We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Capo D'Orso Thalasso & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Palau
Certificate of Excellence
notts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good holiday”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Visited last year so a bit late with this review . Capo D'orso is in a beautiful setting , resort spread out amongst attractive fragrant gardens. The main pool is small , however there is a much nicer one at the spa . There are lots of sunbathing spots scattered throughout the gardens and by the sea . There are two small sandy beaches , one near the hotel entrance and one a short walk along a coastal footpath , we only went to the latter , it was beautiful but no facilities and the sea is crystal clear but very cold ! We stayed in a lovely junior suite , the room was very spacious with large bathroom , netted bed and sitting area . There was a small private garden with terrace at the front but it was a bit scruffy and in shade for most of the day due to a rather overgrown tree .

The main restaurant has panoramic sea views . Sometimes the food was great , sometimes not so good . The staff were all very friendly and helpful . Breakfast was very good although there was sometimes quite a wait for cooked eggs from the outdoor hot food kitchen.

As the hotel is quite isolated with only other holiday complexes surrounding it you really do need a car .We drove into Palau a few times for provisions , from there we caught a ferry to the Maddelena Islands - about a 50 min trip and a good trip for lunch out . Santa Teresa is also a pleasant little town and from there we caught a ferry for a day trip to Bonifacio in Corsica which is highly recommended .

Sardinia is quite expensive in general , particularly in the resort of Porto Cervo where we paid 18 pounds for 2 coffees !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodinotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    79
    28
    17
    9
See reviews for
85
277
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We returned to Hotel Capo D'Orso after visiting last year so knew what to expect. We had a relaxing week soaking up the sun and enjoying the lovely food and wine. The service in all the restaurants is very good but we ate most evenings at the restaurant overlooking the harbour as the atmosphere is nice and the staff most helpful. We wanted a pasta dish as a change on one evening and the chef would cook anything requested even if it wasnt on the menu.

The rooms are typical Sardinia style so not flashy but all are clean and comfortable. We had 2 suites as we took our older children and both suites overlooked the bay so the views were great.

We will probably return to Capo D' Orso again as it is a lovely place to relax or a good base to travel and see Sardinia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovemyflipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here from 21-28 august 2012. Temperature recorded 34c consistently. The facilities are excellent. We arrived at midnight. The receptionist led us to our junior executive suite and proceeded to park our car and bring our cases, then showed us where everything was in the suite.

The air conditioning was effective if not a bit noisy and gave us a comfortable sleep every night in the super king size bed.

The pools are salt water, the sun beds are never fought over as there are plenty to go round and scattered in secluded areas for privacy. The hotel's own beach is fantastic with pretty views, soft manicured sand. The water is stone free.

The staff are attentive at dinner. If you are on half board you can take your meal at lunch time if you wish to go out in the evening to Palau, just let them know in the morning. The food is nicely presented. If you are a foodie, you may not score it at the high end of your experience but it is still very good and the experience is fantastic. The wine will vary from 30 euro upwards but is excellent. Water is 5 euro for a litre bottle.

You will definitely benefit from hiring a car as there is much to see around within a 20 mile radius. I can highly recommend Santa teresa, Baia Sardegna and if you fly into Alghero get back to the airport with enough time to see the old town of Alghero, it is absolutely stunning.

One note of caution. As they never ask you to sign anything, it can lead to mistakes which i'm sure are honest ones. Check your final bill as we had a 94 euro charge for a lunch which we had swapped for our evening meal and as such should have been no charge. It would have been an honest clerical error but check your bill carefully.

We saw from our room (No.815) dolphins swimming early in the morning so you may be fortunate. Take binoculors it will be well worth it.

Some have commented on the cost. I would agree that you need to be in one of the better rooms to fully appreciate this stunning venue, but I would say if you need to count the cost it would probably be best not to come here as it may frighten those with a fixed budget.

We would definitely come back as it has been the first holiday where I can give absolutely no negative scores and it was a total chillax from start to finish.

Room Tip: the rooms odd numbered from 801 upwards have a stunning sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and I spent five days at the Hotel Capo D'Orso for our honeymoon at the end of May 2012.
Good comments first:
The place is incredibly nice, Sardegna is definitely one of the best parts of Italy and we strongly recommend it!
The restaurant was the absolute best for us in terms of quality and service. Angelo and Claudio went out of their way to give us the most wonderful dining experience ever and we can say the restaurant and the food were definitely 5 stars. We strongly recommend the half board: affordable and worth it. Besides, the hotel is a bit far from any town and the last thing you want is to have to drive to get food.
The hotel is immersed in a park where you can walk, relax, and enjoy silence and your own privacy. We enjoyed the day spent on the Pulcinella, definitely recommended: a full day on a sail boat with a wonderful lunch. The boat takes you to the islands in the North-East corner of Sardegna, the water is crystal clear. Later in the summer it may be a little too populated by motor boats (they were already quite annoying in May...can't imagine in July), but the visit is worth the cost (and not too expensive).

Not so good comments:
The room management was somewhat not really up to the level the hotel should have had. We stayed in the suite 802, one of the Cardinal rooms. The view is great, the room is spacious and pretty. What was wrong? We had a key problem that took over a day to be resolved and we had to let them know that the shower head was inoperable, which they should have checked before our arrival. The bedding and the bed were a little bit on the tired side. Again, we are camping people when we like, but in this case we were expecting (and paying) for a 5 star room.

Still, we would like to come back. The location and the restaurant are worth the visit!

Make sure to check that all the restaurants are open in off-peak season. We had only one open, although that did not compromise our dining experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItalianInAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Located in a private bay and set on a hillside amongst lush gardens, centenary olive and pine trees, Capo d'Orso offers a real taste of Dolce Vita. It is particularly suited for couples looking for relaxation and intimacy - the hotel has been designed to offer privacy, and the spacious grounds offer many secluded areas and hideaways.

The rooms are all decorated in traditional Sardinian style and nestled amongst perfectly groomed terraced gardens full of fragrant Mediterranean flowers. They are fairly small but extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean, all with air conditioning.

A small seawater pool offers shaded areas and superb sea views towards the Archipelago of La Maddalena, but the real attraction is the easy access to the turquoise blue sea, with a choice of five wooden sun decks set in rocky coves, directly on the sea, and two secluded sandy beaches.

Attention to detail is noticeable and the service is first class throughout the hotel; the staff will go out of their way to make your stay memorable. They can arrange visits to local areas, boat hire or daily boat excursions to the neighbouring islands or to beaches and towns along the Costa Smeralda, as well as fishing trips and horse riding.

The hotel also has a pitch and putt golf course with 9 holes and practice area, as well as its own tennis court, and lessons can be arranged. There is also a Spa and Thalasso centre set in lush gardens with 3 different open air spa pools and relaxation and sunbathing areas with sun loungers.

Breakfast can be served in the room or on the shady terrace overlooking the sea, with a talented harpist playing relaxing melodies. Very chilling. The food in the two restaurants is absolutely superb, strongly influenced by local produce, fish specialities and regional Italian cuisine.
The bar staff is attentive and live music in the evening will entice you to discover the local beers and wines in the outdoor lounge bar, where different musicians are invited to perform each night.
Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife and I went to the Capo D'Orso for our Honeymoon back in 2009 (May/June). We were expecting a lot because it was our Honeymoon, and expensive and it over-delivered across the board!!!

Anyone who rates this under a very good doesn't deserve to to spend their time here! It isn't an opulent Dubai palace or an Indian Ocean all inclusive resort, it's genuine tranquillity on one of the most beautiful islands in the World. If you want your hotel dripping in gold or a servant go elsewhere, it's obvious before you book that it isn't going to be like this. If you're looking for a hotel that understands real quality (service, food, alcohol etc...) in a magical location than this is for you.

I'll leave you with this information in the low season 90% of the staff work in top London and New York restaurants and hotels (Claridge's, The Ivy, Restaurant Daniel etc...). Professionals, not servants!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrtohughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband treated me to a visit to Capo D'Orso and our visit went beyond our expectations. We drove from Olbia Airport and all the way to the hotel and the journey was very easy.

Upon arrival we were refreshed with complimentary drinks and then showed to our lavish room. The moment we stepped into our room we felt at home, cosy and warm. The room was fresh and spotless. Ample care had gone to ensure our satisfaction.

We enjoyed the food, the beach and spending good times, quietly enjoying the surroundings and exploring the grounds. The staff were extremely warm and friendly. They genuinely wanted us to be happy and satisfied with our visit so they spend all the time needed to explain all that we needed to know. We were advised on the best restaurants and areas to visit and without fault, every suggestion was appreciated.

The food in the hotel restaurants is fantastic and especially dinner at the 'a la carte'

The room was attended to and cleaned discreetly and the service was of the best quality.

This is a hotel that we will visit often and not only because of its surrounding beauty, delicious food, cosy clean rooms but also because the staff and including senior staff made us feel appreciated and special. It was hard to leave...

Room Tip: Definitely go for the Junior Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claudine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palau
30.0 mi away
Hotel Marinedda Thalasso & SPA
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel Cala di Lepre & Spa
5.7 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#2 of 21 in Porto Cervo
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
#2 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
252 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Palau
Hotel Palau
#2 of 17 in Palau
468 reviews
134.7 mi away
La Villa del Re - Adults Only Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capo D'Orso Thalasso & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capo D'Orso Thalasso & Spa

Property: Hotel Capo D'Orso Thalasso & Spa
Address: Loc Cala Capra, 07020, Palau, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Palau
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palau
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palau
#1 Spa Hotel in Palau
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Capo D'Orso Thalasso & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Capo D'Orso Thalasso & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capo d`Orso Thalasso Palau
Hotel Capo d`Orso Thalasso And Spa
Capo d Orso Hotel
Hotel Capo D'Orso Thalasso & Spa Palau, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing