We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular views under the "bear rock"”
Review of Capo d'Orso

Capo d'Orso
Ranked #3 of 41 things to do in Palau
Attraction details
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“spectacular views under the "bear rock"”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

the capo d´orso was an absolute hotspot on our tour along the snobby costa esmeralda. an easy walkable path brought us up to this spectacular rock formation, which has the look like a bear. because we went there in low season only a few tourists were around and it was possilble to enjoy the breathtaking views over the beautiful area alone. if the weather is clear the archipelago della maddalena is easily visible and the view reaches up to st. teresa de gallura. all the small beaches and bays are visible and the special atmosphere near the baer rock made our stay to an unforgetable highlight of these holidays. we can recomment capo d´orso very much, because this place gave us an overview about the whole costa esmeralda from st. teresa de gallura till olbia. also the view to the beautiful backland is possible and presents the north of sardinia in a breathtaking way. because the viewpoint is not secure it is better to wear good shoes. capo d´orso is not suitable for families with children, because the viewpoint is not adequately secured.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chocdikrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    198
    74
    32
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Spot the bear”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The only place this rock looks like a bear from is not accessible anymore. So it's really just a funny-looking rock with some interesting erosion. Nice views from the top, though.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank clivetwooaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spectacular views and sculptural rocks”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were here at a quiet time of year. We arrived and there was an empty car park with no signage, when we parked a man appeared and said it cost 4 euros to park. I pointed out that there was no sign stating this and he said if we didn't want to pay we could park outside on the side of the road. So we did. I'm not sure what that was about, maybe it works in the summer when the road parking is full. In any case, other than that, it was 2 or 3 euros per person to go in (I forget which exactly, but worth it anyway). It's a short, pleasant hike with lovely views all the way, and of course a great view of bear rock overlooking Palau and the coast. There was no guide or guidebook as some people have mentioned in their reviews, perhaps they only do that in the summer? In any case, I didn't feel one was needed as there was good signage along the way explaining the views, and the geology and climatic erosion that has led to the amazing rock formations. They really are spectacular and worth viewing from up close as well as far away. We also visited Capo Testa which is free to visit and has many amazing sculptural rocks as well, however I would still recommend Capo D'Orso as it was very unusual and charming.

We also stopped at the cafe 'Yogi bear' just down the road and had nice coffees there (as well as using the facilities as there do not appear to be any on or near the site otherwise).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Good to see at a distance”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The view of Roccia dell'Orso is really attractive. It actually is neat to see it at a distance and not so much so close up. As we were not up to hiking on the side to get up close, we declined paying the fee and entering the actual rock location

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kdmumbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celje, Slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Big Bear or Elephant”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

A beautiful view from top of the hill, where this big granit rocks ar situated. It reminds me more on elephant than a bear (Orso) but from here you can see Palau and the coast.
It´s a short up-hill- walking and it must be very romantic in the evening (I saw floor spotlights beside the path).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MojcaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capo d'Orso also viewed

Palau, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Palau, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 
Palau, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Palau, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 

Been to Capo d'Orso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing