We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and base...”
Review of Vista de Rey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vista de Rey
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Warrington, Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great stay and base...”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Vista De Rey and really enjoyed it. Yes, the hotel is not in Benalmedena, but it does have other benefits.

We stayed in room 317 and it looked like it had recently been refurbished. This is the second and top floor. Had a large balcony and every room had a sea view. Kitchen was very modern with a double halogen hob, microwave, fridge, kettle and toaster. There is no corkscrew and the can opener was pre-historic and lethal, so take your own if needed. No draining board and no tea towel provided, but washing-up liquid and a scourer provided.

Bathroom had shower, bidet, toilet and sink. Water was very hot and you only need the bar at the middle point. Shower was excellent.

In the main room we had 2 single beds, a big wardrobe with plenty of hangers, safe (4 euro's a day with a 10 euro returnable deposit), air-conditioning, sofa bed, desk/chair, tv and cabinet. There was no extra charge for the TV or air-conditioning. Not many english speaking channels, mainly Paramont on channel 9 and Nitro. If you like football go to Marco TV on channel 20 as we picked up quite a number of spanish matches on it.

The main negative point is that there is only 1 restaurant (Lucena II), 1 bar (La Chica) and 1 supermarket (Supersave), which also had a cafe in it. The bar was great, english run, nicely decorated, had sky tv and very friendly. Lucena 11 is at the bottom of the hill which is a 5 minute walk under the bridge. Menu in english and was great.

The supermarket was also a few minutes walk down a slight slope, was well stocked with a mixture of english and continental goods and prices were good. The cafe in the supermarket seemed very popular and we saw quite a lot of spanish eating there. The hill is not that bad, and as mentioned in a previous review you can take some steps to the top and then its pretty flat as you walk to the front of the hotel.

Hotel reception was very clean, nicely decorated and everyone spoke good english and they were all really friendly. There is also a bar, book library and leaflets. There is no hairdryer in the room, but just ask at reception. Did say in the guest book in the room that a deposit was required, but I wasn't asked for one.

Big positive is that literally outside the hotel front door is the main train line from Malaga. You don't hear the trains in your room, they come every 20 minutes and cost 1.70 each way. It doesn't need to cost you a fortune to get around, if you plan well. Basically if we took the train we would be out for the day and eat before returning to the apartment.

We also did a trip to Gibralter which we booked in Benalmadena, and they picked us up on the main room at the bus stop opposite the Playa Bonita hotel, which took us under 10 minutes to walk to.

The cleaners come in every 3 days to change the towels and bedding, so you are quite self-sufficient but we preferred that and reception was always available if we needed anything.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. We had great accommodation, brilliant trips, a great train service on our doorstep and very friendly and helpful hotel staff.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor, as speaking to another couple who were on the first floor we got the impre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Suesreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    123
    94
    65
    88
See reviews for
93
202
25
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here for 15 pounds a night - a real bargain! The studio apartment was modern and comfortable. We requested top floor, sunny balcony with a sea view and had exactly that (room 310). Only gripes were that the walls are quite thin so if your neighbours were noisy, it could be a pain. Also 5pm check in and 10am check out which is unusual.

The location is excellent for the train station, Torremuelle (and still quiet because electric trains) and is in a very pleasant area of private houses. The one supermarket was not overly expensive and is open 7 days a week (all the others in Benalmadena were closed on Sundays out of season). The one bar, Le Chique Bar looks a bit naff outside but had a very nice interior and atmosphere (though not Spanish) and is worth a visit. If you want restaurants to eat in, you will have a hike (unless more open up in Summer) or will have to use the train. We did a lot of walking from the hotel - along the coast into Benalmadena (about 1 hour), to Fuengirola (about 1 hour) and to Benalmadena Pueblo. This last place was the best - taking in a castle and the Stupa. The pretty village itself also has a great Spanish bar with a range of delicious tapas. Directions: head out of the hotel and follow the road over the railway line. Take the first left and then keep going up hill until eventually you come to a sort of T junction. Head left for the Castle - a real gem. Then turn left out of the castle and right up a steep road and then you should come to the Stupa (closed Mondays). The village is then up a little hill and to the right. Would definitely stay in this location again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ilovetravel1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is our first visit to Vista del Rey, We followed its reviews and decided to give it a go! The hotel is small (about 62 rooms), so it is not over populated. the room was very large and the furniture was good. beds comfortable, sofa suitable, nice TV but not many chanels for to watch as there were very few in English. nice bathroom but bath has no hand rails, so not easy to get out of. Kitchen had all we needed and was compact. the only problem re kichen was the cooker hood...nice hood but too low, I am 5ft 7inch tall and the sharp corners of the hood were level wth my eyes, a nasty accident was waiting to happen.
The staff are really nice, friendly people and will help in any way they can.
We did not try the food, so I am unable to comment on the restaurant.
We took train from airport, and the station is just a hick up away from the hotel, which was excellent.
There was a large supermarket just down the hill (a very steep hill) and a really nice little English bar, called La Chique. It was busy each day and prices were good! only problem was that was it!!!! the hotel is set in an urbanisation and surrounded by private villas.
The train takes you to Arroyo de Meil, Torremolinos, Fuengirola, Malaga etc where there is pleanty of bars, restaurants, beaches etc. the fact that we had to pay a minimum of 1euro 70cents for each journey, became expensive over the week.
Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank margiem985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

stayed here from 3rd to 10th January 2013. Chose this hotel based on the reviews listed and found it to be nothing like was stated. Hotel restaurant, closed till end of March. Local restaurants recomended in reviews closed until March. Apart from the Supermarket and the bar next to it, it was all closed. Every day we had to take the train to either Benalmadena or Fuengirola just to eat. Train fare is now 1.70c each way per person so two of us spent over £80 in train fares in 7 days. The hotel is poor, 3 star never, more like one. Rooms were dirty, bed linnen had holes in them and was changed once in the week. The once white towels were now grey and stained. What maid service we did have was so bad they didnt even brush the floor. As for the kitchenette it is small and very poorly equipped. We were in room 208 (middle floor of 3) and as the walls and floors are so thin I had to go down to reception at 2am on one occaision to complain about noise from adjoining rooms tv and at 3am on another, Will we go back NO. Have been to this area many times and never had a hotel like this. We will be back, but not here.

Room Tip: corner rooms are the only room worth having ie 101 201 301 and same on opposite side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobWirralEngland_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

just back from spending christmas and new year at this hotel.
the hotel has a warm and modern feel about it when you enter. the staff are all fantastic, friendly and polite.
It is only three levels high and it does have two lifts.
All rooms are sea facing, we were on the top floor room 321 on the end, it was great we had two balconies, the bigger one had table and chairs and got the sun all day.
the rooms were clean, bright and spacious. the kitchen area was nice and well equipt with hob, micro oven, toaster, coffee perculator and kettle .(Ask for instructions on how to work cooker , its easy once they show you)
The beds were comfy and sheets and towels changed regularly.
Right boutside in the car park is Torremuel train station, trains are every 20min , allways on time , very spacious and clean. one side goes to fuengarola the other side to Malaga.
the supermarket is down the hill a bit but if you turnleft when you come out mai door go to end of building and turn left again , follow the road round the bend you will find a flight of stairs on the left hand side, they are steep but much easier and quicker than the hill. when you get to the bottom of stairs cross the road and go right. the shop is roun the bend and has a bar in it.
the shop has a lot of english products, some cheaper than big super markets. further round the road is a small bar with wood burning stove, or you can walk right down to allmost the bottom and turn left .you will find a lovely tapas bar food is fantastic and its a right sun trap.
For 7euro take a taxi up the hill to the old village (Pueblo) it is beautifull the whole village is painted white, it has lots of bars and restaurants all lovely all differant . the golf society formaly momoses is up to the left, it has live music on .Thurday and Saturday a great local band playing kinda blue grass and on Friday a female doing some mo town, both are great. the foods good too . Barry and Dianne are great fun.
The town has shops and a bank alo further along the road on the other side of the town you will find the Budist temple it is awsome def a must visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the one on the end are prob the best we had 321 it was def the best in the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jayjay305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Positives: hotel is opposite a train station, staff friendly and helpful, a range of cooking utensils, cooker, microwave & fridge in the kitchen, room had TV, heater, AC, the beach was 5 minute walk, small supermarkets nearby.
Negatives: Hotel is in a small town called tourmuelle and not in Benalmadena. There are no halal food shops in tourmuelle, if you require halal food then it is best to stay in Benalmadena itself or in Malaga. There is no money exchange in tourmuelle.
Overall, if you want a quiet, relaxing atmosphere, away from the busyness of city life, then Vista De Rey is the place to be.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank star241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Travelled with my partner and our 5 year old daughter. We knew from a previous holiday in Benalmadena that the fact that the hotel was next to the train was going to be a massive bonus, and we weren't wrong. Arrived fairly late in the evening so we went down to Bar Chique (2 minutes walk away) for a few bottles of Mahou and then returned to the hotel, where the bar/reception staff very kindly ordered us a Pizza. Bar prices were very reasonable on local beer and wine too!

We found that some of the other guests weren't too impressed with the breakfast, which consisted of sliced bread, bread rolls, ham, cooked meats, cheese, cereals, coffee and juice. If i'm being honest, it wasn't spectacular, the bread was a little tough some days and the cheese was like nothing I've ever tasted in my life, but, it was sufficient, and by the end our stay I was starting to look forward to my toast and jam in the mornings.

Room was clean, maid changed our sheets/towels at least every other day. Only bad thing about the hotel itself was the fact that the walls are so thin, you can hear everything your neighbours do!

There are a couple of small restaurants just down the hill. A small Spanish Tapas bar (amazing Chorizo) and a more formal restaurant, where I had the best steak I've ever eaten in my life!! Again both very reasonably priced!

We enjoyed taking the train most days, exploring each of the little towns along the Costa, only 3.30 for all 3 of us. I would highly recommend Los Boliches. We also walked along the coast on at least one leg of the journey each day to either Benalmadena, Torremolinos or the other way to Fuengirola, there is ample opportunity to stop for a drink or snack along the way.

On the way to Benalmadena there are a few small-ish beaches, completely empty! Great for my daughter and her Dad to build their massive fortress/sand castles, and no lucky-lucky men!

Overall, a great base for exploring!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mummystabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.8 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#35 of 45 in Benalmadena
183 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel San Fermin
Hotel San Fermin
#26 of 45 in Benalmadena
827 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
2.6 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,856 reviews
2.1 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista de Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista de Rey

Property: Vista de Rey
Address: Calle Guadalmedina s/n | Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista de Rey 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vista de Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Rey Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing