i suggest that next time for any matter please contact reception to find you an immediate solution, as changing the apartment.

Efectively our recepction close at 21h and is open all day, so for late check in, we provide a free keys delivery service, so our guests don't have to pick up the keys some where else.
this person should take you to your apartment and make sure everything is ok.

Please accept our apologises and accept a free two days stay invitation for your next booking at our "Spacious good value apartments" CASINOMAR

Sincerely yours

The manager



-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Luis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
THB Torrequebrada Hotel
THB Torrequebrada Hotel
#16 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vista de Rey
Vista de Rey
#39 of 45 in Benalmadena
436 reviews
1.6 mi away
Europark 74 Aparthotel
Europark 74 Aparthotel
#33 of 45 in Benalmadena
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,047 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,921 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casinomar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casinomar

Address: Avda. Europa | Urb. Torrequebrada, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Benalmadena
Price Range: $47 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casinomar 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Casinomar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casinomar Hotel Benalmadena
Casinomar Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing