We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (739)
Filter reviews
739 results
Traveler rating
556
118
36
18
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
556
118
36
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orso half board our honeymoon sea view the hotel manager a la carte beautiful location sea water hotel grounds well run hotel fabulous hotel costa smeralda four courses sun loungers peace and quiet relaxing week lovely beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 739 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2008

To celebrate my wife's birthday and our wedding anniversary we booked the hotel from a holiday brochure. Having just returned here are our comments. Warm welcome on arrival from staff. Excellent room overlooking bay. Well worth the extra money. The food in the Pagura restaurant is excellent. Be warned! Try not to eat lunchtime so as to enjoy the 4 courses. Being a five star hotel the drinks price reflected this. The cheapest wine started at 20euros, with beer at 5 to 8 euros a glass. In all descriptions of the hotel in brochures the Thallaso pool is shown but be warned it costs 30 euros per person for either morning or afternoon session although this includes a turkish bath but as our visit was at the end of the season with variable weather it wasn't worth it. I would advise having a car to visit the surrounding area such as the archapelago of Madellana on the reasonably priced ferries. A good beach area with free beds and towels. All in all a lovely hotel in a very good setting.

Date of stay: September 2008
1  Thank hindse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

I found this hotel almost by chance. It is located at the tip of Capo d'Orso, in a lovely setting right on the sea. Away from all the fuss from the typical 5* hotels in Porto Cervo. The surrounding area is amazing, with a private beach and a couple of pools. Handy is also the small port where you can rent small boats for the day. The manager, as the rest of the staff, was extremely helpfull. Maybe some bits here and there can look tired, but for sure I will go back!

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

This was our first hotel on the island and, unfortunetly, because of the delayed Meridiana flight (overnight stop in a terrible Rome hotel) we spent in Capo d'Orso only 3 out of 4 booked nights.

Location and territory:
The hotel has a very nice location on picturesque green hills covered by pine-trees, and is easily accessible by car.
There is a sandy beach (good for children - convenient entrance to the sea) and several wooden solariums. Sun beds are conveniently and privately placed among trees, hidden in the bushes and only rarely you can see your neighbours and passing-byers.
We traveled in the begining of July and sea water was rather cold and even very cold sometimes. Actually, our general observation after our almost round island trip (North-West areas were not covered) is that Sardinia is affected by heavy winds, so as a consequence the sea can be really rough and not pleasant for swimming. Not mentioning that wind itself can be quite disturbing.
While you are on the north-east coast, it may be worth visiting San Teodoro marina park with it's beaches - some of them are nice (still, not to be compared with Villasimius or Chia beaches on the South).

Room:
We had a junior suite with a comprehensive sea view, which has recently undergone a reconstruction, with a big balcony accomodating 2 wooden sun beds, a table and 2 chairs. We found our room very spacious and well equipped. A nice feature of the room was that the toilet was separated from the bathroom - both places were big and convenient. If you are interested in nice seaviews, do request upper floors, since on the lower levels luxuriant vegetation prevents from enjoying the views of the sea and mountains.

Staff:
The staff of Capo d'Orso is friendly and eager to help, though English language abilities are not perfect.

Restaurant:
Breakfast was our real disappointment. The selection of fruits, cereals, dry fruits and some other items is very limited and does not correspond to a 5-star level. We were even compelled to buy musli in the nearby store to fully enjoy our breakfast. We nevertheless ordered fresh orange juice and several times we had a suspition that it was not actually "fresh" - it smelled and tasted as a packed juice.
Bills are not printed and are filled out by hand which was very unusual for us, since sometimes we thought that the prices for this or that ordered item were taken out of the head. However, later when we moved to other Sardinia hotels and visited different restaurants, we noticed that it was a common problem for this part of the world.

For those interested, there is no free internet access point in the hotel. You have to pay for the traffic and the hotel can provide you with a laptop.

In general, our stay there was very relaxing and quiet, we had a great room, great views and long walks to lonely beaches in the surrounding area (take a path to Cala Selvaggio and continue the same path along the coast).

Date of stay: July 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NadiaJuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

We have just returned from a week at Capo d'Orso. Arriving at 8am after a 12 hour flight delay and a sleepless night we were exhausted but the sight of the hotel was enough to make us feel better. The landscaping is beautiful with the rooms hidden among flower-filled gardens and glimpses of the sea wherever you look. For the first day we got lost several times as all of the paths curve in different directions.

The hotel is stylishly designed with lots of cream linen and rattan furniture. The spa, in particular, is absolutely beautiful with 10 treatment rooms and three thassalotherapy pools and although it does cost extra, it didn't seem overly expensive.

The food is awesome. We were on a half board deal and i've never had such good food. There are two main restaurants - one under the trees by the pool and main reception areas and the other by the sea. We ate al fresco most nights by the sea as the menu was more varied and there were a lot of mosquitos in the other gardens.

As previously mentioned, the service was excellent with the waiters and maitre d' remembering our preferences from night to night.

The only (slight) disappointment of the week was our room. The 'classic' rooms are very small albeit stylishly decorated and our sea view was mostly obscured by vegetation.That said, the room contained everything we wanted, there was adequate wardrobe space with towelling robes and slippers and the bathroom was well equipped.

One word of warning though - when booking i suggest that you request a room on the upper floor. The floors are paper thin to the extent that it sounded exactly as though someone was padding through our room in bare feet which is slightly disconcerting when you're woken in the middle of the night. The people above us came from Kazakistan and like to wander around their room and chat until 4am and weren't amenable to requests from the management to keep the noise down!

Date of stay: July 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lazzagear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We booked 11 days with our little 2 and a half year old girl. Booked a junior suite. We had a lovely time. The hotel service is excellent. They remembered things from the night before at dinner (our daughters preference for butter over olive oil etc) and would always be one step ahead.
Dinner menu was fabulous. We were on half board and thought we would be bored of the menu, but it was changed regularly and they also had a daily set menu. The fish dishes were to die for. Tiramisu and Pistachio Creme Brulee were also highlights.
Breakfast was also excellent- Look out for the omelettes made by chef in front of you, with your choice of fillings. Excellent.
The location is secluded, so ideal for a quiet time away.
Beautiful little beach with free sunbeds for guests. Pool was too cold for a swim when we were there.
If the weather is bad, (We had about 5 cloudy/rainy days during our stay in May) there is not much to do at the hotel, so a rental car is adviseable- but the island is so gorgeous that you would be mad to stay in the one place all day anyway.
Thalasso spa was in the same grounds but it is run separately and you need to pay for use of the spa pool. No kids allowed here either so its a peaceful place.
Ideal for couples or families with small kids. Older kids may get a bit bored.Cala De Lepre seemed to be better for older kids. Owned by the same group and only a couple of kms from Capo D'Orso Hotel.

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMWRIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews