We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Ilmenau - a real gem”
Review of Hotel zum Lowen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel zum Lowen
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ilmenau
Reviewed December 2, 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Lindenhof in Ilmenau, in the German state of Thuringia in November 2010, I was there for two nights, and stayed in bed and breakfast accommodation. I was working in Ilmenau, and my host paid for my accommodation, so I do not know how much a room would typically cost. The hotel was regarded by the people from Ilmenau who I met as being the town’s best hotel, and I have no reason to doubt that, as it really is a lovely place.

The hotel is centrally located and it is easy to walk the whole of Ilmenau from there. A taxi from the railway station to the hotel costs 4.50 Euros. Make sure that you stay on the train until it comes to the end of its journey, as there is another Ilmenau station.

The hotel décor is traditional, yet stylish and elegant. It is very cosy. The reception is large and bright, the lady on reception was incredibly helpful and made me feel very welcome, she also spoke excellent English. There is also a lift to all floors, and wi-fi is available, but you need to buy vouchers (5 Euros for 3 hours connection time I believe).

My bedroom (206) was FABULOUS, it had a mini-bar, king sized bed, two chairs, a desk, huge mirror, and flat screen TV on the wall. The bathroom, was HUGE, it needs to be seen to be believed! It had a toilet, shower, sink etc and was very modern. The entire room was just luxurious and I really felt that I was staying somewhere special.

Breakfast was very good, with continental as well as bacon, scrambled eggs and sausages all on a buffet. The quality of the food is excellent, and the waitresses were lovely.

There is a beautifully decorated bar / bistro with a lovely airy conservatory, and the food there is SUPERB. Try some of the Thuringian dishes, there are menus available in English.

Overall on the strength of my experience of staying at the Hotel Lindenhof, I would DEFINITELY recommend it, it really is a great little hotel.

I have made a video review of the hotel, it is available here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JusLmWSGbgg

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stumoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 38 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank DerWeitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank blondewervelwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 211 KZ direkt am Fahrstuhl ( ist aber leise) mit schönem zwar geteiltem Balkon , Rückseite des Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank blondewervelwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Es scheinen alle Zimmer super. Aber Zimmer 101 kann ich persönlich empfehlen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Thank markoramius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilmenau hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Gabelbach
Hotel Gabelbach
#2 of 3 in Ilmenau
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tanne
Hotel Tanne
#1 of 3 in Ilmenau
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mara Hotel
Mara Hotel
#1 of 6 in Ilmenau
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilmenauer Hof
Hotel Ilmenauer Hof
#2 of 6 in Ilmenau
27 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pension Am Waldesrand
Pension Am Waldesrand
#4 of 6 in Ilmenau
5 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Pension Melanie
Hotel-Pension Melanie
#6 of 6 in Ilmenau
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel zum Lowen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zum Lowen

Address: Lindenstrasse 5, 98693 Ilmenau, Thuringia, Germany (Formerly Lindenhof)
Location: Germany > Thuringia > Ilmenau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ilmenau
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel zum Lowen 3*
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing