We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great service”
Review of Hotel Piccada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Piccada
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Palau
Reviewed September 22, 2010

booked last minute, great price, large room, free standard breakfast included. Parking included. Front desk provided great information on nearby beaches and ferry trips. Beds were comfortable, there was a small refrig in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivesinN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 262 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2009

As with every hotel we stayed at in Sardinia the staff were brilliant and very helpful. The room itself was huge with very large windows and a view overlooking the port, Maddelena island etc. Good aircon, tho 2 very small beds insead of a double tho at least they were pushed together. Decor very dated, all the wood was painted bright green. It would have been quite modern looking had it been black or brown. TV had loads of channels. Our room was on the top floor (cant remember the number but its the one directly underneath the "Piccardo" neon sign) and so we had the great view. Lower down rooms would just have the view of the building infront, so try and get a top floor room!
Breakfast was brilliant, loads of choice, croissants, choc au pains etc, cereal, cake, fruit etc etc. We had to leave early to get the flight back and the staff said to tell the night porter and he'd get breakfast out earlier for us!
Recommend getting the ferry over to the isle of Maddelena. Costs about 10e return but you make that back as the beer (Ishnusa) is the same price as on the mainland but it seems to come in 660ml bottles instead of 330ml! Great for a night out, can even take the car over on the ferry but not sure of price.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smurfmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Not very impressive from the street,but we were pleasently surprised Very friendly ,helpful and informative staff, spacious bedroom, good price, good breakfast, excellent location. Dont miss the trattoria two/three streets below the hotel for some of the best meals and value we had in two weeks in Sardinia. J&D, Ireland

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deirdre t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Piccada for 1 night at the end of April 2009. The hotel was easy to find when we drove into Palau.

The hotel doesn't look much when you drive up. But after check in, we were told to follow the owner's husband in his car and he took us to our room, which was behind the front of the hotel.

We parked right outside (good job really, as it was pouring rain). The room was bigger than i thought we would have. We had a big double bed, 2 bedside cabinets, a sofa at the end of the bed and plenty of space for the table and 2 chairs, wardrobe (with coat hangers), television and a cabinet unit. We had a terrace area with again a table and chairs - and had the weather been better, we probably would of made use of it.

The bathroom had toilet, bidet, sink and small shower unit. But it suited our needs. The hairdryer is quite basic and not a lot of heat is generated, so I'd recommend you use your own at this hotel.

The reception area has internet access. I think we paid 3Euros for 30minutes??

Breakfast was ok - juice, bread, pastries, etc, but it wasn't great.

We arrived at Hotel Piccada on a wet Sunday afternoon. No restaurants/shops were open and didn't exactly look like a bustling metropolis!!

But given that we only paid 75Euros for 1 night B&B, the hotel was fine - clean, comfy and a large room without feeling cramped.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

Location was excellent, a short walk from the port, bus station and ferrys.

Signora Eligia Cudoni and her husband, Paolo were very nice to us, making sure all our needs were met. On a rainy morning Paolo took us on a little tour of the area until the rain stopped. When we couldn't arrange a tour of the Coast of Smeralda, Eligia arranged for Mauizio, the young man behind the desk to take us on a private tour. He was very passionate and knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast was certainly adequate and the rooms clean. I would recommend Hotel Piccada as a very good place to stay in Palau, Sardegna

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PaolaUnitedStates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

We arrived in Palau last week and was provided a list of 8 hotels, 6 of which were 3 star by the local tourist board. We decided to call them all and to find the best deal, the first three did not answer (it was 8 pm at night and there receptions were closed) so when the Picadda did we took the room. Turned out to be the best located of all the three star hotels in the small town - only one block from the main part of town. The others were all 2 or 3 blocks out. The hotel was also at least 20 Euro cheaper than the others in the town for an equivalent double room.

We had been travelling around Sardinia by car and of all the places we stayed this was the best. The staff were really friendly, speaking very good english and from what I could tell German and French as well. The breakfast was also the best we had in Italy - with not only the standard pastries, and excellent coffee, but cheese & cold meats, cereal, fruit and yoghurt - a rare find in 3 star hotels in Italy.

They have wireless internet access and the staff were very helpful with local activities and information. We were able to park our car outside the hotel and the room had a mini-bar fridge, a good shower/bathroom.

The only downside was the double bed. It had a ridge in the middle that made sleeping a bit tricky. The choice of pillows and extra blankets (that had been lacking in the other hotels we stayed in) made up for this and as long as you didn't want to roll over to the other side of the bed, it was quiet comfortable.

All in all, a good hotel and I will definitely go back there when we return.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hdhrcjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

I stayed 2 nights in the Hotel Piccada at the beginning of August 2008. The hotel is fine for a 3 star hotel but I found it very expensive at £110 a night, which I would have expected a 4 star hotel for.
I would stay here again if I could get a much reduced rate, approx. £60 per night.

Room:
Decent size, very clean. We did not have a room with a balcony, but did have a sea view and since we did not spend much time in the room it was fine. Small TV with only Italian channels. Small fridge. No alarm clock. No safe, but you can request an individual safety deposit box which they keep behind reception to which you hold the key.

Bathroom:
Reasonable size with bidet. Clean. Very small shower but worked well with constant hot water.

Location:
About 3-5 min walk to harbour, down the hill. 7-10 min walk to where the coach drops you from Olbia Airport. If you have lots of bags this hill is quite steep but manageable.
5 min walk to main restaurants just off the harbour and 7-9 min walk to main street with shops.
So very well located and gives an excellent view from higher rooms of the harbour.

Additional:
It is a family run place with what I would call average service. They did not seem to go out of your way to help but reception is manned 24hours.
We asked for one additional towl one day and were told point blank all guests get 2 towels a day and that is the limit.
Breakfast is again of 3 star standard and completely self-service. Only continental so no hot items.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MaKSiNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palau
Hotel Palau
#2 of 17 in Palau
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Vecchia Fonte Hotel
1.8 mi away
Residence Hotel Porto Mannu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Roccia
Hotel La Roccia
#6 of 17 in Palau
158 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
#6 of 17 in La Maddalena
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Esse Posada Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piccada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccada

Address: Via Degli Asfodeli 6, 07020, Palau, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Palau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palau
Price Range: $66 - $1,133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piccada 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Piccada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccada Hotel Palau
Hotel Piccada Palau, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing