We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and Palau is a great base for exploring the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Vecchia Fonte Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Vecchia Fonte Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Palau
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel and Palau is a great base for exploring the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week in early October when the weather was perfect and Sardinia less crowded. The hotel is lovely - go for a "classic plus" room with a balcony so that you can watch the harbour comings and goings while enjoying a sundowner! Our room was spotless and comfortable with a reasonaby sized bathroom. Breakfast is very good - lots of choice and the room is wlecoming and sunny each morning. The hotel staff were all really helpful and keen to help us get the best from our holiday.

Palau is a great base for exploring the Maddalena islands and getting about generally. We did not hire a car but public transport was fine, even in low season, and so we got out and about easily with a bit of planning. We also took the little, quaint "Green Train" inland which was a memorable journey. And we did a day trip to Corsica, via the ferry which leaves from Santa Teresa (about 45 mins by bus). Boats, trains and buses are all in the same place at the ferry terminal which is just 2 minutes walk away from the hotel but tucked around a corner.

Palau itself is small but friendly and there are loads of good restaurants to choose from. Our favourite one was adjacent to the ferry port and called C'era una Volta (fabulous sea food) but we also liked one called La Taverna. The ones in the main square where the hotel is located are mostly fine - but try the backstreets too. There are plenty of walks along the coast and a small beach just five minutes away. But as others have said Palau is not really a place for just sunning yourself - go to resort hotels down the coast if that is what you prefer.

Others have also commented on the odd separation of the hotel from the harbour by a car park. This is true but it did not diminish our very enjoyable and relaxing stay in Palau - and in low season there is none of the noise and bustle that others have described. I had toyed with staying in the main town on the Maddelena Islands but am glad I stuck with Palau as we would have been more isolated there.

Room Tip: Choose a class ic plus room with a verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Basilcat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    61
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
31
129
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stopped for three nights as a taste of Sardinia after touring Corsica. Wanted a base for La Maddalena islands and Palau is just that. Hotel is just a few yards from the car ferry for La Maddalena town and for the small tour boats that go round the islands. Ditto bus stop.

Hotel is good value (in October !) for a four star hotel. All staff very helpful and spoke good English. Room spacious and well appointed, bed very comfortable. Breakfast was very good and included in price (unlike Corsica hotels !) and held in a separate pleasant sunny room.

Unusually for a such a hotel they don't do full meals although they have a coffee bar. Plenty of choice of restaurants nearby though. Layout of Palau is rather strange in that the main restaurant & bar strip is separated from the harbour by a large car park - ambience suffers somewhat !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mothmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice hotel, good helpful staff and good location. We arrived here after an early fight. It was a good place to book up a boat trip to the islands. There is a little beach nearby. The restaurant recomendation from the hotel was excellent.
I wasnt expecting much from Palau but it had a good friendly atmosphere. Lots of little shops to stock up on fresh food for a journey, and bars to watch the boats coming in and out of harbour

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RT410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked a B&B for a week in Alghero but definitely wanted also to spend a day at the Smeralda coast to do a boat trip. So we booked this hotel and I have to say it was quite good. The staff was really helpful, the location was perfect (only 1 minute from the harbor), the room was big (we booked Economy), clean and fresh and breakfast was also good. In the evening we walked the 'harbor boulevard' to choose a boat for our excursion the next day. We were really lucky to have chosen "Palau Excursions" a really nice sailing boat (capacity max 12, but we were only 6). No strict route to follow so it was up to us if we wanted to stay somewhere longer or go somewhere else. Nice captain (and also good cook). After the trip we collected our luggage at the hotel and had the possibility to change in a (small) office with bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel was stylish but informal. Great location. No hotel parking was available but we found free car parks about 10/15 minutes walk away. Staff all spoke English and were friendly. Breakfast was good and the 2 ladies did really well ensuring everyone was looked after even when it was very busy. Cafe was good too. Room was clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel itself meets all expectations and provided a very pleasant and relaxing experience for us - spacious and clean rooms, friendly and professional service, nice breakfast. We had the royal suite, which has a sitting room and a roof terrace with a jacuzzi, and there was a plate of strawberries waiting for us in the room as a welcome - nice touch. At low-season, and not yet too hot summer weather, the treat was well worth the higher price. Also because the suite has sound-proof windows.
Which brings me to the most unfortunate points about La Vecchia Fonte - its location and its noisy neighbours. Between the hotel and the nice marina, you have an ugly parking lot (which however hosts a market, nice for sampling local produce). A real let-down are the bars on the square, not even nice tavernas or winebars, just soulless junk, which turn up the noise to ridiculous volumes - it ruins the atmosphere of the town, and it certainly ruins your sleep if you're in a front room without soundproof windows. So make sure you get a room out on the back, or take the suite, pack earplugs, and don't travel in high season.
As much as I enjoyed staying in the hotel, this aspect would make me hesitate to go back in high season; tourism has evolved from cheap drinks and loud music! I seriously wonder how even the locals accept this situation. I would like to know whether there are any efforts made to address this point - would be shame for a nice hotel to be let down by its neighbourhood like that.
So overall three points - I would like to give the hotel 5, but zero for the location and noise. Please do something about it!

Room Tip: Room to the back, or the royal suite. Otherwise, Earplugs strongly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoxBxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is very lovely. The rooms are a nice size (for Europe). The bathrooms are also very nice, with shampoos, conditioners, lotions, soaps, blow dryer etc. The people at the concierge desk are also very nice and helpful. There is a huge street vendor showcase that sets up every night in front of the hotel, with nearly every souvenir item you could think of. Some mornings there was a farmers market/clothes market setup in front of the hotel. We were a little worried at first about the giant play ground and small carnival that seem to be permanent fixtures on the port, but it was never loud in our room. (FYI: Italy is full of screaming, unhappy children that don't go to sleep until the wee hours of the morning.) So if you book here, I'd suggest asking for a room in the back of the hotel, just in case. Beds are hard, like most of Italy. Oh, and bring extra money for parking. Overall, very nice and I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a room in the back of the hotel for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palau
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palau
Hotel Palau
#3 of 16 in Palau
4.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Hotel Cala di Lepre & Spa
1.9 mi away
Residence Hotel Porto Mannu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
135.6 mi away
Hotel La Villa del Re
Hotel La Villa del Re
#1 of 8 in Castiadas
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
6.0 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
153.8 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 15 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vecchia Fonte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vecchia Fonte Hotel

Property: La Vecchia Fonte Hotel
Address: Via Fonte Vecchia 48 | direzione Porto Turistico, 07020 Palau, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Palau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palau
#4 Family Hotel in Palau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Vecchia Fonte Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star hotel overlooking the harbour is a 5-minute walk from the main beaches. Parking is free from late September until April.The rooms are decorated with traditional Sardinian-style furniture and light colours. Some rooms offer views of the harbour, which links to La Maddalena Archipelago. Wi-Fi is free throughout.The café and breakfast bar is situated on the ground floor next to the hall. Coffee, aperitifs, and cocktails are served in a refined atmosphere inspired by the seafaring world.La Vecchia Fonte's courteous staff can assist you throughout your stay in Palau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Vecchia Fonte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vecchia Fonte Palau
La Vecchia Fonte Hotel Palau, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing