We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time Around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vista de Rey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Vista de Rey to your Saves list
Vista de Rey
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Guadalmedina s/n | Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“2nd Time Around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We returned to the Vista de Rey on 12th May for 12 nights looking forward to the holiday as much as we did last year. We had requested the same room as last time -102- but they couldn`t do it so gave us 117 instead which was an identical poolside ground floor room. Apart from TV upgrades the rooms were pretty much as you were, everything you need for your holiday...except a tea towel.
Reception staff were lovely and helpful especially the younger one and nothing seemed too much trouble.The rooms were cleaned every 2-3 days, but ask if you need anything.
Food wise they no longer did evening meals which was no bad thing as the people who endured it previously did not really think much of it and everybody can`t be wrong!!
Breakfast was again as it was bread, bread rolls (and not Warburtons quality ) cold meats cheese, fruit juices a coffee urn and fruit salad The thing I can`t get my head round is the toaster is from the Ark, its useless.
The hotel was gearing up for summer when we left the pool bar was putting up its menu and they had put draught San Miguel on,4 Euros for a pint- better than 2 Euros for a 330 ml can of lager me thinks. Los Boliches is a good place to get of the train and wander along the front to Fuengirola, loads of bars and restaurants likewise go to Torremelinos and walk along the seafront and get of at Carihuela and wander op the narrow street with bars shops and restaurants,we did and found base for our return to the C D S next t year.
All in all a good base close to the train station and access the whole coast and local towns, BUT the 1 thing that has put us of going back is...
If you intend on going out until late and require a taxi you will end up paying at least 10 Euros a go that is when you can get through to them where you want to go, take 1 of the hotel cards with you and show them it will save a lot of misunderstandings and we decided that 120 + Euros would be better spent on accommodation which better suited our needs.
You won`t really go wrong here if you are adults but I wouldn`t like to think of taking younger kids here as there is nothing for them
Enjoy
Andy

Room Tip: If you want privacy go up, if not any ground floor room is convenient for pool and bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AraiAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
lymm cheshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Returned a few days ago from Vista de Rey Torremuelle and really enjoyed our 6 day stay.We found the staff excellent nothing was too much trouble, the Manager was extremely helpful as were all Reception staff..
We had superb room 321 and were very lucky to be allocated this and thanked them very much..All corner rooms have 2 balconies which makes these rooms slightly bigger and lighter..There are lifts to the top floor so you dont have to climb the stairs every time. The only comment would be the walls were a bit thin but that also depended on who your neighbours are as does most hotels
We travelled by train from Malaga Airport to Torremuelle - the hotel a few yards from the station. We used the train every day and went to different beach areas and enjoyed the Tapas Bars in different areas - one being Los Boliches on the train line before Fuengirola. This was very pleasant and much quieter than Fuengirola. If you get the local paper from Reception it tells you about local areas and different Restaurants etc. We used the local Restaurant La Lucena which we found excellent for Tapas and larger meals too. The local Supermarket was useful for odd shopping and was down the hill but a drag coming back We found cutting across the waste land was quicker and not so steep..
The hotel pool was good though was cool hadnt warmed up very much, there were sunbeds but we tended to go out, we like the beaches better.
Overall it was an excellent week and i would definitely recommend it to other people.

Room Tip: Corner rooms 321 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrissym122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

a group of 12 adults travelled to these apartments on 26th of june for a week the apartments are really nice very well maintained and the staff are very friendly and helpful me and my partner travelled alone earlier in the day than the rest of the group and made the mistake of booking a return transfer [30 euro ] then discovered that the train leaves from Malaga airport and leaves you directly outside the hotel for 1.90 euro per person a lot cheaper and a lot faster this hotel would be perfect for anyone renting a car for the week and looking for a quiet base for us it was a bit too remote although you could get a train to benalmadena fuengerolia or torremelinos from outside the door 1.70 per person each way we had a great week and loved the hotel but probably wouldn't sray there again because of the distance from everything there is a big british supermarket 5 minutes from the hotel and a lovely little bar [ le chique] plus a beautiful resteraunt close by too but that's it if booking you will love your stay here but be aware of how far it is from the actual resort thanks again to the staff in the hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heavyheadbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in the Vista de Rey for a week on 7th May we got the train from Malaga to Torremuelle which was aprox 1.90 euro we found it fast and much better & cheaper than other transfers the train stops about 100 yards in front of the hotel (don’t worry they are extremely quiet ) arriving at the hotel we were greeted by a young receptionist who I found much friendlier than the other Larger woman we were asked to wait to ensure our room was ready as we did arrive at about 11am we were then given room 316 the room was Open plan &spotless and had a comfy sofa 2 comfy beds a flat screen TV (which we didn’t bother using) The bathroom was clean and modern but did have a bit of a wobbly showerhead the Kitchen was modern and clean with clear instructions on how to use the new electric hob there is a full size larder fridge and we had everything we needed if we wanted to cook a full meal i.e. utensils pots & pans / cutlery there is not much to do in the hotel (due to it being early season)the pool is small but ok as so is the hotel there is a option to have breakfast in the hotel in lower ground floor but we never tried this there is a local supermarket down a hill to the rear of the hotel which is very expensive its cheaper to jump train 1 stop to benalmadena and go the Mercadona shop with the convenience of the train we went to torromolinos for a day / night out which was great with lots of lovely places to eat I found it much nicer than fuengirola which was more town / city like with lots of traffic to get to the seafront of Benalmadena we walked (mainly downhill) took about 1 hour & half (stopping for a drink on route) there is a nice Indian restaurant called The Mint Leaf and rather reasonable too we tried a bar called Buzbys which was run by Mad Terry (from a group called black lace ???) apparently a voice impersonator of singers (sorry I didn’t recognise one voice or recall the group he was in back in the day ) needless to say we didn’t stay long !! don’t be fooled by the girl on the corner called Dion giving out scratch cards not surprising we won 1st prize but she tried to get us to spend a whole morning looking around the Sunset beach club (which she said was being promoted by low-cost airlines for s/c holidays) she said we would get a 1000 euro for this 1st prize I told her we would go on the day before we leave but checked on internet for this SCAM and as I thought the good old timeshare reps are at it again all she wanted was her 50 euro for us to be dragged around this hotel SORRY DION no 50 euro for you ….lol …. all in all IWOULD go back to the vista de rey for a peaceful week its not ideal for kids or people with walking difficulties though

Room Tip: Upper floor have balcony suntrap room 316
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mishy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel is right in front of the train that runs up and down the coast to Malaga so that is really handy. The room was fine with a little kitchen and also heater and air conditioning. There was a pool for warmer months and the staff was fantastic. The economy is bad in Spain so remember to tip the staff from time to time as they really appreciate that kindness and consideration. You can get to the hotel directly by train from the airport which is so great. There is a grocery store nearby and beaches up and down the coast. The price was the very best I saw on the coast.

Room Tip: Rooms on first level get more sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike8067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just returned from the Vista De Rey, nice clean hotel, helpful receptionist the nearest beech is approx 10 mins walk there are some local bars close by with good prices for beers and wines i didn't like the local supermarket next to the british college the staff followed you around acting like we were shoplifters so we went to the supermarket next to the beech the train service is excellent every 20 mins 1.70 euro's per journey the bus service is also good 1.50 euro per journey there are some british channels but you do need the remote control ask the receptionist and they will show you how to get the channels. Be aware that it is not in Banalmadena so you cant walk to the centre also the location is quite steep if you want a no fuss quiet location then this is the place for you i would recommend

Room Tip: ask for room 301 it has two balconies and fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at the Vista de Rey for 8 days in mid May. It's about a half hour drive from the airport and is right outside the Torremuele railway station. Don't worry, as the trains are electric and virtually silent! The hotel is a five minute walk from the small beach- the whole coastline is a mix intermittently sandy and pebbled coves- it's also at the top of a hill, with a couple of nearby small mini-market shops, which had handy opening times.

Our room was a self catering apartment and we managed to cook easily with the two hobs and microwave, kettle and toaster.The fridge had a decently sized freezer, enough to cool two bottles of wine quickly!

The whole room looked quite newly decorated and was clean and tidy. The beds were very comfy and the cleaner came twice during our stay and did a thorough job. There was plenty of crockery, though if you like a big mug of tea/coffee of a morning you'd be advised to take your own cup. I'd also take a corkscrew if you can, as none of the rooms seemed to have one in, but the ever helpful receptionist uncorked bottles of wine for us without a fuss.

The bathroom was also newly decorated and hot water was very hot and plentiful whatever time of day. Our balcony got sun of a morning, and was shaded in the evening, so we ate al fresco.

My partner tried the small-ish pool and we did a fair bit of lounging round beside it. There was a bar of sorts, and a lot of people sat out during the evening, but we didn't sample it, or see anyone having the breakfast offered as most supermarket beers, wines and spirits in Spain are inexpensive compared to the UK.

There is an underground car parking facility at an extra 4 euros per day, along with the air conditioning and safe. We didn't bother as most locals seem to park in the street without a problem. There was a nice flat screen TV in our room, but again, it offers only Spanish language viewing.

We very much liked the Vista de Rey as it was out of the way, though if you are expecting loads to do nearby, then perhaps this isn't the place for you. Minor gripes aside with the cutlery, we couldn't recommend it enough, if you're after a quiet self catering break.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left get sun during the evening- on the right during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AndyYorks77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.4 mi away
Minerva Jupiter Apartments
Minerva Jupiter Apartments
#30 of 47 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#37 of 47 in Benalmadena
3.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#12 of 47 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 stars 2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 47 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 stars 1,976 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista de Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista de Rey

Address: C/ Guadalmedina s/n | Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista de Rey 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Vista de Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Rey Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing